We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely surprised - SERIOUSLY CONSIDER”
Review of ZUCCA Restaurant

ZUCCA Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 311 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Our restaurant serves dishes of Hue , Vietnam , and italian cuisine
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely surprised - SERIOUSLY CONSIDER”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If your craving a little taste of home after eating nothing but Vietnamese food for however long you've been in country, make sure you go to Zucca which is right next to the Gerbera hotel.

We arrived late in Hue by bus from Hoi An and having eaten nothing but Vietnamese food for 2 weeks we decided to have a little Western food and didn't want to venture too far from the hotel.

The restaurant was empty and I must admit our expectations weren't very high but we thought we'd give it a go. We were seated immediately and the staff were not pushy at all, they took our order;

Seafood Pasta in a Tomato based sauce
Pizza with Olives, Capsicum, Mozz, Salami
2 x Lemon drinks

They brought out a FREE (yes you read that right) appetiser of Brushcetta for us while they prepared our mains... Without exaggerating, this was by far one of the best Bruschetta's either of us had eaten before which is quite a statement considering we always order this when we're out back home.

The mains came out very fast and were absolutely delicious... Like seriously good. It astounded and saddened us that this place was empty.

At the end of the meal we were both very full and the bill was less than 300k Dong (about $13).

We will be going back tomorrow to try some things off the extensive Vietnamese menu.

We rate this 5 stars for the meals for 2 under $15

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lidonnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    260
    66
    28
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WendyAustralia”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

English spoken. Friendly helpful staff there to be of service. The Manager even stopped by to chat making us feel very welcome. So enjoyed our delicious meal. Very reasonable prices. Great atmosphere by the river. Busy area outside or you can take a table several steps up and view the passing crowds. Definitely a restaurant to visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good Italian in Hue”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I searched out this place as a result of the reviews here. Overall, I wasn't disappointed. Service was friendly ( and I felt genuinely so, which is not always the case in Vietnam) , and the food was good. I've had worse spaghetti carbonaras in London or Sydney. If I had one complaint it would be that - for Vietnam - dinner was slightly on the pricey side for Vietnam, but I chose a wine that wasn't the cheapest, and I would happily have paid the AU$ for this dinner in Sydney and considered it a bargain. Worth seeking out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very delicious dishes. Great taste. Kindly staff, very good english and large meals. more than only 5 stars. Greetings from Germany

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bastel0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food in Vietnam IS Possible”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My beau and I just ate dinner at Zucca last night and it was a wonderful experience. Our server was friendly and attentive but did not hover at our table waiting on our order as I have noticed is common in Vietnam. We were served a complimentary apertif of bruschetta that was delicious - fresh bread, firm tomatoes, and fresh garlic. The two of us shared an order of garlic bread, a green salad, and the pesto pasta. All was delicious. Everything was fresh and the flavors were great. We did order one item that never did arrive - the only negative to this overall experience - but we never said anything as the meal we had was plenty to fill the both of us. It's not often you can 'share' in Vietnam and feel satisfied at the end of the meal! The manager stopped at our table to chat. He was very kind and welcoming, too. Zucca will definitely meet your needs if you crave a break from Vietnamese cuisine. I would say this place is great for small parties but large groups may pose a challenge as the dining area is not very large.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StaceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZUCCA Restaurant also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to ZUCCA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing