We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel for Hue stop over ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Google Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Google Hostel
Ranked #11 of 119 Hue B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel for Hue stop over ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We checked room before accepting as read some negatives about the hotel.

Clean twin with good shower for 20$ for one night. Free wifi and beer which seems to keep place quite busy.

Food is not that exciting and bit tired looking ( they also own restaurant /travel agency as you turn right out of hotel and cross road).

Main hotel manager speaks good english whilst others enthusiastically shout hello at you but not much else.

They suddenly speak no English at all when you ask for a receipt. We booked a bus ticket on to hoi an with them which worked out fine just was a bit wierd.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pangchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    143
    48
    41
    43
See reviews for
18
151
130
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Arrived late in the evening, staff were straight out to help us take off our backpacks and even took them upstairs. Free fresh beer every evening from 5. Rooms were spacious and clean. We were trying to sell motorbikes at the time and the friendly staff offered to put up a sign.

Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast needs a bit of work - food wasn't great, but for the price you're paying it's still great value.

Also knows as the Google Hotel in Lonely Planet. Stroll from here to the many restaurants & bars!

Irish+Kiwi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizz173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were really friendly and they serve FREE beers downstairs in the evening. You are able to book all transport directly from the reception desk. We booked a driver for a full day to drive us to our next destination, he was lovely and very insightful. Took us to places that were recommended by other travellers as a posed to his "friends" places that you find across most of Asia. The only downfall to this place is the stairs which can be hard to master with very heavy bags.

Highly recommend!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Was recommended here by a friend and we were not disappointed. Check in was very smooth and we received a free pick up from the train station which was great. All staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Also received two free fruit shakes upon arrival.

Between 5-12pm they serve FREE beer! There is no catch and once you have finished your glass the staff promptly refill it if you want them to.

The room is spacious, comfortable and clean with a very nice hot shower. Oh and breakfast was really nice and you can choose what you would like from a rather extensive menu.

We would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller passing through Hué. A big thank you to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Room was good for what you pay. About 5mins walk from the strip of tourist bars / restaurants. Amusing seeing how hesitant people can be when offered free beer.

Only negatives would be the pretty poor hot water system in the showers, and it can be a but loud at times... but you get what you pay for right.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel/hostel is in a great location, very reasonably priced and has the added attraction of free (yes completely FREE!) beer from 5pm-12!! The rooms were spacious and clean, and were tidied every day by the cleaners. Our experience was really made by the friendly staff; from the moment we arrived they were all very friendly, always asking how we were and filling up our beer glass! Xuân was especially helpful and informative in booking our trips around the city and to the DMZ, and Dung was always happy and helpful and really gave the bar a buzz on an evening with his enthusiasm!! If you are looking for a good sociable, budget option in Hue then go for Thanh Xuan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Free beer and complimentary use of a pool table were great. Staff were so helpful helping us to fix motorbikes at local prices and very friendly. Room was really good and clean. Service was impeccable and it was easy to communicate with staff. Phong was one of the staff members who was looking out for us. Overall the value for money was great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDave81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#19 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Google Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hostel

Property: Google Hostel
Address: 26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Google Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Google Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing