We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Google Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Google Hostel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hue B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were really friendly and they serve FREE beers downstairs in the evening. You are able to book all transport directly from the reception desk. We booked a driver for a full day to drive us to our next destination, he was lovely and very insightful. Took us to places that were recommended by other travellers as a posed to his "friends" places that you find across most of Asia. The only downfall to this place is the stairs which can be hard to master with very heavy bags.

Highly recommend!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    141
    48
    40
    40
See reviews for
18
147
126
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Was recommended here by a friend and we were not disappointed. Check in was very smooth and we received a free pick up from the train station which was great. All staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Also received two free fruit shakes upon arrival.

Between 5-12pm they serve FREE beer! There is no catch and once you have finished your glass the staff promptly refill it if you want them to.

The room is spacious, comfortable and clean with a very nice hot shower. Oh and breakfast was really nice and you can choose what you would like from a rather extensive menu.

We would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller passing through Hué. A big thank you to all staff who made our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Room was good for what you pay. About 5mins walk from the strip of tourist bars / restaurants. Amusing seeing how hesitant people can be when offered free beer.

Only negatives would be the pretty poor hot water system in the showers, and it can be a but loud at times... but you get what you pay for right.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel/hostel is in a great location, very reasonably priced and has the added attraction of free (yes completely FREE!) beer from 5pm-12!! The rooms were spacious and clean, and were tidied every day by the cleaners. Our experience was really made by the friendly staff; from the moment we arrived they were all very friendly, always asking how we were and filling up our beer glass! Xuân was especially helpful and informative in booking our trips around the city and to the DMZ, and Dung was always happy and helpful and really gave the bar a buzz on an evening with his enthusiasm!! If you are looking for a good sociable, budget option in Hue then go for Thanh Xuan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Free beer and complimentary use of a pool table were great. Staff were so helpful helping us to fix motorbikes at local prices and very friendly. Room was really good and clean. Service was impeccable and it was easy to communicate with staff. Phong was one of the staff members who was looking out for us. Overall the value for money was great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDave81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my brother and they gave us a good price because we were there in the morning. Our motorbikes weren't quite right so the staff, especially phong Helped us fix the bikes. Then we had no security problems. We came back in the afternoon to free beer hoi (bia hoi) from 5pm to midnight. And we got 3 pizzas for the price of two.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miksub5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Free Beer, Pool Table, cheap Bike hire, excellent Wifi, big free Breakfast and the manager,Phong, is a great young lad whos always up for a laugh and a chat! If you find yourself in Hue, this is the place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#6 of 123 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#16 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Google Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hostel

Property: Google Hostel
Address: 26-28 Tran Cao Van Street, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Google Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Google Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing