We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Vietnam”
Review of Google Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Google Hostel
Ranked #14 of 129 Hue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Vietnam”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We rocked up here via mini-bus and the staff rushed out smiling and friendly to grab our bags and welcome us into the hotel. Someone was saying "Welcome to the Google Hotel, Free Beer!" Um what? Free beer? Yes. Free beer, every day, 5pm - midnight, no catch. We for sure took advantage of that and you would think with free drinks it would be hard to get a second, third, fourth...nope! As soon as your beer is nearly empty someone is there to smile and offer you another. Amazing service. Sometimes the staff will even join in the party, dance, chat, good times had by all.
When we got up into our room (which was spacious and clean with a nice bathroom, flat screen TV, mini fridge) they told us not to hesitate to ask for anything, free wifi, laundry and bike rentals available, free breakfast til 11, room service if you please. My boyfriend hopped in the shower and I was hanging in the room, the door bell rang, complimentry fruit tray and ice tea. Awesome. Staff was very helpful when we emerged downstairs for dinner, handed us a map and pointed out the market and a few places we could walk to close by.
Stayed 3 nights, loved it, my ONLY qualm is that I wouldn't book anything through them (tours, bus, train). They aren't pushy sales people so you don't have to worry about them forcing any tours on you, however, we asked to book a bus to Dong Hoi through them and one of the staff over charged us by 40d each and also lied to us. It was a train, not a bus, which he didn't tell us til the last minute. He had told us the bus would pick us up at the hotel but then told us we needed a taxi to the train a half hour before our scheduled time to leave. He gave us the tickets right before we left so we wouldnt have time to discover the price (which had been taped over and then cardbord stapeled over that to conceal it). We argued about having to pay for a taxi so they ended up giving us a free motor bike ride there... but it was just a disappointing end to be ripped off after an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    144
    49
    41
    56
See reviews for
20
154
133
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the best quality of this hotel is the price apart from the free beer between 5 pm and 10 pm and the fact that the buses stop near it. This is very nice after 12 hours from Hoi An. Nice and calm hotel, good location, near all the restaurants and other hotels, we could walk until the Imperial City (40 minutes), until the Central Market (30 minutes) and Night Market (another 30 minutes). They provide free wi-fi in the room but facebook does not work. Spacious bedroom with dry bathroom and hot water 24 hours, mini bar, TV with English channels, AC, good lighting, nice window. It was clean for the Asian standards. They gave us tea and fruits when we arrived. Breakfast was included and it was really nice: we could choose from a list one beverage and one solid thing (bread with butter, corn flakes, etc). It was served in their restaurant that also serves meals at a reasonable price. They also have free laundry but we did not use it. The staff is helpful and really nice and polite and did not try selling us things. As always in Vietnam we did not leave our passaports with the reception and payed cash. No problems.We recommend.We payed US$ 14 for a double room with bathroom as described above.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a good option for backpackers with all services you need (laundry, wifi, bike rental, restaurant).
Room was ok, not the cleaniest but acceptable. Tap was leaking but shower warm.
Staff is very nice. A definite plus is the free beer all night long and good breakfast included.
You cannot ask for much more for 17usd/room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel and excellent value for the price.
We were recommended by the staff in our previous hotel (Hoa Binh in Hoi An). We arrived very tired after the 12 hour bus journey from Hoi An, and the staff here were wonderfully welcoming (Don't bother about passports and checking in! Just go and take a shower and have a rest! You can do the formalities later!). They also served a welcome free drink and snack on arrival.
Our room was spacious, comfortable, and equipped with a balcony and a view of the street.
Breakfast is included in the price and is served in the downstairs 'Crazy Buffalo' restaurant - which also serves an excellent free (Yes, free!!!) local beer from 5.00 to 10.00 pm.
What was really exceptional was the friendliness of the staff, who seemed genuinely happy to sit around and chat with us. They gave us all sorts of useful tips for seeing the town, and were not at all pushy in trying to sell 'extras' such as trips.
Laundry was also free...Wi-Fi was free...coffee and tea were free....
Tip: Try the amazing 5-course 'set menu' in the 'Crazy Buffalo' - delicious Vietnamese food, and a huge meal for 120,000 dong!
We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiggerInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good location to visit Hue and its historic sites. Although the beds aren´t very comfortable (hard mattress), we enjoyed our stay there. Special thanks to Jim Bin, who speaks perfectly English and explains us a lot about the real Vietnamese live. Another advantage: free beer in the evening ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muriel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great hotel in Hue, recommended to us by other travellers who'd stayed here before. First off - the nicest staff!! Mr Dung (in English 'Yo') kept us laughing even through the worst of hangovers! Nothing is too much bother! Stayed here for 6 nights although we only intended to stay for 3! Free beer for as long as you can drink it - bar closes at midnight but they just let you stay & drink after they've gone to bed. Free pool table & always full of other backpackers. Free breakfast is pretty good too - not bad for £9 a room! Rooms are clean & comfortable. Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, Daegu, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Google Hotel for three nights in the beginning of April, 2013. The staff is so helpful, they go beyond the call of duty to help you make your stay pleasant and comfortable. One member of staff, Tri, spoke excellent English and helped us with everything we needed. On our arrival we got complimentary fruit salad and lemon juice, because I think they could see how frazzled we were from the 12-hour bus ride!
The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the beer is free and the people are awesome! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay backpacker's style with a touch of class.
The hotel is located near the beautiful night market, and has motorbikes and bicycles for rent. It has everything you need, from free breakfast to hot showers, to laundry service and massage services. We didn't want to leave on the last day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annetjievw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 121 in Hue
1,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
2,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#22 of 121 in Hue
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thai Binh Hotel 2
Thai Binh Hotel 2
#37 of 121 in Hue
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 121 in Hue
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Google Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hostel

Property: Google Hostel
Address: 26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Google Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Google Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing