We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Google Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Google Hostel
Ranked #17 of 137 Hue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Staff were attentive and friendly, especially the two smiley girls running the cafe. The cafe attached was good value and cheery, loved the free beer to get the evening started and used the free pool table allot. The location was perfect and though central not loud, plenty of restaurant choices near by. We booked a tour and had our laundry done through the hotel and both were reasonably priced and easily done. We really enjoyed our stay and for the reasonable price we had a good level of servers and a (all to rare)window!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyriderku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 618 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for 1 night after seeing it in the lonely planet but then was unsure after reading te reviews. But we thought we would look anyway. The receptionist was v nice & we negotiated a good price. On first impression it looked good and the shower was good. But the fridge did not work, no safe & no lift! but the guys took up our luggage. We got breakfast included whih was basic but ok.

At night we saw 1 cockroach, we gave it a good hit thought it was dead but it was wasn't:(

The location was good!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

When we arrived everything looked good! The staff was not so Nice Though. There were many cockroaches in the room. The WORST: They added a fake Bill of hundreds of $ on my crédit card. I called Many Times and They never called back. There are so Many similar stories on this hotel!! WORST we had in Vietnam! Dont ever go There and if you do, pay cash!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charlibrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We Strayed here for two days, (24.-26th may 2012) they Name the Hotel also Google Hotel. Excellent for staying here, cant complain for anything, Good Selektion of breakfast also awaylable. The bed may be a bis 'Hard' but the doctors may say that this is more healthy that to sleep To soft..... :-). The best in the Hotel is the staff, really taking care of us, say hello specially to 'Gun' Serving in the Morning the breakfast..... :-). One Last Thing..... If you want to Pay by Credit Card they State that its possible without playing Commission, you may insist a Little on it..

Cheers from Fabiola & Stefan

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came to this hotel to meet my family after my brothers wedding in Ho Chi Minh City. We supposedly got a good rate at $20/night with free breakfast only to discover the "free" breakfast was not included so they said they would only charge us $1/ person for it. We agreed but were repeatedly disappointed by the breakfast, bad service, so so food. The day of our departure buses showed up with tourists and the staff quickly offered rooms at $6/night per person. When asked the manager said they were different rooms with shared showers which I later discovered was not true. Now several days later I have discovered a $200 charge on my credit card, on top of the $70 dollars for our room. I am trying to rectify this but as of yet to no avail. Shady place, just wondering if the extra charge is for the extra guest my wife discovered on our room, a cockroach. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilbrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I arrived by bus from Hanoi, tired hungry and needed a shower.
This place was great.
Aircon room clean, good bed cleand hotel with very friendly helpful staff
free beer at night, Room included breakfast, laundry service available, free internet.free pool table good music good menue
In short very happy with everything including price dor room available
I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletcher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

After a well written Lonely Planet review and of course, popular name, we decided to have our driver take us to Google Hotel. Owner was accommodating at first, being pleasant in letting us see two different rooms with different price points. However, the staff became quite strange after we settled in, they didn't really answer any of our questions with confidence and seemed quite turned off we didn't eat their free breakfast. It was not too pleasant of a free breakfast. Otherwise, the room was workable. Nice airy space, with lots of natural light, updated bathroom, and a balcony to check out the weather for the day. The beds were a tad hard, but we were used to it by then. Downstairs, you get free Wi-Fi or computer usage and the restaurant/bar next door has friendly staff with a pool table to use. Overall, I'd return, just cause of the price, location and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you see "ALL" the rooms they have to offer before deciding (price point, ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#30 of 125 in Hue
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny A Hotel
Sunny A Hotel
#6 of 137 in Hue
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hue Family Boutique Homestay
2.9 mi away
Pilgrimage Village
Pilgrimage Village
#13 of 125 in Hue
2,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 125 in Hue
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Google Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hostel

Address: 26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Google Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Google Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing