We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in hue”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
“Great Hotel in hue”
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed in a deluxe river view room. There are marble floors in the hall and bath, the rest is hardwood and it is creaky...no sneaking quietly to the bath at night. The room was bright, the lighting good with one window wall with a view of the Perfume River. The plumbing is very modern and cool. The king size bed is comfortable and elegant looking when you arrive. The pillows to sleep on were huge and gave neck pain the next day, so I ended up sleeping on a smaller decorator pillow
The staff are very helpful and kind. The included buffet breakfast has a good selection and lunch is good at $9. U.S. for pizza/soup or sandwich.
The fitness area really needs a better lay out! Right now the bathrooms are in the restaurant, the equipment in an open area and a shower outside with a curtain. You would have to dry off and dress in the shower. Other than that, it is a wonderful five star hotel and we certainly would use it again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    549
    148
    34
    7
See reviews for
240
789
68
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

The room we had here was huge, so we liked that part of our stay. It looked out on the street and had a small balcony. I spent some time there marveling at the chaotic melange of motor scooters, cars, bikes, and pedestrians making their way through the busy intersection below, somehow managing to get where they were going without hitting one another. You have to see it to believe it.
There is a good dinner buffet for only $15 US in the romantic garden restaurant. It includes a musical performance, and though the Vietnamese style music may not all be to a Westerner"s liking, the musicians played a variety of songs and were very accomplished. The other restaurant, inside near the lobby, was uneven. I did not care for my lunch there, although my husband thought his was OK. My pan fried fish dinner was quite good though, and for 5.50 USD it was a steal. The dining room was almost empty, however.
Now for the negatives. The room had a strong smell of mildew, my clothes became damp from hanging in the closet, and for such a large room, there was no shelf or drawer space, so unpacking was frustrating. They need to put in a small chest of drawers. There is certainly plenty of wall space! Also, you are blocking your own light when applying makeup at the sink, and if there is any Kleenex, I couldn't find it.
I didn't go in the pool. It was rather crowded in the late afternoon, so hardly worth the hassle for only an hour. It isn't very large, but considering that the hotel is old and right in a busy neighborhood, one can't be picky about that. The garden area next to the pool is a great addition to the hotel's beauty. I would give it a 4 if it weren't for the smelly mildew and dampness we encountered in our room.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Brilliant staff, closer to 5 star than 4, everything had a touch of class and elegance. Beautful location on the river overlooking the bridge with only a short work to the markets and Citidel. And the rooms are huge!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Located right by the Truong Tien Bridge its is convenient for everything from the local restaurants to the post office and the old citadel is a short walk across the bridge itself. Our room was a corner suite, rooms 107/207/307 all overlook the junction of the bridge which is entertaining. The rooms were clean, large and well equipped. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The pool is an adequate size and great for an end of day refreshing dip. Breakfast was excellent, and the courtyard area very pleasant. Other than breakfast we did not eat in the hotel. If I return to Hue I would not go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iRELAND
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and we thought the hotel was gorgeous - old style french - only gripe with this is that this was also reflected in the menu in the hotel where there were only european options so aside from breakfast we ate out everyday. The outdoor restaurant and bar is in a lovely setting - very tranquil and the pool looked lovely although we didnt try it. Only gripes we had was that we got clothes laundered which didnt come back all that clean and one of the hubbys t-shirts was ruined - logo was melted, which we didnt notice til after we had left. I tried the spa for manicure - was fine but not at established spa standards- still it was a hotel with alot of character and made a nice change from the standard formulaic type holiday hotel you can often find yourselves at

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NabaRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
208 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

A genuine 4-5 star hotel. We found the food and liquor to be expensive by Vietnamese standards and compared to places outside the hotel. Nice pool, not big but comfortable size., water was a bit warm but it was a very hot day when we were there (think 40celcius and very high humidity). Very good breakfast. Room was clean and had excellent air con . Staff helpful and friendly. King size bed was very comfortable and not hard. Situated in a good location and only 10 minutes comfortable walk to Dong Ba markets.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This hotel is in a landmark building in a good location just opposite a bridge over the river. Yet the exterior promise is not kept once you enter the premises - yes, all is kind of old and historic, but not preserved with any taste or attention to detail. The rooms are huge, but lack charm and the real history feeling. The photos in the hall cannot make up for true dedication to maintain a landmark building. As to the restaurants, they were empty and we choose to go out for dinner.Breakfast wasn't great either, but also not bad, just ok. The staff confirms this impression, neither bad not outstandingly good. I guess that the hotel management has settled for a certain group of tourists (big tour groups which are easy to impress) and the value for what they are looking for is probably good. But if you compare this place to the Sofitel in Hanoi, which is also a hotel in a landmark building there are worlds between the two - of course, also worlds in terms of room rates!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing