We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely change”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #23 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
248 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A lovely change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our tour group has been staying in modern hotels, and this beautiful historic hotel was a lovely change. The wood floor and paneling are beautiful. The rooms are large and well furnished. Unfortunately with an older place there are some discomforts. The movable shower head was very difficult to use left in its holder, though maybe it's just us Americans who want it attached to the wall. The small hard pillow made it difficult for me to sleep. But I loved the atmosphere of the garden restaurant, and the service was good, though not with the smiles I am used to in Vietnam. The staff in the reception area and the other restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear M. Betty W,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see that your stay with our historical hotel was “a lovely change”. Hotel’s colonial style and history are our typical features so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service, facility and focus on staff training as well to bring the Vietnamese hospitality and professional service to our value guests in the next time.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    544
    146
    34
    7
See reviews for
239
783
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Fabulous hotel in Hue and great location opposite river and easy walk to local restaurants and bars etc. upgraded to a fabulous suite. Enormous comfortable room with all amenities. We were touring Vietnam from North to south on a bespoke tour. One of the most relaxing hotels we stayed in. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. Gail G,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy and prideful to see your notes that our hotel is one of the most relaxing hotels you have stayed in. This is a very special gifts for us because guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work. I will share your compliments to my staff to keep them motivated.

Especially, I do appreciate your recommendation. Your positive comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favourite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

WE stayed two nights in early March as part of a bespoke tour of Vietnam. The service was excellent throughout, and we had a large, very comfortable and well-equipped room overlooking the street heading for the Citadel. It was quiet, as requested. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. The only disappointment was the Panorama bar where the misted windows rather belied the name and the choice of drinks could have been better. The pool looks great but is rather small and scarcely seemed worth trying. Hue though was one of the highlights of our trip and this hotel is an ideal base for seeing it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpt333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear M. cpt333,

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to know that your 2 night stay with us was enjoyable with excellent service, large & well-equipped room, good breakfast with plenty of choice.

Many thanks for your suggestion about our Panorama, we are thinking seriously to try to make it more interesting.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were upgraded to the most amazing, enormous suite! Fabulous accommodation with the best bed in Vietnam!
Amazing breakfasts. LOvely atmosphere and staff. Walked everywhere from here, tho' we did have a pedalo around the walls of Imperial City - well worth it as we were taken to places we would not have seen.
Spa treatment was good but slightly spoilt by the manager's spitting!!

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ms. Diana M,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Wow, I am so excited to see your notes that our hotel is a “fabulous accommodation with the best bed in Vietnam” in “the most amazing, enormous suite”.
That’s sound great to know that your stay with us and your trip in Hue city were enjoyable with "amazing breakfast, Lovely atmosphere and staff, good location". I will share all of your compliments to my team to keep them motivated. And your positive comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favourite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights ned of February. Hotel is in a very impressive location, on a corner overlooking the river and very close to local shops, bars and restaurants.
The old "colonial" style is lovely, staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast, set in the beautiful garden, was buffet style with plenty of choice of hot and cold food, fruit etc.
The room, overlooking the road, had a small balcony and was very large. We had 1 queen size and 1 double size bed and still had lots of room.
Would certainly recommend this hotel when staying in Hue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear M. Denchris2,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that your 2 night stay was enjoyable and comfortable with lovely old colonial style, impressive location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful garden, good breakfast. And I do appreciate your recommendation. They are valued gifts for us because guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work.
I will share your compliments to all hotel management and staff and I ensure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favourite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This beautiful colonial-style property is located directly across from the river and is within walking distance to many sights and restaurants. Our room was incredibly expansive, gorgeous, and had a small balcony overlooking the river. Despite the dismal weather, it was enjoyable to stand on the balcony and watch the city's residents in action, especially at night. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Tip: Be sure to take a cyclo ride around the city, and ask to visit the non-touristy areas. Not only is it fun, but it's the only way to experience the real flavor of the city!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Mrs. SoCalGalSanDiego,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

That’s sound great to know that you enjoyed your trip in Hue city and your stay with us. I will share your compliments to my staff to keep them motivated. Your positive comments also help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We do hope that Hotel Saigon Morin is always on your favourite hotel list and look forward to welcoming you back Hue city and our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our very large room was well furnished and close to the Hue sights. We loved that they maintained the historic features throughout. The bathroom was also nice, with excellent toiletries, but the lighting was terrible. I am not sure what to do about that, short of wearing a miner's lamp. That seemed to be a constant problem at all hotels, and I guess if you look at the huge bundles of wires hanging from posts and balconies throughout Vietnam, you might understand that they have electricity problems. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choices. We were able to walk to a nearby restaurant that our guide recommended, but beware of uneven rather dangerous sidewalks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Mrs. Mxalpert,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to post your kind and valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you loved that we maintained the historic features throughout and enjoyed your stay at our large room with well-furnishment, excellent bathroom, near by Hue sights and good breakfast with plenty of choices . It is also glad to know that our friendly and helpful staff made your stay comfortable. I will share your compliments to my staff to keep them motivated.

Hotel’s colonial style and it’s history are typical characters so we will try our best to keep them and improve hotel service and facilities to be better in the next time as well.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing