We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Built in 1901 & retains its character but has kept up with modern times. Great location, fabulous rooms & wonderful staff (especially Dinh). Would highly recommend this place to stay in Hue - close to the Citadel area which is a very interesting to explore!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear M. Kirstymc9,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I do particular appreciate your positive comments regarding great location, fabulous rooms and wonderful staff. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I will share your reviews to all of hotel management and staff to keep them motivated and also send your compliments to Mr. Dinh to encourage in his job.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a twin room. Huge room overlooking the Perfume River and the bridge. The aircon worked perfectly, the bathrooms were clean and everything worked perfectly, the beds were comfortable. Lunch and breakfast in the courtyard were both excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, although several of them seemed to be taking on more than one task - I guess because it was the low season they had reduced staff numbers a bit. My manicurist on day one was my poolside barman on day two, which caused my hubby and I a bit of a laugh, but he was very good at both jobs, and so sweet and polite, that we didn't mind. Having arrived from the 5 star Intercontinental in Saigon, we did notice a difference, however unlike some of the other reviews we have read for this time of year, we were perfectly happy with the grand old lady of Hue, and would thoroughly recommend it as a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in 110, next to the suite Charlie Chaplin stayed in. Everthing worked and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mrs. Belinda M,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service again and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am really happy to know that your stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable. I will share your compliments to all of hotel management and staff to keep them motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. Enjoyed the garden breakfast and location. But had concerns over missing items that was not addressed by the staff.honestly. Then discovered we had left battery charger and leads in our room later. After emailing hotel requesting at our cost whether leads could be posted on, no reply. Very very disappointing. . .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ms. Heather F,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast at the courtyard and hotel location.

Kindly be informed that we taken immediately to ask Lost and Found department to find your lost items (battery charger) in your room after we received your feedback email and already replied you to inform the result. However, I am sorry that our email did not reach you well.

I have requested related department to double check your case and resend email to you right now. Please let us know if it reaches you well.

Again, please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused to you because of email problem.

Should you have any inquiry or need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@morinhotel.com.vn

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travelling with Indochina Odyssey Tours, we were put up at the Saigon Morin in Hue. What a lovely colonial style hotel right on the banks of the Perfume river. The hotel is decorated with pictures of colonial scenes and is reminiscent of more leisurely times.

We have a huge room with a double and single bed. The room has a luxurious feel and there were nice touches like the fresh flower petal motif on the beds and face towels. House keeping also handed us a bed time story to help us sleep! Breakfast was very good with the buffet in the garden near the fountain. It had a very relaxing feel and we were well fortified for a morning of sight seeing. There was a display in the lobby of beautiful embroidery by an artist who also demonstrates her work. The embroidery is exquisite and includes some examples of double sided embroidery.

Staff service was very friendly without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear M. Ljtyson,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service again and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

Word can not express my overjoyed and prideful because of your high appreciative about our hotel standard. I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in large family room. In fact so big, there was acres of 'wasted' space and second double bed was prob a large single! Lovely ediface and position on river but with faded colonial charm and desperately trying (and unfortunately failing) to be a good 4-star hotel. Bathroom fixtures and fittings worn, often broken. Corridor carpets smacked of old regime and hotel was staffed by 'older' staff trying to make the best of things. Place is unique in its history and just needs a sympathetic restoration and some money spent (by a high-quality hotel chain?) to really bring it back to life. Courtyard breakfast was a shaded, leafy retreat away from the beeping scooters. Pool is smaller than the pictures would suggest but adequate for a dip. So desperately wanted to be more complimentary about this unique place.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Royal-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Royal-K,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that you enjoyed our colonial style, history, location and breakfast in the courtyard.

We recognized that hotel’s colonial style and history are typical characters; therefore, we will try our best keep the style and improve our service and facility to be better in the next time as your suggestion.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Firstly the great thing about this hotel is when you arrive - "Are we really staying here - Wow!". It is super impressive building for a small town in the middle of Vietnam. I liked the very (very) large rooms with wooden flooring, the courtyard swimming pool and breakfast area.
However, it is beginning look a bit worn - which in a strange way is good and bad.

There are a lot of small things which need to be fixed (e.g. lose shower fitting, poor paint work, tiling around the pool, pool bar area, pool "changing" room, etc etc.
Service at breakfast and at the pool on the first day was very poor, but on the second day much better - so I think the manager may have been away.

All in all, I would stay here again, and I would recommend it, but only for one or two nights whilst passing through.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Mr. PaulFarnhamUK,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that you enjoyed large rooms with wooden flooring, the courtyard swimming pool and breakfast area.

However, it is deeply disappointing to hear that our hotel service could not up to the level of your expectation.

I am committed to you, our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. We had action plan to double check and upgrade hotel facility. I also asked related departments such as House Keeping, Maintenance to pay more attention to small details and requested the F&B Manager and Chef to focus on food quality and staff training to make a homogeneous standard.

Again, please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to having an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Classic Colonial Hotel is well appointed on the Banks of the Perfume river and the views from the front rooms of the hotel are stunning.
The rooms are huge with impressive wood flooring, wonderful balconies and excellent bathrooms complete with large walk in shower and separate bath. Great air conditioning and modern facilities tied in very well to insure we had a wonderful stay.

The main foyer and public areas are classically elegant and beautiful, it's like looking back 100 years.

The history of the hotel is well documented on the walls of the corridors. I spent hours walking around as if it was a museum, plenty of photos and documents on the wall giving you a glimpse into Hue's history.

The garden restaurant is a highlight, enjoying the breakfast buffet sitting in a courtyard beneath a 100 year old almond tree was delightfully tranquil. At night the entertainment was provided by musicians and dancers to make the atmosphere even more special, the food and service is first class.

The friendly staff are well trained and seem to effortlessly provide anything we needed.

The pool area is well maintained and the pool is always a welcome refreshment after a day of sight seeing.

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at while in Vietnam. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for river front, away from the intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear M. Rob N,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so prideful and happy to see your note that our hotel is the best hotel you have stayed in Vietnam and you had a wonderful stay with us.
All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.
I will share your compliments to all of hotel management and staff to keep them motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 122 in Hue
1,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 122 in Hue
1,160 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 122 in Hue
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $86 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing