We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy classic!”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #22 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

There was always something going on for guests at the hotel! Live Vietnamese music accompanied dinner in the outdoor garden restaurant on the two nights we stayed, and following dinner, films were shown in the lounge. Both concerned the Vietnam war, one being Vietnamese, the other British, interestingly enough, Pre dinner, the pool was a popular spot.

We, however, would have been content enjoying our Colonial Deluxe Room on the second floor, probably the most spacious room we've ever had, almost a suite. Beautifully furnished, in keeping with the classic feeling of the hotel, and with a view of the inner courtyard, but noisier than I expected. Staff throughout were unfailingly pleasant.

Breakfast and dinner were served in the garden, featuring a barbeque in the evening. We had pizza on the second night, and considered the candlelight meals to be excellent value. The buffet breakfasts had unending choice, with a strong Vietnamese influence. Both Pho Bo and Bun Bo could be made to order. A great idea, and I tried both!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Mr. Billitchyfeet,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

Word can not express my overjoyed and prideful because of your high appreciative about our hotel standard. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our favourite hotel in Vietnam – and we wished that we could have stayed longer to enjoy both the hotel and the city of Hue.

As soon as we pulled up we saw that we had come somewhere special. The hotel is situated along side the Perfume River opposite the Citadel and old city.

We were blown away by the high standard of the accommodation. Our premium city deluxe room was just that – and huge! We had a balcony with a river view. We loved the nightly ‘turn down’ service, when the curtains were closed, bed sheets pulled back and a story tied up with a red thread left on the pillow.

Breakfast was fine, taken in a very pleasant court yard, and the pool was fantastic. We could not wait to jump in after a days sightseeing. The spa also offered an excellent massage.

Our leaving was reluctant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Mr. lindale,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am so delighted to see your note that our hotel was your favourite hotel in Vietnam and would stay longer with us. Your enjoyable is a very special gift for us because guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work. I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to keep them motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon to show you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality and Hue beauty.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after travelling from Hanoi by train and arrived early (08-30) expecting to have to wait around for hours to check in, but to our surprise we were offered breakfast and checked in about 30 minutes later. Staff were very professional and we were soon in our room which was very large with both a double and king sized beds. The room was very clean and the air con was set to a very acceptable level with no need for adjustment.The hotel is situated centrally and close to all the sights and restaurants.The hotel is from an era when the French ruled the country and has been restored to a very high quality. We would stay here again if we travelled to Vietnam again

Room Tip: rooms at front quieter as functions held to rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear M. kcon52,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would stay again. We will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs.

All of your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Do look forward to welcoming you back to Vietnam as well as Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue city soon.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The Morin is a great place to stay. It is central to everything, great small restaurants, bars and the markets. The boat shed to take a ride down the perfume river is near by. The staff are really friendly and eager to please. Didn't eat there as the restaurants nearby were great and the most we spent was $20 Australian.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beso65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear M. Beso65,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so prideful to see your note that “the Morin is a great place to stay”, especially friendly and helpful staff. I will share your compliments to all of our staff and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Saigon Morin is simply put, one of the best hotels I've stayed in, anywhere in the world. From the outside when we pulled up we were surprised by the granduer of the facade, but this was surpassed when we entered the hotel to find its lavish and elegant interior. It really has the wow factor ! The hotel dates from 1901 and has some Art deco style running through it's decoration. Large expanses of marble, dark woods, sweeping staircases and crystal chandaliers make you feel like a lord; and the staff only compliment the surroundings, being immaculately uniformed and trained. The hotel has a spa, billiard room, bars and much more I'm sure, which we simply didn't have time to find. Our room was vast and had everything you could hope for. Upon checking in we found a table set at our window for both of us to have tea and some fruit whilst overlooking the park opposite and the Perfume River which is only 70 yards away. Our room also gave us an excellent view of Hue's Trang Tien bridge which is illuminated at night. Breakfast is a buffet style affair, served in the courtyard of the hotel. You could eat as much as you liked and there was plenty to cater for every traveller's wishes. Two little things stood out for me that showed the attention to detail of the hotel. Firstly, the rugs in the lifts are changed to say 'Good Morning,' 'Good Afternoon' or 'Good evening' depending on the time of day. Secondly, it was forecast to rain on our second night in Hue and in the wardrobe we found 2 stout umbrellas which kept us dry in the dowpour which followed. When we unpacked I don't remember seeing them, and it wouldn't surprise me if the hotel put them in when the rain was forecast. The only downside for me was the bar on the third floor called The Panorama. It should be great, having the perfect position for overlooking the river and bridge from the large windows and it's decor is very Art deco. The cocktails were good and the staff fantastic. However, it does not have air con and I found it a little uncomfortable. Had the bar had air con, I would have probably stayed longer. It also had a lack of atmosphere, with only 4 of it's tables having guests at them. I would have liked some music, but instead the Hotel showed a silent movie at the end of the room, which no one was watching. I am rally nit picking in making these comments, because I would not hesitate in going back to The Saigon Morin and recommend it to others very highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 333 and with 3 being a lucky number to the Vietnamese, our room did not disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Major_Jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Major_Jb,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind and positive comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so prideful to see your note that “The Hotel Saigon Morin is one of the best hotels you have stayed in the world” and happy because of your high appreciative about our hotel standard.

According to your valuable comments about our Le Panorama Bar, we will pay more attention to improve and refresh this service to be better in the future.

Hotel Saigon Morin is on the way to upgrade service and facility and we really hope to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of hotel hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Please choose this wonderful hotel for a great experience to see Vietnam. From room to staff and food 5* plus in my opinion. It is very much like 'Raffles' but without the Western Greed about it. Choice of food was amazing and I would go back just for breakfast alone. The situation could not be better as right on the river. Had a pedicure, which was amazing' for just over £4!!! so I gave the little Vietnamese girl a fiver tip!!!. I cannot wait to visit again. Amazing. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river, having said that I think most of them do. And if possible book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janemmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mrs. Janemmb,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

Word can not express my overjoyed and prideful because of your high appreciative about our hotel standard. I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Charming, stylish and interesting hotel, welcoming staff, great location on the banks of the Perfume River. Large, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, well furnished and decorated. Good pool, very good restaurant plus entertainment (local Vietnamese music and dance). A short walk to the town's main attractions, and easy access to the river for boat trips. Our stay benefited from coinciding with an arts and crafts festival held on the bank of the river, which added to the magic of our time in Hue. One of the best hotels on our trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mr. DavidSB,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see you noted that our hotel is one of the best hotels on your trip to Vietnam and it is so great to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back to the Hue city and Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 124 in Hue
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 124 in Hue
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.3 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 124 in Hue
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#9 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing