We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded to a suite next to Charlie Chaplin Suite.”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #24 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Upgraded to a suite next to Charlie Chaplin Suite.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

What a fabulous and charming hotel, in an amazing location at the Perfume River and night markets. The breakfast buffet was nice as was the pool. Service was wonderful and the rooms large and spacious. Great experience and we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Charlie Chaplin honeymooned here at this hotel. I guess it makes it that much more charming. This th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheppner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mrs. Rheppner,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am prideful to hear that you appreciated our hotel beauty and service. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue. I will share your compliments to all of our staff to keep them motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    557
    150
    35
    7
See reviews for
246
795
69
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Without a doubt the best Hotel on our trip. Build in 1901, the rooms are huge, and so comfortable you do not want to leave them. The breakfast in the garden is the highlight of your stay. The Hotel was the centre of the "Ted offensive" during the American war, when it functioned as the University of Hue. It got restored to its former glory in around 1998.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main road but with the double glassing this is not a a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Jaapv2,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

It is so overjoyed and prideful to see your note that our hotel is the best hotel on your trip. We really want to bring the best services to our value guests as the guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work.

I will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs and I make sure that they are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back to the Hue city and Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I only stayed at the property for one night due to a shorter stay in Hue. The hotel has a great location in Hue and is easy to walk to to restaurants near by. The hotel is a historic site and has a great mix of new and old.
It's a good spot to stay in town for a quick roll through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ms. kandirae03,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad to see your note that "the hotel has a great location in Hue". We wish you can stay longer with us.

Moreover, hotel’s history is a typical character. We will try our best keep the colonial style and improve our service and facility to be better in the next time.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at The Saigon Morin for one night
en route to Hoi An and it definitely was an unexpected
surprise ! I had researched the hotel on TA and went in
for it based on the reviews and I must say I was not
disappointed at all.
We arrived in Hue on the overnight Livitrans from Hanoi
and arrived at the hotel around 8.30 am . Mr Phu at the
front desk assured us an early check in and suggested
breakfast in the courtyard . We were surprised by the
lavish spread !
We had booked a triple room and had a lovely high ceiling
with wooden floors. The room was a blend of the period
style and modern amenities. The hotel also overlooked
the Perfume river and most attractions and the market
in town were close by.
My son and I used the pool that evening and we were
looking to dine in the courtyard , but could not as the place
was booked for a wedding reception.
We dined in the restaurant off the lobby , and though the
ambience was not all that great, the food was really good!
Overall , a great , value for money hotel, with quite a bit of
history behind it. The period architectural details ( a lot of
it reproduced , I ' m sure ) the rich use of wood, and of course,
reproductions of old photographs and pictorial trivia made for
a very nice experience .

Thanks to all at Saigon Morin !, Rosy for all the help during
booking and Phu for all the help regarding the points of
interest around Hue !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goparoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Goparoamer,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your positive comments on TripAdvisor regarding your experience during your stay with us.

It is so prideful to see your note that “the jewel in Hue”. Yes, Hotel Saigon Morin has the best location in Hue city, overlooking to Perfume river and close to the city centre and many sightseeing spots. I also happy to hear that you enjoyed our history, room and buffet breakfast. I wish you could stay longer with us. I will share your compliments to all of our staff to keep them motivated.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was a perfect blend of period and modern. Great bed, wonderful view over the Perfume River and fantastic garden where a great buffet breakfast was served. In the evening the garden is illuminated and is a great place for having a drink and listening to the resident band playing Vietnamese and western music. The pool area is great - clean pool and great comfortable sun beds. The hotel staff were all really helpful. Overall, a great place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paultyrrellSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mr. PaultyrrellSaigon,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for interest in choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your note that “this has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in” and really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your compliment to all hotel staff to keep them motivated.

Moreover, all your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We look forward to having an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The rooms at this well-located hotel in Hue are large and lovely with high ceilings and dark wood floors. Streetside rooms have a balcony overlooking the river and are surprisingly quiet considering the noisy traffic. Breakfast was served in the lovely garden, but the food was very average and service was non-existent. One morning, we arrived on the later side for breakfast. There was no one to seat us and the buffet trays were empty. The pool is small but deep and a very quiet, pleasant place to relax. This could be a top-notch property with its historic elegance, but attention to detail is missing. There was a lot of random stuff sitting in exterior hallways--speakers, tables, lights. Clever rugs in the elevator were changed to say "Good Morning, Afternoon, Evening," but they were grimy. The lobby is cold and leaves a lot to be desired. Furniture looks like rejects from someone's 1950's family room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brindisiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Brindisiexpat,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service and taking time to post your positive comments on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to see that you appreciated our hotel location with great view to Huong river, large and lovely room with high ceilings and dark wood floors. However, it is deeply disappointing to hear that our hotel service and facility could not up to the level of your expectation.

I am committed to you, our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. I ask the related department to work with outside partners (music, sound, lights…) to remind them to keep clear and quiet in their working place and try our best to improve our service and facility to be better in the next time as well as keep the hotel’s history as it is a typical character.

We look forward to having an another opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality with the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were in need of some "R&R" when we arrived in Hue, and this was a true oasis!
Dining in the courtyard was blissful that evening. Our room was spacious and well appointed.
This historic hotel is rich in architectural detail, from mahogany woodwork to marble.
Walking distance to attractions, night market, the Perfume River close by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutzpoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear M. Hutzpoffer,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to see your note that “our hotel was a true oasis” and “dining in the courtyard was blissful that evening. Your room was spacious and well appointed”. I will share your compliments to all of hotel staff and I make sure that they will make them feel happy like me.

Hotel’s history is our typical character; therefore, we will try our best keep it and improve our service and facility to be better in the next time.

It is our pleasure to have an another opportunity to serve you and your family/friends again soon and provide you more of Hotel Saigon Morin hospitality.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 121 in Hue
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 121 in Hue
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 121 in Hue
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Spa Hotel in Hue
#10 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing