We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodation and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just spent three nights in a lovely large top floor room, overlooking the river and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of everything in the city centre and has a history going back to 1901. The building was virtually rebuilt and greatly enlarged a few years ago and has been done beautifully. As stated, our room and the bathroom were extremely large, the latter having a bath and separate shower and having a luxurious feel to it. The bed was, as always, very hard but the pillows were even harder and very thick, quite hard on the neck. The room just missed the mark, it could have been superb with more imaginative furnishings - such potential!

Due to rain, breakfast was inside for our first two mornings, but we were delighted to be able to eat outside the final morning. The tree filled courtyard is delightful and made a great place to have breakfast. It was a fairly typical buffet spread, nothing to rave about and a definite lack of fresh fruit; there were also the usual options for eggs and Vietnamese offerings.

We found the service to be lacklustre; there seemed to be staff everywhere, tripping over each other, walking straight in front of us at breakfast and all with a fairly indifferent attitude to providing service. This was a little surprising in a country that prides itself on good, attentive service. It seemed as though the staff were so used to hundreds of tourists trekking through the hotel each week, they were fed up and couldn't really be bothered.

Would we stay there again, yes, probably, for the comfort of the room and the location of the hotel, certainly not for a warm welcome or good service.

Room Tip: Top floor, riverside for the best views, second floor riverside for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear M. Travellers-K,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. Your comments are very useful for us to improve our service in the future. We highly appreciate about this.

Hotel’s history is a typical character to compete with other hotels in Hue. We will keep the colonial style and try our best to upgrade hotel facilities, focus to staff training and hotel decoration to bring the enjoyable and comfortable for our valued guests in the next time.

We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    536
    144
    34
    7
See reviews for
236
769
65
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve and the atmosphere was lovely.
Our room was clean and welcoming and the beds particularly comfortable. I thought staff were especially helpful and friendly given that it was very busy because it was New Year's Eve.

In the evening there was a special New Year's Eve meal. Before the meal began there were complementary drinks and nibbles. To maintain the atmosphere there were drummers playing outside of the entrance of the hotel which was really great. The meal was good and there was also varied entertainment on stage. It was a memorable New Year's Eve and the meal and entertainment had clearly been well organised.

Breakfast was especially good and I would definitely recommend their home made jam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear M. Indira,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the New Year Gala Dinner with us. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A hotel restored to very good standard and quality. Great positioning close to the Perfume River as well as centre of town within strolling distance from the hotel. A very wide variety of good quality restaurants of various tastes in the immediate environment. Comfortable size rooms and excellent services. Good spread of food choices at breakfast. The garden in the centre of the hotel, where they also serve breakfast at times, is great. This hotel really is a good place to stay at and definately a hotel to consider for an enjoyable, relaxing stay with the river and park across the street. There was however an experience with the spa in the hotel that is of concern. One would expect the spa to be professional, rendering professional massage services. Well guys, when you go for a massage in the evening, don't be surprised if you are directly confronted with the option of having a happy ending. This to me is something I deem very unprofessional and something not to be associated with a hotel of this standard (something I will expect from a massage service in a sleazy part of town). The masseuse also expects you to give feedback on a slip, in her presence, as well committing to a service tip that they also want to negotiate with you. This has been a seriously bad experience and false note in my association with this hotel and as management of the hotel I will seriously investigate this as it may have negative implications for the hotel and its reputation. One would expect a professional massage service focused on health, relaxation and wellbeing of visitors, not something that creates discomfort and is morally questionable.

Room Tip: Any room is great. Maybe rooms facing the river is the best option. The hotel is really of great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Mr. PieterFromRoodepoort,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, room, buffet breakfast, the garden and are delighted to see your notes that our hotel really is a good place to stay at and definitely a hotel to consider for an enjoyable, relaxing stay with the river and park across the street. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

Regarding to the spa service, we are sincere apologize for any inconvenience that caused to you. It is deeply disappointing to hear that our hotel service could not up to the level of your expectation. The spa service that you have experienced is not our hotel standard. The sexual suggestion is not allowed at our hotel; therefore, we will investigate the case of the therapist that you mentioned to have a exact decision for the staff, help us to remind all staff of hotel policy and to maintain hotel reputation.

Thank you for your kind understanding and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here over New Years eve in our recent trip, deciding to treat ourselves to somewhere nice for the occasion. While the Hotel itself is very nice, big rooms, lovely reception area, nice pool etc the staff were the least friendly we experienced in our 3 week trip. They seem to think its ok to be less than friendly because its a '4 start hotel'? We ate in the restaurant there on New Years and towards the end of the meal we saw a rat run through the dining room. I totally understand that in Vietnam that does not mean the same thing as it does in Dublin however, the staffs reaction to our discomfort was truly dreadful, initially they laughed, we asked several times to speak to a manager, none was available. When we were checking out, after much to-ing and fro-ing they eventually gave us the meal for no charge but we were more upset about their attitude than the rat! In every other hotel we stayed in (most around the $50 a night mark compared to $200 a night) the staff could not do enough to help but not here. I wouldn't recommend this hotel nor would I return to it. I have given no stars for breakfast as we were loath to eat in the hotel again so we didn't have breakfast either morning of our stay.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which was very large and very clean, no complaints there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ms. AnnieEllis,

First of all, on behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you so much for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We are all disappointed to read that your hotel experience has not been up to the level of expectation because of the rat in the dinning room and the unfriendly attitude of staff you have mentioned.

In response to your kind feedback, I would like to offer some follow up notes:
- On my return to the hotel the issue was reported to me and I apologize that did not have the chance to see you before you checked out. I then sent immediately to you a letter of apology. I hope that my apology reaches you well.
- I am committed to you, our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us. I requested the Environment Department to strictly implement the pet-control system.
- I realized that the job attitude is the especial element in hotel industry; therefore, we will take action to correct staff attitude right now and non-stop staff training to make them to be better in the next time.

Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel, delightful rooms, great service, amazing views. We had interconnecting rooms for 4 adults family members and loved it - beds and bathrooms were fabulous. Night market across the road, great food in the hotel and a lovely courtyard for breakfast. If I'm ever back in Hue I'll be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Susanna2450,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel service.

It is so great to hear that your stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Undoubtedly a top hotel. Loved every aspect of my stay. I swam before breakfast every morning of our 3 day stay. The pool was delightful. The room was gorgeous. Unfortunately it rained all day of the third day but they gave us umbrellas to use.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear M. Gilles P,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Many thanks for your kind and positive comments regarding to the experience during your stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that your stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable. These comments will keep our team motivated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The "Grande Dame of Hue" is getting wrinkled but is still ageing gracefully.

It's a colonial type place, in which you would expect to meet Hercule Poirot sitting for tea with Captain Hastings...

We arrived with full stomachs so we did not get the chance to try any of the restaurants but we did have a drink at the very comfortable bar on the 3rd floor, where service was perfect. Our bartender was very accommodating and both he and the lady serving us spoke perfect English, which was not very often the case during our trip. Signs of old world opulence (with prices to boot occasionally) can be found everywhere but some annoying (at times only) details do reveal the hotel's age, as described in other reviews below, such as the shower for instance...

Still, it's a memorable experience and one we won't regret.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheese_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear M. Swisscheese_Zurich,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our colonial style, Panorama Bar and our hotel service. We will share your compliments to all of our staff to encourage them in their jobs.

Hotel’s history is a special character. We will try our best keep the colonial style and improve our services and upgrade hotel facilities to be better in the future as well. Should you have any suggestion, we highly appreciate if you can share with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends back to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Moonlight Hotel Hue
#21 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing