We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice colonial style hotel in Hue”
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice colonial style hotel in Hue”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Saigon Morin in Hue. It is a very nice hotel, recently renovated and very well maintained. Built in 1911, it has a lot of French Colonial influences. Since we were there for a special occasion and it was Christmas we booked two deluxe river view rooms and an executive suite. The river view rooms were large and the suite was spectacular. The breakfast buffet is very nice, with a wide selection of western and Vietnamese selections. The two dinners we had were both part of a special offering, a special buffet on Christmas Eve and a set menu on Christmas Day. The buffet had over 60 different offerings, which were interesting, but suffered from the typical buffet problem of being prepared too far in advance. The food at the set menu was quite good. Service was very good throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear M. Nickindc,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Many thanks for your kind and positive comments regarding to the experience during your stay with us.

We are so happy to hear that your stay with us is enjoyable and comfortable. Your comments are very useful for us to improve our buffet service in the next time. We highly appreciate about this.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    549
    148
    34
    7
See reviews for
240
789
68
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel itself is a charming building with spacious rooms, nicely appointed. Staff are friendly and helpful, and they serve a fantastic Bun Bo Hué at breakfast. There is free wifi, but inexplicably, they block access to Facebook. When asked why, they first tried to blame the government, but that excuse faded away quickly when I told them I hadn't encountered such blockages elsewhere in Vietnam. So you'll have to give up your Facebook habit when staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMCReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear M. CMCReading,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your valued on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read your compliments about our hotel like charming building with spacious rooms, nicely appointed, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic Bun Bo Hué at breakfast.

We highly appreciate your positive comments. They will help us to improve hotel services to be better in the next time, especially is the internet access to Facebook link. Should you have any suggestion, please feel free to let us know.

Hope you can give us an another chance to welcome you back to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the very atmospheric Saigon Morin in early December as part of a tour of Indochina. Our room was a really good size and faced the river, although we didn't really notice the noise too much. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, especially when we needed to change some currency. The pool was a wee bit small but still very nice after a long day sightseeing. The little touches, like the copies of the fairy tales delivered in the evening were unique, and the breakfast buffet selection was excellent. Everything is very easy to walk to but, if you need a tuk tuk, you don't have to look far as there are usually drivers beside the hotel. A really good choice if you visit Hue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legionnaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear M. legionnaire,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are really happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

It is our pleasure to have an another chance to welcome you back to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in a good location, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and extremely clean. Whilst its on a busy junction our room was not noisy and it was on the corner. Not far from anything night market and dragon boats are opposite as is the riverside park. Will stay there again if/when we go back to this fabulous country.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear M. Iram01,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding to the fabulous hotel in a good location, very friendly and helpful staff, large and extremely clean room. It is great to hear that your compliments about our hotel service and staff. These comments will keep our team motivated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Vietnam as well as Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The room is extra large and clean. Comfortable bed and good river view except have to bear the noise from the traffic. Good location and is within walking to the Citadel and the market. Restaurants are just within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less traffic noise but good view will be room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewchoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrewchoo55,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Many thanks for taking time to post the positive comments on TripAdvisor regarding your experience during your stay with us.

Guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work and we are on the way to improve our service to be better in the next time. Should you have any suggestion, please feel free to share with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Nostalgic and charasmatic hotel. Clean extra large rooms. Great friendly service.

Oldest hotel on Hue, with Charlie Chaplin and Jane Fonda staying here over the years.

I love the old photos and atmosphere that you get from walking around. Fresh Fruit and flowera in the room. Wifi is free in the hotel. The only negative is that the gym is small.

Location is very central to the citadel and many restaurants.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Antonio T,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. We will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in a great location. Close to all the restauraunts, shops, citadel and easy walking distance to the markets across the river. The esplanade along the river is lit up very nice at night with lots of market stalls and locals enjoying themselves. Train station is about 5 min down the road by taxi.

You can feel what it would have been like 100 years ago with the French colonists. The rooms are very large, original hardwood floors. They did a good job in making the hotel look old, yet not tacky. Lots of photos in the large hallways on what went on in Hue and the hotel during the last hundred years. Beds are comfortable and bath rooms clean and functional. Sound insulation is very good. You can barely hear the traffic outside. Breakfast in the large central courtyard is very nice. Food was very good. Good combination of Vietnamese and hot/cold continental style. The large swimming pool in the second large courtyard offers great relief after sweating it out during the hot day at the tourist sites.

We got the premium city deluxe room but were upgraded to top floor river view room. The hotel staff are very friendly and are always offering help with transport and tours. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Keep an eye out on the internet for good price deals.

On a side note if flying into Hue. There is a shuttle bus booth that offers a ride to your hotel for 50,000d. Good deal but they dont actually take you to the hotel even though they say so. But fortunately, its last stop is a 5 minute walk behind the hotel. So its a great deal if you are willing to navigate yourself a bit. Or, maybe being able to speak the local language helps more :)

Room Tip: The river view rooms are nice, but not fantastic. There is the street, line of trees and esplanade i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpasztor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear M. dpasztor,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding to the Colonial style, large room with wood floor, friendly staff, nice buffet breakfast in the large central courtyard and good location. We highly appreciate about this. All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching places to stay in Hue.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hue city and Hotel Saigon Morin as well in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#15 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 120 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing