We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saigon Morin
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

The Morin is one of the Top 3 hotels I've ever stayed in. Ever. I just didn't expect such a perfect hotel in Hue, Vietnam, of all places! Yes, the rooms are luxuriously spacious, with hard-wood floors and marble baths; yes, there's a beautiful courtyard; yes, it's conveniently located. But there's much more.

There are 4 free internet computers. The hotel arranges free traditional music concerts in the courtyard. Every evening, housekeeping brings you a rolled paper with a Vietnamese fairy tale to read to your companion or for yourself. All lights and amenities in the rooms are being controlled by a switchboard at the bedside. An abundance of helpful staff will be at your assistance at a wink of an eye. Breakfast is served by waitresses in silken Ao Dais. And the building as such, this old French colonial hotel, just has that special something that no 5-star modern highrise hotel can create.

Visiting the Hue Citadel is beautifully complimented by the feeling to have such a place to come home to. I just don't know how a hotel could be any better than the Morin.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apoll0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    542
    146
    34
    7
See reviews for
238
779
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

Excellent location right on the Perfume River. Gorgeous grounds and property. We stayed in a Deluxe Room with a river view, and we thought we had been booked into the Presidential Suite! Gorgeous.

We were two friedns traveling together, and this was perfect for us, though it would also be good for small groups (and apparently larger groups - as one tour group cycled through while we were there) as well as romantic getaways.

The town of Hue is steeped in history. So much to see and do there. Loved it!

  • Liked — location and Frech colonial decor
  • Disliked — pool area nice, but small and basic
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Saigon Morin from 21 to 24 Dec 2007. When I booked the hotel through AsiaRooms.com, I stated that we were on honeymoon (actually we were celebrating 10 years wedding anniversary). We were pleasantly surprised with a beautiful bouquet of roses, a chocolate bar and a fruit basket in our room. This is a beautifully restored colonial building rich in history. The pictures of yonder years hang all along the corridors. The room and bathroom are spacious and clean and the beds comfortable. The European style furniture, heavy curtains and french windows give an air of luxury and stepping back in time. The breakfast is great, the open air restaurant's dinner is average, the pool looks nice (did not swim), the massage is not good. The facilities are limited but it does not matter because you want to be out exploring interesting Hue ! The various kings' tombs are a must visit, the river cruise is relaxing, the Thein Mu Pagoda is worth a visit. If you have been to the Forbidden City in Beijing China like we have, you will find the Forbidden City in Hue very small because unfortunately large parts of it was destroyed during the war. The location of the hotel is very central. Take a 10min walk to DongBa market and see all the locals and local products (food, clothes, everything!). There are also many shops and eateries within walking distance from the hotel. We ate at Red Apple twice for lunch. The food is clean and delicious and price definitely cheaper than hotel. It is 5min walk from our hotel. It is opposite this new imposing hotel Imperial Hotel, it looks impressive and very new, we tried the Japanese restaurant and it tastes authentic. We really enjoyed our stay here and definitely recommend it.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginkonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

Built in 1901 and recently refurbished, Hotel Saigon Morin offers big rooms, comfortable beds, an excellent hot breakfast with omelets, fruits, fresh breads, and good local coffee, either inside or outside on the patio. Service was excellent, with fresh fruit and scrolled Vietnamese fairy tales served every afternoon. Of interest is the galley of old photos from the last century posted on the hall walls. Two gardens and a lovely outside pool reveal the tropical serenity of old Hue. The staff speak English and can arrange battlefield tours, river trips, and the like. A restful retreat.

Richard H. Rupp

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rupprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

The Saigon Morin has true class. It is worth staying here just for the little taste of history you get staying here. We stayed over New Years, and the hotel was a step up from the level of accommodation we had stayed in during our trip around Vietnam. The rooms were huge, clean and positively lovely. I can fault this hotel.

  • Liked — The hotel was so beautiful
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

We spent 2 nights at the Saigon Morin at Christmas. The choice was a step above the style of accomodation we had chosen throughout Vietnam but had been recommended by a friend. This historic hotel offered an interesting option in this small simple town. Our room was HUGE with a queen, a large single and a large extra bed tucked in a corner totally unobtrusiive in the room. We enjoyed complimentary cocktails while our kids enjoyed room service and the pool. We felt the decor was lovely and certainly our room did not need renovation. Location was great with the river across the road, the market across the river and restaurants just down the street. This was a great respite in the middle of our trip through Vietnam.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The bar was quiet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pebarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

Perfect location, nice sized rooms with comfortable beds, modern fixtures, friendly and helpful staff, charming outdoor eating area and swimming pool, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edavidove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.9 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#14 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.5 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Property: Hotel Saigon Morin
Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#11 Spa Hotel in Hue
#11 Family Hotel in Hue
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing