We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok 3* hotel, a bad 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Riverside Hue Hotel
Ranked #55 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What i liked
- service
- Restaurant open 24 hours... Useful for late arrivals
- river facing
- good location in the City
- breakfast was varied
What i didnt like
- smell in the room
- needs to be refreshed
- massage rooms and spa look horrible

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopetohelpyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a once grand resort from the early 1980s or late 1970's that has seen better days. With the proper management and investment this could be easily be returned to its former glory. Nestled between the Perfume River and Le Loi Street it offers a convenient base to both the UNESCO Imperial City and the Hue's high street. If you are only planning the stay in Hue for a night or two and need cheap accommodation you could do worse.

The suite rooms were very large but worn and austere. Ours looked nothing like the professional photos offered on the website. Like the room itself, the bathroom had remained untouched with a once novel but now very dated all blue theme. Our friends were worse off as they suffered with a bright pink themed bathroom. The air conditioning worked well but the beds were not too comfortable. My bed suffered from a bizarre see-saw like motion.

Annoyingly though not unusual for Vietnam the staff started cleaning at around 6-7am and were not quiet about it. The mixed Asian and western breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If anyone's watched The Shining, then they'll be able to imagine what this hotel looks like from the inside. We checked in by default, as lastminute.com screwed up our booking for somewhere else, and on being shown into our room, immediately had to go out and have several stiff drinks to work up the courage to sleep there. The decor is outdated, the corridors are dark to the point of actual fear, and there was no one around. At all. They didn't even see the point in lighting the bottom floor. They gave us a suite which sounds marvellous, but actually just meant there were two scary rooms filled with foreboding dark furniture and inadequate lighting instead of one. And all topped off with a seventies blue bathroom suite. Rotting naked woman in the bathtub by request only.

Its only saving grace is the location and the swimming pool, but for the money and for your sanity, I'd stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The river views are good, but the suites look like a Communist propaganda leaflet. I wouldn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFoodWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were disappointed with our room though it is river facing which is a good view, you would not want to be on your balcony very long as it looks a bit dirty and you only have room to stand! The room and bathroom badly in need of an update, we had asked our tour guide to get us 4 star accommodation and compared to our hotel in Hoi An last night , this is just not up to that standard. It looks so grand from the outside too. The staff are very polite, we have yet to sample the breakfast.
Such a shame as we are going to be on overnight trains for the next 3 nights, (maybe that experience will make this hotel look like a 4 star after all!!)

Room Tip: Sorry can't help you there maybe ask for an upgrade to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiesn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel hasn't been updated in years. It shouts from every room, lounge, bar, window and wall that in it's day it had style and elegance. Problem is that that day was 40 years ago. It's in desperate need of an overhaul.

That said the service was pretty good, and the location is good for both bars (DMZ opposite) and the Citadel is within walking distance.

One last thing, four star... pull the other one.

Room Tip: Book a river-view room. It's the same size price as a front room, just a tad smaller, which is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and a friend stayed there as part of a tour that we did in Vietnam....luckily it was only a one night stay but my god this hotel is bad....room is old, bathroom is not clean, frond desk has no clue, breakfast is terrible....staff just about friendly.....basically it is a hotel that is 30 years old and has never been renovated....
The only good thing is the location, not even tlkaing about the river view as it is not that pretty, but more about the surroundings. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars around so if you don't mind the room and hotel go there....but I would definitely not recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in Century Riverside Hue Hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel looks really nice on the pictures but we were disappointed when we stepped into the room. Rooms are small and in need of renovation.
The hotel is ok but definitely not a 4 star hotel.
Pool area is beautiful with excellent view of river but 8 sun beds are not enough for such a big hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.2 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 124 in Hue
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#25 of 124 in Hue
1,172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Hotel Hue
Green Hotel Hue
#54 of 124 in Hue
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Riverside Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Riverside Hue Hotel

Address: 49 Le Loi Street, Hue 530000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#23 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range: $32 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Riverside Hue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Riverside Hotel is a luxurious riverside hotel, located on the banks of the Huong River, close to the city center. Guests will enjoy the close proximity to a number of restaurants, cafes, and commercial areas. Commuting is simple and easy with the Hue Railway Station located just two-kilometers from the hotel. The decoration is elegant and features a distinctive tropical Vietnamese theme that provides a restive ambiance, perfect for travelers who want a relaxing and pleasant holiday. The on-site dining venue serves a comprehensive variety of delectable authentic Vietnamese and international cuisine complemented by the close cafe equipped with a quaint full bar. The Century Riverside Hotel offers a scenic central location, luxurious appointments, and unparalleled customer service for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Century Riverside Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Riverside Hotel Hue
Hue Century Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing