We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Diamond Hotel
Ranked #4 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at Hue station everything went smoothly and we felt looked after. The kind man who came to the station even took our son, who was staying somewhere else in Hue, to his hostel at no extra cost. On arrival, after a fairly sleepless night on the overnight train from Hanoi, cool towels and even cooler lemon juice were brought and then we were invited to have breakfast - all hugely welcome to hot, weary travellers. Our room was delightful - sweet petals on the bedspread, good view - we could just see the river in the distance. Just a suggestion - I wonder if a new shower cubicle in place of the bath would be a good idea. Most people want a shower rather than a bath when it is hot and it is a bit awkward getting into the bath to take a shower - not really a criticism because it all worked fine, but just an idea to make the Holiday Diamond even better! Breakfast was great - as much lovely fresh fruit as you could eat plus cooked food. The delicious cool lemonade that appeared whenever we arrived back from a jaunt was wonderful and much appreciated. As other people have said, the staff were brilliant - helpful and friendly and genuinely kind. I recommended the hotel to some people we met on a boat in Halong Bay and I would most definitely stay there again myself. The "friendly" lift is pretty small - just room for two people who like each other hence the name! However, it works fine, just a bit of a squeeze. I left a scarf in the car that took us on a trip organised by the hotel - when I told Caroline she sorted it out immediately and my scarf reappeared within hours. Congratulations to Mr Dat, Caroline, Susan and everyone else at the Holiday Diamond: we do hope we can return one day to your lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a river view - we could see the river a little way away over the rooftops which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    276
    43
    2
    0
See reviews for
260
1,032
189
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was in contact with the staff before I even arrived to arrange the pick-up. And I was pleased by their swift answers and engagement to help me. This continued with the check-in where I was offered some lemonade and fruit! Service was really outstanding.
The hotel itself is in a small side street, which made it very quiet. The rooms are functional and with TV, Minibar and a PC for your use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frei_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

What can be said that's not been said before about this hotel. I guess I have to repeat most of it. 

The staff are wonderful. Every request is executed immediately with efficiency. Every time you sit down, a glass of cool lemonade or green tea is served with a nice cool towel. Every morning, if you are early for breakfast, coffee is served to you before all the fruit "buffet"- mangoes, pineapples, passion fruits, custard apples, Asian apples and others come out. Breakfast is great - noodle, eggs, rice, or fried rice.

We booked a family room for four nights. Mainly taken  up by two huge king size beds, it's a decent size room. A wall clock is a great idea. A fridge, TV, and tea making facilities are very useful. I understand that every room has windows.

Wifi is better downstairs, though there is a lap top computer in your room. If you want to skype or do a voice call, bring your ear phone with mic with you.

Location wise, it is good. You can walk to the night market on the bank under the bridge or walk over the bridge to a nice super market and the main market. The staff will give you advice and directions, not to worry. 

Citadel is about 25-30 minute walk (for us who walk slowly)  or 5-10 minutes on a bicycle. The traffic is not bad, you just go along with all the bikes and you'll be fine - be brave! (a nice Xiou wifi cafe outside the wall serving cheap beer and spaghetti, if you are tired of noodle!. Outside under the three is better as you are allowed to smoke inside the aircon room, so it's a bit stuffy.) it's also about 10 minute walk to the Lonely Planet's recommended "Family Home Restaurant"

Quite a few decent eateries around. On right hand side from the lane about 100 meters, good vietnamese food is offered. Just opposite the lane, if you are into ice kacang or syrup desert with ice,  at least 2 stalls serve decent one - a life saver after a scorching hot day. 

Mr. dat - the young owner/manager looks after his  guests with a perpetual smile and good humour. If you are not happy with the tour, they'll call the tour right away. Or while on tour, they check whether you are happy with it. 

We booked all the tour and a taxi from the hotel. Good thing about the taxi to or from Danang Airport is that you they will take you to other places on the way as well - Tu Duc Tomb, the Cham museum etc, just ask the hotel to have that arranged for you. All are included in the fare! Make sure you go by the pass not the tunnel, the view is stunning.

So we'll definitely be back. Watch out Mr. Dat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay was as good as it gets for a two star hotel. That it was only 2 star made no difference in our quality of our stay. The staff always have a smile and glad to help with our needs. From carrying our luggage to giving advice and will have various tours to offer as well. I love the free breakfast every morning. Great coffee! Free Wi-Fi worked nicely in room and also have desktops in lobby for use. Any help needed was done with a smile. An added problem was we had booked at the time of a festival and hotels were full. We were short time, so a worker who does the luggage carrying and moving rolled our few suitcases down the street for a night at another 'sister' hotel for a night. Quality just as good there. Then the worker ended up rolling our luggage back for us. If i remember right his name was Peter. Would stay there again without looking for any other choices. Was quiet there as well if i remember right too! Location was only a few blocks from the river. Ten minute walk or so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed in Holiday Diamond hotel for 3 nights and we immediately felt at home. The rooms are nice and clean and the hotel had free wifi for us. The rooms came with breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised to know that at Holiday Diamond you eat till you're full!! The hotel staff are the best and they helped us with everything we needed from renting a scooter to booking bus tickets to showing us around town. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visitation Hue and will return here myself when i visit Hue again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had the most warm greeting here then anywhere we have stayed in Vietnam! The staff welcomed us by sitting us down and brining us welcome drinks, a cool towel and fruit, They then took the time to show us where all the sights were on the map. Our room was basic but to be honest we didn't need much and the air con worked great. Only negative was the wifi was the worst we have had on the whole trip, to the point we couldn't use it. There is a computer downstairs if you need it.
The location was great, it is down an alley but only a shortwalk to shops and the river.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyh1986_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A lovely little hotel so close to everything. Happy and smiling staff, lovely breakfasts, lovely room what more can one ask for? I stayed for an extra night and when the staff discovered that they were full they wanted to take me to their homes, however there was a cancellation and I was able to stay in my room for the extra night. Thank you for the memories Caroline, Catina, Susan and Anna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcgrath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#8 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
0.0 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Diamond Hotel

Property: Holiday Diamond Hotel
Address: Number 6 Lane 14 Nguyen Cong Tru street, Hue 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Diamond Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hue city and in little street. Precisely because of this, will give visitors a sense of the quietest, most comfortable, the safest in the middle of downtown... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing