We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff”

Les Jardins de La Carambole
Ranked #12 of 315 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Les Jardins De La Carambole is a new restaurant in Hue serving Vietnamese and French cuisine. It is inside the Citadel, very near the Forbidden City. It's an impressive reconstruction of a French Colonial Villa. Great attention was paid to every detail of the historic reconstruction.
Mykonos, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent Christmas Eve there and chose a set menu. I very much liked the place, the fireplace, the friendly & happy staff and owner made it very cosy. On top of that they had an incredibly talented pianist playing all evening. The starters were ok (clams) but my favourite dish was by far the main (Beef in green pepper sauce) - I would recommend it without hesitation. They had a good wine & cheese selection too. The baguette was delicious as well as a creme brulee desert. Good value for money too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena231183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,056
    465
    121
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great service, disappointing food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We joined all the other Trip Advisor readers influenced by the restaurant's current number one status in trying out this relatively new restaurant. The setting in a re-vamped Hue house, complete with log fires was most enticing on a chilly evening and the staff were gracious and most welcoming. We chose to eat Vietnamese dishes from the menu and that may have been our mistake. Whether or not they were tempered down for Western palates we don't know, but they were very disappointing and we have eaten far more delicious meals during our stay in Hue. That said, the service was impeccable, the staff charming and the ambience almost made up for the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Colonial Cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Tonight we chose to eat at Les Jardins de La Carambole on the Citadel side of the Perfume River in Hue. The restaurant is 400 meters down from the forbidden city, but don't be put off by the lonely street at night. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and Christian the owner, the dining room was filled with other guests and an open fire. The decor was a beautiful fusion between French colonial and Vietnamese which also reflects the menu choices. We started with the banana blossom and seafood salad followed by the traditional French onion soup. For main course we had duck a l'orange which was delicious. Although it was a unique slowly cooked version in broth with vegetables, the deep orange flavors were still present throughout the dish. The duck was tender and succulent and we enjoyed it very much. Overall, our food choices were excellent and the service was outstanding and conversation with Christian gave us some great insights into his passion for Vietnamese culture, food and countryside.
This restaurant is a must do in Hue and we highly recommend it for at least one meal (lunch or dinner) while visiting this lovely city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant after leaving the Citadel late in the day and seeing the sign across from the grounds. It is on the more expensive side (for Vietnam), but worth every penny. They did ask us if we had reservations, so they may be necessary if we had come later in the evening. The facility appears to be a renovated mansion, however I understand from our hotel staff that the restaurant is rather new. The menu includes traditional Hue cuisine (which we ordered), plus a variety of French dishes. The deserts were all French and outstanding -- I particularly recommend the creme brulee. They had sizable wine selection, however we drank beer that night, so I cannot comment on the quality. The staff were also friendly and very attentive. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A top choice at very reasonable cost”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The setting, decor, staff and food make this a good choice in Hue. With only one night we chose using trip advisor recommendations and were very pleased. The menu is fairly extensive with a French slant and excellent choice of Hue menus and dishes. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de La Carambole also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Les Jardins de La Carambole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing