We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liberty is the place not to miss while in Hue....”
Review of Liberty Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Liberty Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Vietnamese, Fast Food, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Warmly welcome to Liberty Bar & Restaurant. the nice place for a good food, cleanest, comfortable... we service Vietnam food, Western food, Asia food.... In the center and the backpacker area in Hue city. Close to Binh Duong hotel, Phong Nha hotel and Thai Binh hotel...We will make you feeling a different.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Liberty is the place not to miss while in Hue....”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is by far one of the best bars to come to in Hue, fantastic food, music and very reasonably priced drinks, especially the local beer which only cost me 10.000vnd (50cts) for a bottle.it is set down a small alley, but easy to find. The staff all speak exceptional English and make you feel like a regular, you know what I mean, like your local watering hole back home. One thing which is hard to find in Hue if you are like me is pool, here it is free, not forgetting also wifi. Truely if you are looking for a vietnamese bar but set to what you expect from your local back home, this is sure the place to come and party until late and not burn a hole in your pocket. I strongly reccommend it to all travellers, you surely wont regret it and will make new friends along the way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little dive bar on a quiet alley”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visiting this place felt like a trip back in time - to the 90s! Playing Jenga with Soul Asylum rocking in the background...Really cool bar for when you're feeling a bit homesick/nostalgic!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Welp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We love Liberty and everyone should visit!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We landed in Hue Saturday morning. Saturday night we spent in Liberties bar. After that we tried various bars in Hue but every time we always ended up in Libertys bar. The atmospher is friendly, the music is perfect for the atmospher. The bar is ran by a local family who is knowledgable of the local area and they are always willing to help

The prices on food and drink are very reasnable. The meals are full of flavour and served hot and quickly.


By all means visit other bars but dont miss this one out.

Lots of love

Phil, Christine, Els & Si x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuziePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer, food, and... Jenga”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really good bar. Went here on a Sunday night, stays open till late. Lots of choice of food and drinks. 15,000 VND for a beer. All tables come with Jenga which you can turn into a pretty good drinking game. There is also a pool table, feel free to wager some Vietnamese dong or beers against the owner of the bar. It's a bit tricky to find but go to 34 Nguyễn Tri Phương and it's down the alley.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“This bar is out of this world!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This bar was located close to my hotel Thai Binh 1 and when I first went there I didnt know what to expect, but it immidiatly became my favourite bar in Hue!! The owner is such a great guy with an easy going personality who never fails to make you laugh! You can play pool, cards and jenga if you want or try the delicious home made food and a cold local beer while listening to some Jimi Hendrix, The Doors or some Beatles. I have learned how to play pool with their patient instructions.
I really love this place and spent most of my best night outs here. If you are looking for a chilled place with the friendliest and craziest staff in whole Hue you should definetly go here! Dont miss out!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing