We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in Vietnam yet and was only there for 3 hours!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel
Ranked #101 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Vietnam yet and was only there for 3 hours!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Checked into this hotel after travelling from Hoi An. Literally dumped our bags and went for a bite to eat. When we returned to the room we turned on the light and found cockroaches in our room and the scurried away under the bed. We were absolutely disgusted by this and decided to promptly check out. We told the hotel staff and were immediately called liars and the situaion turned for worse when one member of staff got very aggressive and started pushing around my partner. This was not a good experience and to be honest totally ruined our stay in Hue. Also we were stopped for leaving until we paid for the room for half a days fee. Absolutely disgusting rooms with cockroaches and even worse staff that are rude and aggressive. PLEASE AVOID!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dananddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    57
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
75
81
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place proves following touts can be a very good thing.

We were tired when we got off the bus. We knew it wasn't a long walk to the backpacker district but a free ride is a free ride. We expected this hotel to be overpriced and have poor service--given how overwhelming their tout-led marketing effort was right from the bus stop. But not so.

For USD10 we got lovely corner room with two large windows, A/C, TV, mini-fridge, bathroom with hot water shower. Moreover, it was clean and quiet. Yes, they provide cockroach spray in the room, but we didn't see any and, come on, in this part of the world those little guys are everywhere. The location is on a alleyway ('Guesthouse alleyway') about a 3-min walk from the backpacker district, which is lively and quite noisy. It's about a 15/20-min walk (or 5-min on bicycle) to the Citadel.

Unlike some of the few 'terrible' ratings for this place, we found the staff to be lovely. We chatted on several occasions and the only thing they tried to push on me was a free map of the city and some of the starfruit they were eating.

I highly recommend this place to any backpacker or youngish suitcaser.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in Binh Duong 1 Hotel for only one night. The Hotel is an a very silent back road in walking-distance to the city centre. My room seemed little bit worn out but clean and neat.
All staff was extraordinary friendly and obliging. Because my Bus to Hanoi left in the evening after check out I was invited to come back to the Hotel to take a free shower. Really great service. Price was also very cheap as I payed USD 12 for my room. I would not hesitate to stay in here again when coming back to Hue!
P. S The house number you have to look for is the 34.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We bought the room from a tout outside the Hue train station, against our better judgement. He helped us bought the return train tickets at normal Vietnamese price and he offered USD 10 room. So, we decided to go with him, as we were tired from long train ride and it was raining heavily in Hue when we arrived. The room itself was a pleasant surprise. Clean, en-suite double with good bathroom, air-cond, fan, in-room computer with free internet. It had windows on both sides which was a plus. No breakfast. No free Vietnamese coffee even. We also bought tours from him, which was really not a smart move as the price was not cheap. But since we were pressed for time, we knew we just had to spend that extra money. USD 5 each for the 45 minutes sunset cruise with traditional performance. He told us it was a 2 hour cruse. USD 12 each for a 2 hour motorbike tour not inclusive the entrance fee to the Citadel and Tombs. Those would cost you extra VND80K p/p for each location. Yeap... not nice at all. But the guys are generally nice and polite and friendly. And we were very happy with the room. And it was within a short walking distance to the major attractions. So there goes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a computer, so that you do not have to take turns waiting to use the common term...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I do recommend the hotel and i agree the prices for booking tours are more expensive here, but you are free to shop around (like you always should do around here)...

I was really glad I stayed here because I was really sick for 2 days and the staff was very helpfull and took good care of me! The room was clean, big, with own bathroom, they clean the room every day if you want and change your towels...

I was certainly very pleased!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Linsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

the rooms are decent and can be good value for money if u negotiate a good price.
we got a big/better room for 12$ a night, thats pretty good.

the reason why i never gonna get go back there and write a bad review is fraudulenty stuff.
they crossed the line of the normal overpricing they do evreywhere in vietnam and went into the land of pur fraud/scam.

- I booked a nightrain ticket to hanoi with them. i was already aware that the booking price they asked for was too high and not so convinced that i am really booking the last ticket on the train (the trains are sometimes booked out so that might have been acutally true). i didn't mind that much.

anyway they gave me a ticket for the wrong class without telling me. the class discription is just in vietnames and the price wasn't on the ticket so i couldn't tell when i got the ticket.
This is something that doesn't happen by accident and is just scam...big no-no for me.

- when we check out i left early and my friend did the checkout later. They lied to her about the prices i agreed to and overcharged her/us.

- lying about prices for public transport when trying to sell overpriced tours

They gonna quote you silly prices for all the tours etc. you can book with them, but this happens everywhere in vietnam. As this is part of the travel experience/culture in this country and not a reason for this bad review. Just don't book anything with them and always compare...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hue
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Friendliest staff in Vietnam, free tea goes down a treat. Good location and great price. Will be back and learn Vietnamese to see what the girls are laughing at.

Room Tip: Any but front are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunny B Hotel
Sunny B Hotel
#44 of 122 in Hue
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Binh Duong II Hotel
Binh Duong II Hotel
#49 of 122 in Hue
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny C Hotel
Sunny C Hotel
#63 of 122 in Hue
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Binh Duong Hotel
Star Binh Duong Hotel
#76 of 122 in Hue
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vong Canh Hotel
Vong Canh Hotel
#89 of 122 in Hue
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel

Property: Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel
Address: 17/34 Nguyen Tri Phuong St, Hue 054, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find non-smoking rooms, air conditioning, desk, hair dryer, internet access (wireless), internet access, television, television screen waiting in each room. This excellent hotel in Hue also has 24hr room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities , restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. Everything the hotel does is centered around the guest' experience, ensuring comfort and relaxation. Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel can be easily booked with our secure online booking form. Simply enter your dates and click to proceed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Original Binh Duong 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing