We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but avoid the dining!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mondial Hotel Hue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mondial Hotel Hue
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
522 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good hotel but avoid the dining!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Like one previous reviewer of this hotel, I am surprised how this hotel gets good ratings.

Although centrally located, unlike the Hotel Morin, it is not on the waterfront.
It is not a bad location but then you just put up with it. The view from the top floors sre not inspiring.

The rooms and the bathrooms are spacious and clean and my room came with a balcony.

My problems with this hotel was the restaurant and dinner. I dined there on the 24th of February 2013 and the service was bad. There was just myself and a French couple in the whole dining room which should have been a warning. There were more staff than customers.
I ordered a glass of red wine and it came chilled! The red wine was chilled! The French couple were laughing but the waitress could not understand why I was complaining.
For the benefit of the Manager: Red wine is NEVER served chilled. I did ask to speak to the manager but the staff just laughed and were only keen on my signature on the bill. I stood my ground and eventually a lady assistant manager of sorts appeared when they realised that I was not going to sign the bill.. She could not understand English and a main reception girl had to come in as interpreter. I still don't think I got the message across.
(I must say that I am British and do speak good English just as I can write!)

I then ordered Spaghetti Bolognaise and what I got was spaghetti stirred with a brownish sauce!
My repeated requests to speak to a proper manager got the standard response that the manager was away.
The next evening I ordered Beef Curry from room service. What I got was a beef stew with more potatoes than beef and no trace of curry!

I did make a written complaint asking for a reply but so far I haven't heard anything.
I notice that the Hotel Manager does respond on Tripadvisor but only to favourable reviews. I wonder why!

On the plus side I did have a reasonable 60 min massage in the Spa.

Room Tip: From a top room you do get a view of sorts.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondial Hotel H... V, Assistant Sales Manager at Mondial Hotel Hue, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr Gyan,

First of all, on behalf of Mondial Hotel Hue Management, I would like to thank you so much for the time you have taken to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. Please accept our deepest apologies for the recent inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to the service at restaurant at our hotel. We are all disappointed to read that your hotel experience has not been up to the level of expectation because of the bad service in the dinning room and the lack of English skill of staff you have mentioned.

On my return to the hotel the issue was reported to me and I apologize that I did not have the chance to see you before you checked out. I then sent immediately to you a letter of apology to your email address written on the hotel’s comment. I wonder why you did not receive it. Thank to your review on tripad, in response to your kind feedback, I’d like to explain as follow:

- As the information I received from the Duty Manager that night, after a glass of chilled red wine, our restaurant had realized their mistake and served you 2 next glasses of hot red wine and offered you a discount for the first wine glass and Spaghetti on the plus. All your responses we received were that you didn’t want any discount but talk to General Manager. We wish our Manager was there but he had gone for his famtrip.
- Our Hotel Management had a meeting to all duty managers including F&B manager to ensure that such problem will never happen again and the hotel’s staff must be non-stop trained to have more extra carefulness to the guests the next time.

Once again, I want to express our thankfulness to you for the feedback you have provided. It is my sincere belief that you want us to improve our service and will give us opportunities to provide the better service to you for your next trip to Hue City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    181
    72
    19
    6
See reviews for
59
158
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We weren't thrilled when we realized that our travel agent put us at a hotel that catered to bus tours. We also weren't thrilled when we found ourselves in a room facing the main road. Our concerns were unfounded, though. The Mondial is a cookie cutter hotel, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. The ungraded room we had (501) was spacious, with sufficient air conditioning - something crucial in Hue. The front desk was helpful and was eager to help us with restaurant recommendations or help us get a taxi. The breakfast was unimpressive, which I would say was a downside. The other strange quirk was that they wouldn't let us leave until they were sure that we didn't "steal" any of their towels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure what other options there are in Hue but didn't see much else than this. All in all Hue seemed like a waste of time (we were there for three days which was far too long).
The hotel itself is dated, rooms were better than what it looks like from the outside but nothing incredible. Have to say that they had a wide range of breakfast options which was good including a wide range of fruit and western/Asian breakfasts.

We ordered room service two nights and found it very annoying that I had a lovely vegetable curry the first night, ordered it the second (as did my sister since it had been lovely) and then was given a totally different and disgusting curry the second night which was very disappointing.

Lots of outside noise too which was very irritating. We were on third floor (fitness centre level) and were constantly woken up in the early mornings by service carts and I believe there is a staff eating/break area outside next to the room so we were constantly woken up by loud talking and noise from there. Room 307 is one to avoid at all costs but our family members in the other level 3 rooms were also woken,vjust not as much.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rooms (and ninth if there are rooms there as that is dining level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We loved the balcony we had with our room. Breakfast on the 9th floor was really nice with a great view as well. We booked a few tours through the hotel. We had a private tour to Hoi An which was great but expensive compared to other private tours we did on our trip. The half day city tour was pretty awful. The group was just way too large and we didn't care at all for the buffet style lunch. The tour ended somewhere in the middle of Hue and we had to find our way back to the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. I usually stay in smaller hotels but for a large hotel this wasn't bad at all.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Our's overlooked the street near the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondial Hotel H... V, Assistant Sales Manager at Mondial Hotel Hue, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Anne r
We’re so happy to see your great review to our Hotel via Tripadvisor. I myself had a nice speaking to you & your family the day you checked in & we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
For the private tour to Hoian, although the price is expensive compared to other Travel Agent, but this tour was includes Tax, service charge and travel insurance as well as meal, guide and entrance fees. We have tried to bring to our guest the best service as we can so the car and restaurant in the tour were selected carefully. Our goal is always to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a "holiday inn" at best. I felt like I was in an old hotel with extremely poor lighting. It was fun to have a balcony in our room and a large "bedroom" but that was it. This was my least favorite hotel of our entire trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are a lot larger than what it says on agoda.We had a city deluxe was 30m 2.Very Clean and comfortable with a view and great buffet breakfast in the rooftop restaurant.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andreakim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondial Hotel H... V, Assistant Sales Manager at Mondial Hotel Hue, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Andreakim0,
Thank you very much for your great time to write a review. I appreciate your comment, and I do hope that we could continue serving you with our best service. Moreover, I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have different room categories; therefore please rest assured that we will try our best to offer you and all of our guests the most comfortable stays.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over the X'mas holiday. Hue is a small Vietnamese city with an important past and looks like it is just getting on to the tourist bandwagon. That being the case, there aren't actually any international hotel chains present (I believe) so the Mondial is one of the larger hotels around. Was pleasantly surprised; was expecting a smaller outfit but it first came across as clean and modern.

Pros:
- Nice, large rooms. Relatively clean and new, decent though basic amenities
- Nice breakfast spread

Cons:
- Internet was spotty. I had no problems with it on the 7th floor but my sister on the 3rd floor could not get connected at all and the hotel staff was of no help
- Service was enthusiastic, but subpar. Our dinner on the 9th floor cafe took almost an hour to arrive. Room service for an ice cream dessert (and ONLY ice cream), took almost half hour. Language skills were poor. Still, to be fair, they WERE trying
- The spa is a bit dingy. Still, it IS cheap so if you're not too fussed about cleanliness, try it out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Green Hotel Hue
Green Hotel Hue
#61 of 121 in Hue
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Riverside Hue Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#25 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#16 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondial Hotel Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondial Hotel Hue

Property: Mondial Hotel Hue
Address: 17 Nguyen Hue Street, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondial Hotel Hue 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondial Hotel Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing