We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of bus tours”
Review of Mondial Hotel Hue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mondial Hotel Hue
Ranked #38 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We weren't thrilled when we realized that our travel agent put us at a hotel that catered to bus tours. We also weren't thrilled when we found ourselves in a room facing the main road. Our concerns were unfounded, though. The Mondial is a cookie cutter hotel, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it. The ungraded room we had (501) was spacious, with sufficient air conditioning - something crucial in Hue. The front desk was helpful and was eager to help us with restaurant recommendations or help us get a taxi. The breakfast was unimpressive, which I would say was a downside. The other strange quirk was that they wouldn't let us leave until they were sure that we didn't "steal" any of their towels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure what other options there are in Hue but didn't see much else than this. All in all Hue seemed like a waste of time (we were there for three days which was far too long).
The hotel itself is dated, rooms were better than what it looks like from the outside but nothing incredible. Have to say that they had a wide range of breakfast options which was good including a wide range of fruit and western/Asian breakfasts.

We ordered room service two nights and found it very annoying that I had a lovely vegetable curry the first night, ordered it the second (as did my sister since it had been lovely) and then was given a totally different and disgusting curry the second night which was very disappointing.

Lots of outside noise too which was very irritating. We were on third floor (fitness centre level) and were constantly woken up in the early mornings by service carts and I believe there is a staff eating/break area outside next to the room so we were constantly woken up by loud talking and noise from there. Room 307 is one to avoid at all costs but our family members in the other level 3 rooms were also woken,vjust not as much.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor rooms (and ninth if there are rooms there as that is dining level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We loved the balcony we had with our room. Breakfast on the 9th floor was really nice with a great view as well. We booked a few tours through the hotel. We had a private tour to Hoi An which was great but expensive compared to other private tours we did on our trip. The half day city tour was pretty awful. The group was just way too large and we didn't care at all for the buffet style lunch. The tour ended somewhere in the middle of Hue and we had to find our way back to the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. I usually stay in smaller hotels but for a large hotel this wasn't bad at all.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Our's overlooked the street near the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondial Hotel H... V, Assistant Sales Manager at Mondial Hotel Hue, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Anne r
We’re so happy to see your great review to our Hotel via Tripadvisor. I myself had a nice speaking to you & your family the day you checked in & we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
For the private tour to Hoian, although the price is expensive compared to other Travel Agent, but this tour was includes Tax, service charge and travel insurance as well as meal, guide and entrance fees. We have tried to bring to our guest the best service as we can so the car and restaurant in the tour were selected carefully. Our goal is always to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a "holiday inn" at best. I felt like I was in an old hotel with extremely poor lighting. It was fun to have a balcony in our room and a large "bedroom" but that was it. This was my least favorite hotel of our entire trip.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank glennmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are a lot larger than what it says on agoda.We had a city deluxe was 30m 2.Very Clean and comfortable with a view and great buffet breakfast in the rooftop restaurant.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank andreakim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondial Hotel H... V, Assistant Sales Manager at Mondial Hotel Hue, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Andreakim0,
Thank you very much for your great time to write a review. I appreciate your comment, and I do hope that we could continue serving you with our best service. Moreover, I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have different room categories; therefore please rest assured that we will try our best to offer you and all of our guests the most comfortable stays.
Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Your sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over the X'mas holiday. Hue is a small Vietnamese city with an important past and looks like it is just getting on to the tourist bandwagon. That being the case, there aren't actually any international hotel chains present (I believe) so the Mondial is one of the larger hotels around. Was pleasantly surprised; was expecting a smaller outfit but it first came across as clean and modern.

Pros:
- Nice, large rooms. Relatively clean and new, decent though basic amenities
- Nice breakfast spread

Cons:
- Internet was spotty. I had no problems with it on the 7th floor but my sister on the 3rd floor could not get connected at all and the hotel staff was of no help
- Service was enthusiastic, but subpar. Our dinner on the 9th floor cafe took almost an hour to arrive. Room service for an ice cream dessert (and ONLY ice cream), took almost half hour. Language skills were poor. Still, to be fair, they WERE trying
- The spa is a bit dingy. Still, it IS cheap so if you're not too fussed about cleanliness, try it out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Check in was fast and efficient and our luggage was immediately taken up to our room on the third floor. The ride in the glass elevator is an interesting way to look out over Hue. Our room, an executive garden view, was large, the bathroom was a little cramped though. The covered patio was huge, and a nice place to sit with a drink. I had expected to look out over a hotel garden, however, we looked out over other buildings and the street. We appeared to be the only people staying on our floor at the time so it was very quiet and peaceful. The bed was large and comfortable. We had trouble with the in-room safe and phoned reception. Within a minute housekeeping were at our door, we could not fault the service. Breakfast was on the ninth floor and we sat out on the balcony overlooking the city, the choices were not huge but adequate. The hotel is in a quiet area away from the main shopping areas but it was only a few dollars to catch a taxi to main area of the city. Overall a nice place to stay but a little bit removed from everything.

Room Tip: We had an Executive Garden view room on the third floor. It was a large room with a huge undercover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#25 of 125 in Hue
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#24 of 125 in Hue
1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#34 of 125 in Hue
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Green Hotel Hue
Green Hotel Hue
#53 of 125 in Hue
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#22 of 125 in Hue
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondial Hotel Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondial Hotel Hue

Address: 17 Nguyen Hue Street, Hue 008454, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: $37 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondial Hotel Hue 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MONDIAL HOTEL – A REAL LOCAL CHARM IN HUE - ANCIENT CAPITAL OF VIETNAM This modern luxurious hotel, conveniently located in center of Hue city, with major attractions surrounding the area such as the Perfume River, shops, banks, markets, and parks. With 106 spacious, comfortable and luxurious rooms and Suite (including 32 Standard room, 40 Superior rooms, 20 Deluxe city view, 07 Deluxe garden view and 2 Suite River view), The Mondial hotel is designed to appeal to leisure and business travellers. Furthermore, the hotel boasts on-site Perfume river Restaurant and Bar on the top floor with comforting ambience and magnificent views of the Perfume River which serves a combination of authentic local and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mondial Hotel Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing