We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent escape”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our favourite place in Vietnam. The rooms are excellent, the views fantastic - and the facilities are really good. The service was brilliant too.

The one flaw is the food - it is way overpriced and not very good. You are too far to really go anywhere else, so you are a bit stuck, especially if staying for more than a couple of days.

If they sort out the food, this place would be perfect.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    116
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
379
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I actually booked this resort by mistake. We thought it was in Hue, and found out the day of that it was in fact an hour drive away from the city! All I can say is that booking the Vedana Lagoon was the BEST mistake we ever made! The property is perfect for anyone who wants a blend of nature and luxury. The resort is right on a beautiful and calm lagoon, and consists of large modern and luxurious villas which are either on the water or on the land right next to the water. Villas are spaced out well so you have a lot of privacy and are surrounded by nature. Walking around the resort you breathe the air and feel like you are on a camping trip but instead you are staying at a luxury resort! Best of both worlds :) The property is large so bikes are provided in order to get from your villa to the other buildings like the restaurant, lobby, gym, spa etc. The bike rides are short, however, less than 5 minutes, but it is so nice to bike around the place! You can even take the bikes into the small village right outside if you want. Service at this hotel is great, filled with kind and helpful staff. English skills ranged from beginner to advanced and we had no trouble communicating with anyone.

There is one restaurant, which provides breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unless you plan on taking a day trip to Hue (a daily free shuttle is provided) you will be eating all of your meals here. The food is great and the service is impeccable. Options of both Vietnamese and Western food. Next to the restaurant is a gorgeous pool area, which of course is very weather dependent.

In addition to the daily free shuttle to Hue, the resort offers other complimentary services such as kayaking on the lagoon (a must do-so calm and pretty), yoga and tai chi. My husband and I took a yoga class one morning and really enjoyed it.

The one thing to note about this place is that it is a good place to stay for 2-3 nights/ a weekend getaway but because it is so far from the city, eventually it can start to feel a bit monotonous if you are there for too long. Other posts on here have talked about the place being very weather dependent. I would agree that if it rains the whole time you are there, it kind if sucks because you can't enjoy most of what the resort has to offer. That being said, even with some rain and lack of sun on one of our days there we still enjoyed very much.

As you can see I LOVED this place. I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The on-water villas looked amazing, although we really enjoyed our on-land villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokinut_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights in a honeymoon villa.

It's quite a drive from anything, an hour and a half to Danang and under an hour to Hue. But that's just about the only drawback, it's really a place to come and relax and do very little in lovely surroundings. There's almost no noise, barring the occasional chug chug of boats going past or the distant sound of a few trains per day some km away.

As the name suggests, it's on the edge of a lagoon, not really for swimming but they do offer free kayaking. All the rooms and villas get a nice view of the lagoon, along with the mountains ringing it, incredibly relaxing. Resort is perched around the edge, which means a lot of walking, though they provide free bikes or buggy pick up if necessary. It's a pleasure moving around the resort, given the great views. You can also take the bikes out for a jaunt to the neighbouring villages, nice scenery.

The villa was superb, well designed, huge, bright and airy with its own pool. The bed is massive and villa comes with an aircraft hangar sized bathroom and outdoor shower too. Loungers outside, so we had little desire to go elsewhere. Incredibly good value for what you get.

The restaurant was fine, decent range, quality and price wasn't too bad, especially given there's no other choice. Along with everything else, it's next to the lagoon, so enjoys great views. There's a large pool adjacent, with views of the lagoon in two directions and a bar above. Smallish gym and tennis court as well. There were 1 or 2 smaller bars there, but didn't see anyone using them despite this being the Tet holiday period.

Service was great, effortlessly cheerful, friendly and efficient from everyone we came into contact with.

This place is really perfect as a get away from it all type resort, fabulous service and value for what you get. If you need places to go, alternative venues to visit during the day, it's maybe not for you. But we loved it !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This place rocks! We felt like megastars here. We booked an overwater villa for 3 nights. Unbelievably well designed resort. Every villa gets its own villa host who are there to assist with anything you need or want. We commented on how delicious the ginger welcome drink was and our villa host greeted us the next day with a printout of the recipe!
They come at least twice a day to do stuff in your room to make it perfect.
To give you an idea of the size of the bed, I estimate it as 2 doubles side by side....or as I now call it, "the mega king!". From the bed you can look straight out onto the water through a huge side window or through the glass french doors beyond the foot of the bed which open to a large deck with a comfy lounge seat. There is a humongous bath in the inside bathroom as well as a lovely shower and toilet outside. Amazing amazing amazing!!!!!
There isnt a lot to do around so perfect for forced chillouts! We did the yoga which wasnt brilliant but nevertheless will not impact on the 5 star review im giving this place. The breakfast was incredible. Such was the level of customer service here that my vegetarian partner was made special diahes just for her. The waiting staff are exceptional.
We had dinner here each night and the prices were quite good considering they had a monopoly on your dining options.
The bikes are handy but there are golf buggies which transfer you around the resort if you are feeling particularly lazy!
Some people have criticised the level of english language skills of staff at 5 star resorts in vietnam.....these people need to get over themselves....maybe they should try to learn vietnamese! Of course the locals wont speak english as well as you or I but it was never a problem at any of the resorts we stayed at. Well done and thank you vedana....we will return! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Free shuttle bus to the resort. Our room was upgraded to honeymoon villa, probably thanks to the availability of room. The bathroom is huge. The weather is great as well; we are lucky to have the twilight experience early in the morning and see the sunset on the fishing boat.

Must try kayaking, yoga/taichi, sauna because it is awesome. Also gazing at the starry night in the evening is also a memorable experience. Meal is a bit pricey, but it is decent. Staffs are genuinely friendly and supportive.

I would definitely go back to stay longer and try spa there.

Travel in Jan 2014

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa with private pool is perfect and worth it. Ask for free shuttle bus from and to Hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuan1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Before arrival we ordered transfer from airport (not the cheapest option), after 2 hours drive we arrive to Vedana and first thing we heard, when we got out car was "TIP,TIP" instead of welcome or something. We checked in our room (honeymoon villa) and when we entered villa there were fresh fruits on table - half of them was eaten and table was messy. 15 minutes later I saw animal running around in room. I though it was rat but thank got it was squirrel. Then we went to dinner, order 2 different pastas - we hoped to get good food after long traveling. But what we got was moldy penne with sauce - no kidding! The taste was awful - pasta was totally over the expiry date!

There were moldiness smell all over the room, cheats were humid etc..
We were suppose to stay 4 nights but the experience was that bad that we order a cab next morning and left. When we were back at airport taximeter showed one number but taxi driver wanted 150 000 dongs more. We tried to explain that we pay as much taximeter shows, then he gave us the phone - oder side was hotel. They told that they always have fixed rate to airport, no matter what taximeter shows. But of course they didn't mentioned it to us when we left from hotel.

Can't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liisa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhoaL187, Manager at Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Liisa09,

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay at Vedana Lagoon through TripAdvisor. I genuinely regret that you and your partner had such an disappointing experience in our hotel although we did not create a beginning like that.

What a shame and feel shock after reading the words. Our man ( we call villa host ) welcome your husband first ( we picked you up from Da Nang airport ) and asked ‘’ HOW WAS YOUR TRIP ? ‘’ but it seemed that it was not well understood then he asked both of you again with above sentence then you understood and replied ‘’ very good ‘’.

All staffs from Villa Host have this question when guest return from a tour/pick-up... Should we continue using this sentence or stop or change ?

Hotel location is very close to nature, villas are designed on both water and mountain.
Some popular animals here like porcupine or squirrel in your case, .... may come to mountainous villas to look for fruits. I hope that you can save the image of the small squirrel as an exciting experience.

Your room are the one always occupied so it is often heated....and the area just went through a severe weather condition. But our rooms are still being kept under good condition.However, we will check the smell of cajuput oil from the housekeeping that they use to refresh the room.

It is location that we have to be very careful in handling car/transportation to and fro destinations from hotel car or taxi. Again, the ending is that hotel called a taxi for you and we contracted the number 1 taxi in Hue a fix price. Many guests want fixed price, many guests don’t but as you said this staff forgot to tell you.

Lasting, after seeing you left a half dish of pasta from room service, I did remind this to our kitchen at once and this is our sincere apologies for their cooking and food preparation.

We are very sorry for anything that was not up to your expectations and our team are sure to have an unforgetable lesson.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any inquiries.

Best regards,


Khoa le Quang/Mr.

Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

WOW...what a wonderful place this is. We arrived late in the evening but were still amazed even in the dark. Stayed in a Aqua room on the lagoon and cannot fault it. Apparently had the only room with a glass floor (villa 2) and loved that we could see the lagoon at the base of our bed. Was winter but with inverter air con in the room was heated the whole time we were there.
Food was great, restaurant has a great menu with variety. Could not fault any meal we had over the 3 nights we stayed.
Staff were fantastic, anything we wanted they supplied and all staff were friendly. Loved that we were supplied with push bikes to get around the resort or could call for a cart to shuttle us around.
Resort is spread over a large area and you hardly notice anyone else in the resort. Had a massage at the inhouse spa and could not find fault again.
Will be returning in the summer when we can enjoy the pool and other facilities and can't wait.
You are a bit remote but as I was aware of this and was a choice to stay and recharge in this resort this was not a problem.
Would recommend this resort to anyone that loves great service, peaceful surroundings, good food and magnificent rooms as the Aqua villas are huge.

Room Tip: Aqua rooms are amazing, in particular villa 2 as has the glass floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
20.9 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#10 of 120 in Hue
1,264 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#16 of 120 in Hue
885 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#25 of 120 in Hue
1,492 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: Zone 1, Phu Loc Town, Phu Loc District, Hue 8454, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
#6 Family Hotel in Hue
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedana Lagoon Hotel Hue
Vedana Lagoon Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing