We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INDOCHINE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“INDOCHINE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

great resort. Chic but not arrogant. great view. great pool. great rooms. very good food with accessible price : easy to eat with prices between 20 to 30 euros . very smart service. the spa is obviously affordable : 30 euros for 1,5 hours of massage. Rooms are nicely designed...
one small detail that may astonish...toilets are outside the bungalow...but no big deal...its safe clean and private...

Room Tip: rooms on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    106
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
102
341
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my new favourite resort! Confession - as we were only there for 2 days we didn't actually make it into Hue, which is the perfect excuse to go back. The resort and surroundings are so peaceful and beautiful you don't ever want to leave. The Spa treatments are well priced for such a top range resort, the bungalows out on the water are very romantic, with the giant stone bath, huge vanity & outdoor shower. The infinity pool was gorgeous, overlooking the lagoon. Plenty of activities if you want to do something other than eat Hue Rice Patties (delicious) and drink through the cocktail list by the pool (the Cosmopolitan is unique and tasty! reasonably priced, even when compared with Saigon). Fishing off your villa's deck, kayaking, badminton, tennis, volleyball its all available depending on how energetic you are. Not to mention the bikes provided to get around (which they'd even adjusted to the right height). The only downfall is that its quite a way out of the city, taxi's are pricey for the distance and, if you can tear yourself away from paradise, the free shuttle provided is a full day trip. I will definitely be finding an excuse to get back there for longer!

Room Tip: Villa 2 is the only one with a glass floor for the lagoon, but watch out for Kayaker's ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Vedana Resort is a VERY beautiful impressive resort and spa, with almost a minimalist architectural feel. My room #11 was PALATIALLY huge.. bathrooms the nice of a big size NYC apartment..a bathtub to die for, gorgeous shower into little pebbles, a Xtra large More than king sized bed pounced on a huge wood platform.. my entrance hall was something you could have roller bladed in, had a side office, lounge area, Big screen TV, ceilings that soared and yet, in the dead of winter it was easy to heat up in a flash before bed. Gigantic window onto a private terrace overlooking the gorgeous rive and view, out the bathroom door I had a little path that opened onto a large swimming pool and deck charm area which I shared with my best friends in the vill next door (their's was #12 and thought still as large as mine, the floor plan was totally different and decorated in a more intimate and romantic way. The receptions saw they were a couple and gave them the romantic one. theirs had a huge dressing area behind the Extra more than Kingsize bed, which was in a canopy ned format unlike mine which was up on a platform. Their desk area was in the room. just a different layout, just as nice.. We felt like we had two connecting villas with a very nice private pool area and two huge private terraces that were covered in case it rained.

I used the spa facilities and had the most amazing 2 hour treatment with Hang, ( the prettiest tiny but very strong Vietnamese masseuse) a Body scrub ( green tea) followed by a hot shower then rose oil massage and scalp treatment! The spa is like a floating spa village, built on Stilts, with an impressive brigade to go there - I went at 7 pm in the dark with the full moon and lit pathway up to a Spa entrance complete with beautiful Buddha sculpture and friendly staff… then walked around the moon lit spa corridors that overhung the tranquil river below…

I ate a delicious dinner in the beautiful column filled dining area - Had probably the best sea bass on my entire trip. Staff couldn't be friendlier here in the restaurant area = both at night and in the mornings with a wonderful breakfast.
The staff was lovely everywhere, from the bell hops to the people who drive you around in little buggies if you don't want to walk, to the receptionists or the odd gardener you cross paths with, everyone is delicate, discreet but warm and friendly if you speak with them.

I especially loved and must comment about the room again and the extra large oversized over king size bed.. I've never seen sheets come bigger than 220 cm but this bed must have been 250cm in width and had sheets at least 300 cm! No seams.. I and a wonderful soft cotton! A electric water kettle and free tea bags made for relaxing evenings in the room. The bathtub which is one of those enormous freestanding architectural digest type baths had gorgeous "american standard" faucet and plenty of hot water to fill the entire tub ( something rare in hotels even with normal size tubs) so thank you Vedena for that!
Amenities abounded!
plentiful big ceramic pump dispensers with nice products ( including a very interesting black shampoo which I loved!) instead of those ridiculous tiny plastic bottles, that you always wind up fighting with to get anything out of them. Bravo Vedana.

The River is just gorgeous, especially in the morning and evening when it looks dream ilk and half there or not there.. like you are suspended over something untamable.. extremely romantic and inspiring. In the morning you could see canoes go buy with fishermen, or local people gathering up kelp.. the whole place is extremely well kept and attention to detail is in everything from the huge umbrellas they give you to the perfect umbrella holder when you get to your destination.. non slip little mats going up stars.. i mean truly - someone is obviously running this place very well. The lobby is dreamy - again column filled and soaring ceilings and a nice contemporary art gallery is off to one side.

I have to warn visitors that it's far from Town, But taxis are so inexpensive it doesn't matter, and town itself is not so much something you "need" to be close to as you can arrange all excursions from the hotel to the Tombs and Pagodas - but do visit the town at least one day so you can walk around the citadel and forbidden purple city which they are lovingly restoring.. When I visited Hue, it was January and devoid of tourists and total BLISS to be able to walk around so many impressive world heritage sites without any tacky tourist blocking your view! That was pure luxury! Thank you Vedana.. I loved the experience and shall definitely recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePerfecti0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a belated Honeymoon in December. I'm not usually a resort person but this place is truly special. The surroundings are beautiful and the bungalows on the water couldn't be more romantic, with huge four poster beds, gorgeous views and a big bath. I was a little bit surprised by the semi outdoor shower and toilet at first but it's actually quite nice to shower outside and it's completely private (going to the toilet at night can be a little bit scary though -).

Our hostess Lan was really lovely and so was the rest of the staff, nothing is too much trouble for them.

If you're staying for a few days I'd recommend you do a day of sight seeing in Hue (the hotel provides a shuttle that drops you off at 9.30am and picks you up at 3.30pm). The royal tombs are well worth a visit even if it means leaving the resort for a day!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotternz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed over christmas for a week to slack-off after 2 weeks of travels - and slack off you can, but I expect close to perfect for the typ of money one needs to spend full price/high season.


Nicely situated - but no beach and you cannot swim in the lagoon. Not that you would want to!

Stylish - could nevertheless do with a few touch-ups here and there. Lighting?

Spacious - yes

Service - I have the distinct feeling that the taste of service most guests expect, and what staff are tought to do, are on opposite trajectories! Everywhere; with very few exceptions! Either too attentive or eyes-shut-open. And language is a problem after 7 nights....

Food - I would expect something that would sweep me off my feet. At least once! Something a little memorable. No, unfortunately not. All too cooked-to-please-tourists.

Drinks - definitely on the 'spensive side of life, but import wines weren't actually that bad

Sport - all free: tennis (good court!) Table tennis (good bats!), Kayak, Billiards, Kicker, Yoga, Tai Chi

To sum it up: not for the money. At full price you are paying a lot of money, that in Europe, and almost anywhere else in the world, will buy you a fair bit. In Vietnam it has got to buy you an exceptional experience!

A lot of potential, but as we also explained to the manager, just having a good hotel and eager staff doesn't do the trick alone.

If your travelling by Hue, stop off for a night or two if you can get a good discount and just enjoy the great villas in the Lagoon to relax, read and enjoy the silence - for that they are great

Room Tip: Honeymoon Villa is great if you want to drop your kit - Lagoon Villas not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay in an over-water bungalow. Huge bathroom with beautiful marble bathtub allowing scenic view over lagoon and fishing boats. Only thing we didn't really like about the room was the outdoor toilet. We appreciated the free bicycles they give you to get around the property.

Very attentive and friendly staff, though here as all over Vietnam, English communication is a bit of a challenge. Very nice breakfast buffet and free daily Tai Chi and Yoga classes make it a special experience. We also enjoyed an excellent foot massage at the spa.

Recommended for those who seek quiet pampering off the beaten path. It's about an hour's drive to Hue airport and town.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the water bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Only can describe this place in a couple of words Heaven on Earth. The location is fantastic, quite and peaceful. Views of the mountains and lagoon are wonderful. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive and treated you more like family than a guest. The honeymoon pool villa is extremely spacious, with simple elegant decor. The bathroom is enormous with free standing shower and huge stone bathtub. Beds are very comfy for a good nights rest. The private pool with sun chairs is exquisite. You can even opt to have an outdoor shower if you want to be even closer to nature. Cleanliness is excellent and they provide insect oil burner to stop the insects inside the villas. The restaurant food was lovely, good selection of foods at good prices. We even had a private dinner arranged overlooking the lagoon, was absolutely magical and the staff were fantastic at arranging every detail even down to a special request for sea bass curry that we asked for. Enjoy the bike rides around the resort, the kids loved riding around and we even rode to the local market and around the village. The pool was absolutely amazing, enjoy a drink in the pool bar (literally bar stools in the pool).

This place is real value for money, staff and facilities world class. We will definitely be back to enjoy the lovely staff and luxury resort at Vedana.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samank74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
21.8 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel
20.9 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#11 of 122 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ana Mandara Hue
Ana Mandara Hue
#30 of 122 in Hue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
21.6 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: Zone 1, Phu Loc Town, Phu Loc District, Hue 8454, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
#6 Family Hotel in Hue
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedana Lagoon Hotel Hue
Vedana Lagoon Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing