We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixture”
Review of DMZ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DMZ Hotel
Ranked #54 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling to Hue for last 5 years. This place appears to be a local fixture and magnet in backpackers district. Location is great with many outdoor tables on corner intersection; indoor bar w multiple tvs too. Wait staff very attentive and friendly. Many options for beers and drinks. Food is nothing special; pretty typical western bar fare. Music good. Wifi available . Very fun place to hang out. Will be back next time I swing through Hue.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Leo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

good clean big cheap rooms i stayed here for 4 weeks and they gave me a spiecal price becuase i was a long termer the hotel is well located near bars restruants the staff are friendly and always greet you and have a nice smile when you walk in

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamish_537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Good clean rooms bata for price great friendly staff very helpfull good location see Ngoc very helpfull good information reasonable english our room was a good size with balcony overlooking street with glimpses of river.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in January 2014. Hotel is reasonably priced, well located near all the restaurants and bars in Hué, staff are courteous and not tour pushy. They arranged a tour and onward travel to Hoi-an. They also offered a very reasonably priced laundry service
The hotel though is very dated and rooms in need of a refurb. My room 101 had a faint stink of cigarette smoke from it, a bit on the damp side and poorly lit. Some of the light bulbs in the bathroom were blown. Room not very well soundproofed and street noise was a problem from 6am onwards. Free wifi was provided, but the room also had an old computer which I didn't use. Overall, fine for a short stay, but there's better around for the same money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street outside due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmzhotelmanager, General Manager at DMZ Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Philip Griffin
I would like to thank you for choosing DMZ hotel during your recent visit to Hue and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor as it provides us with direct feedback that we can improve our product and service.

Being a Manager, I apologized for what make you not satisfied during your staying here, you know we're trying our best to bring the best care to all guests who coming staying with us so we have made a big renovation for all rooms in the hotel and make sure it will not happen again, we have a change clearly day by day to meet yours and people's expectation. It's is great to hear that you have placed specific positive feedback upon the hotel services and our staffs. Kindly accept our gratitude for being understanding.

Finally, we hope the experience will not alter your confidence in DMZ hotel and that please give us the opportunity of welcoming you again to see how different we are.
Warmest Regards,
Kham Nguyen, Mr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Upon arrival at this hotel, I had an unfortunate incident with a taxi driver who ripped me off. The man behind the desk who I later found out was the owner of the hotel, called the company of the taxi driver and we worked it out. Than I received my second surprise of the day: the hotel could not fulfill my booking, The hotel was overbooked. I was put in another hotel for the day which was not as good as the DMZ. But both the manager and hotel owner went out of their way to carry my bags and offered me their apologies. To make up for this unpleasant event, the owner took me by car to my next destination, Hoi An which was about 30 minutes by car. On the way, the owner who spoke excellent English told me about his life and lots of info. on Vietnam. I realized how difficult it is to run a hotel, and it is not easy by any stretch on the imagination. I will remember DMZ hotel most not for the friendly staff or quiet/spacious rooms which I stayed in later for two nights-but the kindness of the owner of the hotel ( a certain Mr. Lee).

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river. You can see the sky line of Hue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gottfried S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Superion option for travelers with low budget and great expectations :-)
Clean big rooms, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, great location :-)

We were also given a voucher for 10% discount in DMZ bar located nearby - also recommended (was getting sick of eating vietnamese food all the time and this was a great opportunity for me to have some western food - finally) :-) of course, they serve vietnamese cuisine, too.
Recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jithuzska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Arrived here from Phng Nha Farmstay, who recommended it. Close enough to the backpacker area without being in it. Reasonable rate to hire a motorbike (Manual 100,000 VND per day) too. The rooms were clean, large with good wifi. They were happy to negotiate a price for the rooms as I wanted a cheaper one but they didn't have any on the first night. Gave me a suite for $25 and changed to a cheaper room the second night. Good value, enthusiastic, friendly staff. Can't say fairer than that. They even sent me an email thanking me for my stay and wishing me a good onward journey.

Room Tip: Suites have a balcony and you can see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuangzhouQuietStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunny C Hotel
Sunny C Hotel
#61 of 125 in Hue
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#30 of 125 in Hue
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai Binh Hotel 2
Thai Binh Hotel 2
#44 of 125 in Hue
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeland Hotel Hue
Homeland Hotel Hue
#60 of 125 in Hue
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#33 of 125 in Hue
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canary Hotel
Canary Hotel
#51 of 125 in Hue
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DMZ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DMZ Hotel

Address: 21 Doi cung, Hue 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 125 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: $19 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DMZ Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 21 Doi Cung str., Hue city, DMZ hotel is at the heart of Hue city near the famous Trang Tien Bridge, and the romantic Perfume River. DMZ Hotel offers easy access to shopping centers, historical places, as well as food courts and entertainment areas around Hue city. At DMZ Hotel you can expect a modern interior decoration, as well an enthusiastic and professional staff eager to serve you. There are 40 luxurious morden rooms with full equipment. Some have computer and private balcony. There is also a LCD television equipped in every room with more than 50 satelliteBest Rate Guaranteed - DMZ Hotel channels including sports and football channels. There is WiFi available all throughout the building. We also have magnetic locks installed to help ensure your privacy. We also provide many other services upon your request. Your satisfaction is our success ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DMZ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing