We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, reasonable food and nice staff.”
Review of DMZ bar

DMZ bar
Ranked #23 of 311 Restaurants in Hue
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Bar, European, Asian, Pub, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: If you want to drink during your time in Hue, than the DMZ Bar is the place to stay. We are open from 7 am until 2:30 am for drinks and 7 am until midnight for food.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, reasonable food and nice staff.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited the DMZ bar on a number of occasions while visiting Hue. It has a great atmosphere, where you can listen to music, chill and have a few beers, play pool for free and even watch the football. The staff are helpful and friendly, welcoming us back each time we returned. It was a great place to go to escape the chaos of outside, street sellers etc. The food isn't amazing, but it's nice enough for the price. The have a lot of drinks offers on which is great and the local beer is cheap as chips. Worth a trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelchicka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    732
    256
    67
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and polite staff”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We didn't want to eat at a place with to many tourists, but we finally did. We didn't regret it. Our food was very good. A had a big tuna salade. We also met friends who we met in Cat Ba. We had some beers and played pool. Staff is very polite and speaks English.
They serve food till 12 am.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“One of the few places open til late”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hue is a small countryside town without many bars/clubs open til late - this is one of these few places (only 5-6 places I guess) in the city.

It is located in the area with many cheap hotels (=Pham Ngu Lao street). Loud music on 1F and bigger tables and terrace seats on 2F.

Cocktails are not good and not recommended, so stick to beer and other pre-bottled drinks - except wines (not good selection).

It is packed with foreign tourist every night and is a good meeting point. Other bars and clubs (e.g., Brown Eyes, Why Not?, Octopusssy, etc.) are all in a walking distance, so you can start from this bar, go around, and enjoy other places as well. This place does not have a dance floor so if you wanna shake your body, walk down to either Brown Eyes or Octopusssy.

This place has nothing special, but precious in Hue as there are not many places to go in the late night for drink!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun bar, especially to meet fellow backpackers”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a great night meeting new friends at DMZ Bar. Fun crowd with good music and staff that is ready to bring you another drink as soon as you're empty. The pizza is amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing after a hard days touring”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a great find this place was. After our first day checking out the interesting places in Hue, we came across this place conveniently located on a corner of one of the main streets. Ushered up to the balcony by a friendly staff member we sat at a table looking down on the passing traffic with a coldie firmly clasped in our hands. Staff a very friendly helped by their command of the English language which is far better than my Vietnamese. Deciding to eat there we were presented with a huge menu which fitted all tastes. The food was excellent and so was the banter with the staff, who whilst being unatrusive, tended to our needs. A free pool table upstairs added to a great time at this place. We drank and ate here 2 times and were welcomed as regulars! Recommend this place. Hint. The staff were very attentive so a decent tip was in order. If you want to do this give it to them in private while the "boss" isn't looking. He's a nice bloke too but they have to hand him their tip. Palm it while shaking their hand usually works. LOL He probably reads this, double LOL.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deloobetrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DMZ bar also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to DMZ bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing