We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Zanka, Hungary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It's called friendly and I think it really was! Staff was very friendly all the time, we got a free pickup from the train station (for a deluxe room) and the breakfast was perfect! We liked the location, rented a bike and also a scooter once day, but even on foot it was not too far from any main attraction. For such a low price (around 23$ per night) it is the perfect choice in Hué!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlakiszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Perlakiszab,

Thank you for your staying at the Than Thien Friendly Hotel, Hue city, Vietnam. We very much appreciate your words of praise and would thank you for taking time to share them on TripAdvisor.
As you know, since the first day I learned English the question that I very often used to ask whenever bumping into a foreigner was: “What do you think about Vietnamese people?”, which was always responded as “Friendly” (mean Thân Thiện). Ten years late, I named my hotel after one of Vietnamese people’s characteristics, “Thân Thiện - Friendly”. Specifically working out the explanation for “Thân Thiện”, which means “Friendly”, together with the staff we have spent years doing research on this, and we have always borne in our mind the meaning “Thân Thiện – Friendly” so as to express our character in the right way throughout our customer service.
We are very happy when you be happy.
Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you to indulge you with more of our Than Thien Friendly Hotel, when you visit Hue city again in the near future. Please write to me at email: xthuy64@gmail.com. Have a nice trip, good health and happy.
Mr. THUY - Hotel's Owner / Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    233
    60
    12
    13
See reviews for
69
460
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved our stay at Than Thien. We were staying in a deluxe room so they picked us up from where our bus from Hoi An dropped us off. I didn't even know where we were getting dropped off, but I just told them the name of our bus company and their driver was waiting for us!

Clean room and one of the best breakfast buffets I have had in SE Asia. There's a counter where you can order eggs however you like!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbeard80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear our valued guest Redbeard80,

Thank you for your staying at the Than Thien Friendly Hotel, Hue city, Vietnam. We very much appreciate your words of praise and would thank you for taking time to share them on TripAdvisor.
It is heartening to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, buffet breakfast, friendly and helpful staff... Yes, we offer FREE pick guests up from Train or Bus station if Guests booked DELUXE ROOM. There are many bus companies to Hue, each bus company has different bus stop, so guest have to give us "the name of bus company" we will know place and time to pick guest up with guest name welcome board. We have always tried to provide our customers with the best services and receive the least possible amount of money to make them satisfied.
Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you to indulge you with more of our Than Thien Friendly Hotel, when you visit us again in the near future. Please write to me at email: xthuy64@gmail.com. Have a nice trip, good health and happy.
Mr. THUY - Hotel's Owner / Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

After 10h trip by train from Hanoi we found a very pleasant surprise in the form of this hotel. The nicest and most helpful staff, quite an extremly nice! ;) Very good standard of rooms and bathrooms. Good breakfasts. We would definitely recommend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice central location and very friendly staff. I spent 3 nights here (think it was around $20), room was spacious and clean. Ok the window looked out to a wall but that didn't really bother me and what do you expect for 20 usd. Breakfast was pretty good too. Some noise from the corridors due to hard floors but the other guests/staff were generally courteous

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is greatly located and the staff is very nice and helpful. They would greet us by name when we were coming in or going out! Our room had no window but was clean and comfortable - for the price we paid (15$) a great value and a delicious breakfast buffet was included.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Great value. This was the cheapest accommodation we stayed at in Vietnam. We stayed 2 nights and paid $23 a night for a deluxe double room. And for my money this was the best bargain, bar a JetStar flight, of our holiday.
Our deluxe room was on the 4th floor. No 407, I think. We had a window in our room (hint: book a deluxe room) which, if you lent out 2 foot, gave a view of the Perfume River, air conditioning, tv, mini bar and large, firm but comfy bed. The fixtures and fittings in our room were of good quality: marble tiled floors; solid wood doors with serious hinges; the best bathroom of our three and a half week tour: proper shower, good control and serious water pressure. And as for the grouting and the fitting of the shower door I cannot reach praise enough.
Don't get me wrong I'm not saying this place is stylish: it's not. If you've set your heart on a boutique hotel then don't come because this is a western commercial hotel. The next place we stayed at turned out to be all fur coat and no knickers; this place is all substance and little style. It's a top notch commercial hotel. I've stayed at worse 4 stars than this.
They have a smart reception area, all in marble, good receptionists, quick laundry, good breakfasts and, I'm sure but I did not use them, good contacts for tours.
On top of all that is a decent location, only 2 streets away from La Carambole, a very good restaurant if you stick to the Vietnamese food, (steer clear of the tarte citron - it's an egg custard with a lemon wafted over it).
Hue was one of the cheaper locations in our tour, but at $23 a night this was a great place to stay: safe, secure, clean and comfortable.
Overall I cannot praise this place enough. Recommended wholeheartedly but do get a room with a window, if not a view. How much are you saving without one?

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iandacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights in January 2014 and booked into a Superior room. Not too sure why other reviewers raved so much about this hotel. Unless they stayed in a deluxe room which I can't make any comments.

Overall here is a summary:

Pros:
Good buffet breakfast for a cheap 2 star hotel
Room is clean and comfortable
Affordable price. Although Hue is one of the cheapest place in Vietnam, so nothing is special about this

Cons
We were in Hue in January so the weather is a bit cool (12-20 degrees C). Our room has no heating which can be a bit cold at night.
Worst shower, there is less than 3 minutes of hot water. What worse is It takes 30sec to adjust the water temperature, so really, one has to be pretty fast to jump and out.
No window in the room, but it is not a major point that would put us off.

Overall, I would not stay here again, as I have stayed in other 2 stars hotel in Hue (hue Guest House) which is only around the corner from this place (20 m). Hue Guest House is in the ally but is better in value for money than the Friendly hotel (please read my previous review).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Global_travel7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 120 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 120 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Property: Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing