We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap and luxurious”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are backpacking and booked a standard room on agoda. When we arrived it was from the sleeper train from Hanoi so was quite early in the morning and our room wasn't ready for checking in, so we were offered but not pressured into an upgrade to the luxury room for $2 a night more. Having read reviews on here that had already mentioned this happening I gathered this was a ploy to get us to pay more, so (initially at least) we said we would wait. After waiting in the lobby for 20 minutes, thinking it over however we did decide on upgrading as we figured it was only such a small amount and still LOADS cheaper than the walk in rate, and we were desperate to get showered and on our way to visiting the sites, but just bear this in mind.

Having said that the staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful, always cheery and speak excellent English. There are even signs up around the hotel (presumably) prompting staff to be attentive to the guests needs which is good to see as at times in SE Asia you almost feel as though some staff couldn't give a 'proverbial'. The room itself was amazing for the price we ended up paying. The A/C crispy cool, the bed probably the most comfortable we've slept on in Vietnam, the bathroom clean and well kept with more than enough free toiletries for us, and the wifi super fast.

One thing I have to point out is that you end up wasting a lot of your morning time on the boat tour to the tombs (operated by DMZ bar), as we ended up waiting around for the tour guide until almost 11am at the first attraction (a very unremarkable waste of time called Garden House) whilst the boat driver slept and didn't speak much English, before we got to the Pagoda. Having said that the tour picked up in the afternoon with a decent guide. Just check your options before deciding - it ended up that we had also been waiting for other tourists to join us on the boat from a separate tour of the Citadel in the morning so this might be an option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear our valued guest - Jodin_82,

Thank you for staying at the Than Thien Friendly Hotel, Hue, and we very much appreciate your words of praise and would thank you for taking time to share them on TripAdvisor.

It is heartening to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, ambiance and services offered. You spent much time to write down some things about us, such as detail like "Pay attention to guest needs sign". Wow, thank you very much! As you know I have been to UK to study business need management so I understand about how to make customers satisfy. Our all staff try their best to give guests good solution such as Buffet Breakfast has more than 25 dishes of foods and drinks; Check-in early as deal, promotion...

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you to indulge you with more of our Than Thien Friendly Hotel, when you visit us again in the near future. Please write to me at xthuy64@gmail.com. Have a nice trip, good health and happy.
Mr. THUY - Hotel Manager/ Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    235
    61
    12
    13
See reviews for
69
463
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights back in July. The hotel is in a pretty good location, a bit of a walk to the citadel but well situated for bars and restaurants.

The hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast was included but was just okay.

Staff are friendly, but spent too long trying to persuade us to pay more for a better room. They showed us both options, despite us saying that we were happy with our standard option. After being shown both, we still opted for our original price/room, but they ended up upgrading us anyway! Upgraded room was very nice though.

Would I stay here again? Probably!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear our valued guest - Sadie G,

Thank you for staying at the Than Thien Friendly Hotel, Hue, and we very much appreciate your words of praise and would thank you for taking time to share them on TripAdvisor.

It is heartening to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, ambiance and services offered. As you know our staff tried to sell upgrade package, it is only 2$ to 4$ more with very good Deluxe room. We try our best to give guests good solution too. Our staff always work hard to make guests be happy and satisfy and to achieve 5* on TripAdvisor.

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you to indulge you with more of our Than Thien Friendly Hotel, when you visit us again in the near future. Please write to me at xthuy64@gmail.com. Have a nice trip, good health and happy.
Mr. THUY - Hotel Owner / Manager / Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our stay at the Than Thien hotel was just perfect! We slept there two nights in a wonderful, large and luxury room. The included breakfast every morning was very nice, lots of choice and fresh. We also rented a motorbike at the hotel and made a tour to the tombs and the imperial city! Thanks Than Thien staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Middlesex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Than Thien Friendly Hotel is located close to the banks of the Perfume River to the north of the city, and certainly lives up to the 'friendly' in the title. A very warm welcome (and cool air con) awaits, and check in is swift. The rooms are well appointed with plenty of space, comfortable beds, thick curtains, a decent sized shower (hot!) and robust free wi-fi throughout the building.

The hotel is about a ten minute cab ride from the train station, and a cab to the Citadel takes about seven minutes - of course, these estimates are governed by traffic conditions and not distance, although fares are very cheap! Restaurants and bars are numerous and only a five minute walk round the corner but the hotel is far enough away not to encounter unwanted late night noise.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and consists of varied (western and oriental) buffet style fayre, with eggs cooked to order - as others have commented though, beware the early morning crowing of the cock if you don't want to be first to the table! I thought this added an air of authenticity to the place but I never travel without earplugs, so it wasn't a problem!

Stop trawling and book now!

Room Tip: All well appointed - lift is not the quickest but who is in that much of a hurry? And there are sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Most striking is how friendly the staff is everybody is all smiles and willing to help with e everything. I don't know whether he selects his employees by their incredibly friendly nature or whether he trains them extremely hard to get them this friendly- I just enjoyed it. The hotel in general is in good and clean I and I loved the breakfast there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrimaCausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It may not have a pool or gym or sauna but the service is excellent and its worth twice the rate that they charge. Bed was extremely comfortable in the deluxe room. Highly recommended. The buffet breakfast alone was worth USD 5 per pax but was thrown in together with the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HiFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went to Hue for 4 days and had the absolute pleasure of staying in this hotel. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated like you are staying in a five star hotel.

The rooms are simply amazing value, clean, new and comfortable. The bathrooms are new and have wonderful shower facilities. As the normal in Vietnam don't expect rain showers or anything just the normal hand showers, but the water is hot and plentiful.

The owner Mr. NGUYEN XUAN THUY is a wonderful man to talk to and hear is story it is inspiring what he has done during his life to rise from such adversity to having the most wonderful hotel in Hue.

The reception staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is a problem for them. From the welcome drink when you arrive to the water you are given when you leave they have one goal - to make your stay in Hue memorable and as hassle free as possible.

Special mention to Trang who I gave my hat to (it suited you very well) you made me laugh everyday with your wicked sense of humour.

The absolute highlight of my stay here was the Tea & Talk program that Mr. NGUYEN XUAN THUY runs at the hotel during the evening. This program is his initiative that helps local students practice their speaking English. I signed up straight away and spent the most enjoyable hour (I wish it could have lasted longer) speaking to a group of six students exchanging local knowledge of Hue and the Vietnemese culture, while they asked questions about my work and my way of life in Australia.

If you have any interest in spending time with locals and getting away from the tourist attractions, I could not recommend this any more - it is a must do and is free it will only cost you your time.

The transfer from the bus station to the hotel at only 50000VND is good value even though just around the corner it is nice to have someone waiting for you with your name amongst the hustle and bustle of taxi drivers and other hotel employees trying to get your business. I was in the car and at the hotel before I knew it.

The breakfast is lovely and is the typically Vietnemese buffet style with western options if you so desire (not sure why you would want western food while in Vietnam but each to their own).

This was my fourth time to Vietnam and I would without a doubt say this is the best hotel I have stayed in, value for money, service, atmosphere and just down right friendliness as the Hotel name says you cannot beat it.

I paid $68AU for 4 days of absolute pleasure and that included 2 lots of laundry, drinks from the mini-bar, transfer and a late 4pm checkout (you need to request this). Try getting that kind of value in Australia it would be impossible!

This hotel has recently one a 2013 Trip Advisor award and for very good reason, don't think of staying anywhere else in Hue, it's close to all the historic attractions, close to DMZ bar (the main foreigner bar in town) if you want a party night and street food galore is on the doorstep.

To everyone at Than Thein Hotel (you deserve to win awards year after year) thank- you for an inspiring and wonderful stay. It is a memory of Vietnam that will stay with me for the rest of my life - it is not often that you can say that about a hotel stay.

5 Stars all the way *****

Mr Rick.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a window so if u want a window you should request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RickTeasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Canary Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 120 in Hue
2,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#20 of 120 in Hue
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 120 in Hue
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Property: Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing