We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, friendly, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spotless, friendly, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Agree with most comments: excellent value, new, rooms on the back new section are nice and quiet. Reception were really helpful.

Room Tip: new rear section rooms are quiet. But it is on a fairly quiet road anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review, we always try our best to server guests good service.
Have good trip, take care.
mr.Thuy - Manager and owner of hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    231
    60
    11
    13
See reviews for
68
455
103
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. All is great and the price is very low for what you get.
There is free wifi in the hotel.
The breakfast is great.
The room is very beautiful, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is perfect.

There was just a small problem when we arrived. Our booking didn't seem to be on their list. But anyway, they had a room for us.

The hotel is very well located near the river and in the area with all restaurants.

Room Tip: There are rooms with no window to the outside but to the internal hall. If it's a problem for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and ideas, we will try to resolve this such as your booking on the list.
Best regards,
mr. Thuy - Manager and Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Excellent hotel, lives up to its name. Great, clean and spacious rooms at a reasonable price. Very helpful and accommodating. Good value for money. Breakfast was sparse but tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dausua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear sir/madam,
Thank you very much for your review..
We try our best to give guest reasonable price, good behavious.
Have nice trip, good health.
mr. Thuy - Manager and Owner of Than Thien Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A nice clean modern hotel with a good location and helpful staff – basically what you would expect in a Western city but for a very cheap price!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Than Thien Hotel in Hue is a fine little concrete block of hotel. Most reviewers give it more credit than it deserves.

For less than $20 a night it is good value. The desk staff have good attitudes, but they only have so much to play with. Hue itself is a good stop for a day or two, no more.

The room itself is uninspired. Ours is #302 and has no window. A concrete box with stained walls, a 10+ year old Samsung 13 inch tele and mini fridge that keeps little cool and nothing frozen. Bathroom and aminities are very basic.

I am ok with staying here for the value vs. price, but am miffed with TA and Agoda members for hyping the place. Current Agoda rates it 8.6. Rediculous. This hotel deserves a 6 and a ++ for value.

For heavens sake, there is a smashed tile in the middle of this small room with fragments inbedded. "8.6"', have Agoda members lost their critical senses in their love of pho and spring rolls?

Room Tip: Not 302 for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear EdwardBali,

Thank you very much for your real review.
As you know, thank to your review I have changed Old TV with 32 inches Modern LCD TV in rest last 10 rooms of my Hotel already . They have very good signal now.
If you have chance to come back Hue, please visit my hotel and have look first to decide staying with us.
Every thing is OK now I think.
Have a good trip, lucky and successful.
Please write to me at xthuy64@gmail.com.
Thank you very much.
mr. THUY - Hotel Manager/Owner - 84913425306.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Clean new rooms. People were very lovely and helpful. Great breakfast! And close to restaurants, sightseeing spots.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

At $44 for 2 nights couldn't go wrong. Service at breakfast a little tardy but overall the staff couldn't be more helpful, eg, org of fixed price taxi to tombs & pagodas for the day 500k dong! Plus it's near streets full of galleries, restaurants & bars. Oh it is affected when Perfume River bursts its banks!! Otherwise use it

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.5 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#8 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Property: Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing