We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning modern takes on Vietnamese classics”
Review of Le Parfum

Le Parfum
Ranked #23 of 314 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $200
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Food is a passion at La Residence. At Le Parfum talented Chefs experiment with creative Asian, Vietnamese and European flavours. At the heart of every dish are the very best of Vietnam’s fresh and vibrant produce combined with top quality imported specialty ingredients.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning modern takes on Vietnamese classics”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm not usually keen on hotel restaurants, but after many a recommendation we decided to give this one a go.

The restaurant serves both European and Vietnamese food, and for us has come the closest to representing true Vietnamese street food flavours with a modern presentation. Prices are obviously no match for street food, but are not in any way extortionate. Will definitely return on my next visit to Hue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraXimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Food & Beverage Management Team at Le Parfum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear BarbaraXimenez
On behalf the Culinary team, thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. It is rewarding for us to receive your honesty feedback as we use this valuable information to improve our service in any way we can.
I am thrilled that you evidently had a very enjoyable culinary experience. Especially the Culinary team is very pleased to see that you have enjoyed so much the Vietnamese food & attractive modern presentation.

The whole team will be very motivated by your synopsis. We would love to have the opportunity the opportunity to welcome you back to our restaurant if you plan to return to Hue.

Kind Regards
Food & Beverage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    55
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Mindblowing experience in the middle of Vietnam”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I wouldnt know how to start the review except for the fact that I never expected such high standards for incredible fine dining in Hue, mostly because of availabilities of ingredients. Le Parfum is about true, old fashioned, slow, fine dining. The mix of french and vietnamese flavors is truly brilliantly achieved.

If there is anything anybody should have... that would be the smoked duck appetizer with the foie gras ice cream and the banana blossom salad. This was pure poetry when even the slices of smoked duck were arranged as a lotus.

Yes, prepare to pay some high-dollars but to me this was the end of a 10 day trip to central Vietnam and Le Parfum capped it beautifully. We started off the meal at their stunning bar, which by the way serves incredible cocktails as well.

The rest of the meal went very well. Presentation merits extra points. Its one of those places where you just let the universe take you by its hand and enjoy. It was also an incredibly stunning way to upgrade from the flavors of Vietnam found in streetfood. In many items (not all) it was pure genius.

Dessert...? Yes, one of the best chocolate ice creams Ive had in my life and a mango and green tea item that is worth the trip for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lujoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Food & Beverage Management Team at Le Parfum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear lujoya

Food & Beverage team thank you for choosing to dine with us at Le Parfum Restaurant during your recent visit to Hue and for the time you have subsequently taken to post your valuable synopsis on Trip Advisor.

It is rewarding for us to read that how much you liked our Le Parfum restaurant including: the high standards, the ingredients food, the lovely atmosphere, nice cocktails & the best chocolate dessert. Especially the subtle mix flavors of French & Vietnamese on the food are our great creativity. We are thankful for your kind comments & sharing the experience on the “Smoked duck appetizer” & the banana blossom salad as this really enticing for future guests who want to experience at Le Parfum.

We constantly monitor this channel of communication and use all the valuable feedback to make our guests dining experience more & more memorable; your comments will of great supports for our long way to achieving this.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly in the future if you have any reservation requests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Parfum in the future.

Kind Regards
Food & Beverage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Believe everything you read about this restaurant!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We are in Hue for 2 days and wanted to try a good restaurant to ensure we saw Vietnam cuisine from all sides (being 12/12/12 was even more reason to push the boat out).
Reviews on Trip Advisor indicated that the best restaurant experience to be had in Hue was at Le Parfum - the restaurant attached to La Residence hotel. We are so glad we listened to the reviews. We arrived to be greeted by staff who did everything they could to make our experience special. The food was so good we are going to return again tomorrow - the only thing we can think of to top the amazing food and ambience is to do it again!!!! Presentation is excellent and I highly recommend the fish steamed in ginger - brilliant!
If you are in Hue and want something special (obviously at a price - but much less than you would pay in England) - then please do go to this excellent restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Food & Beverage Management at Le Parfum, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Jduchesne,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review of our restaurant and it is great to read that you have enjoyed so much the experience at Le Parfum. All the positive comments you have made will be shared with the culinary and service team as they act as a great motivator for us to produce even more consistency and quality.
The culinary team will be extremely happy to see that you have enjoyed some of our dishes in particular the Fish Steamed in Ginger & thank you for sharing the truly experience for everyone who would love to try this on their dining at our restaurant.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly in the future if you have any reservations requests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Parfum in the future.

Culinary Regards,
Food & Beverage Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Plesantly Suprised”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Le Parfum is the Restaurant attached to La Residence Hotel & Spa at Hue, Vietnam. La Residence itself was a very plesant place to stay while visiting Hue and the Restaurant did not disappoint either. The staff were very attentive and the Menu was an infusion of French and Vietmanese flavours which when you thought you were ordering a traditional French meal, one arrived with a completely different and tasty take on the menu description.
The highlight of the evening was meeting the resident French Sous Chef who made his way around the restaurant to ensure the guests were satisfied with their menu selections and the quality of service provided. The wine list was reasonable and a choice of French, Australian and Chilean wines was offered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Food & Beverage Management Team at Le Parfum, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear TJDJM,
First of all, thank you for choosing Le Parfum for your dining & for taking the time to post your positive comments on Trip Advisor. We greatly value our guest feedback as we use this valuable information to improve our service in any way we can.
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the food quality, great service & wine list. Yes, our menu has two distinct sections, one classical Vietnamese and the other part, a fusion of Western and Vietnamese cuisines. We do try to cater for everybody's needs and tastes as it is your dining experience not ours so it’s really good for us to know the feedbacks and comments
The whole team will be very motivated by your synopsis. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our restaurant if you ever return to Hue.

Culinary Regards
Food & Beverage Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Artful entres”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The restaurant offers elegant interior tables or outdoor seating overlooking the Perfume River. The service was attentive, but the entres were works of art! We found the wine list limited, but offering some great options especially for French wines in most categories.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Parfum also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Le Parfum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing