We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hostel is on a great location. Fun place to hangout and meet more travelers. Dorm rooms are a bit small but still for such a cheap price and location it's all worth it. Friendly staff with all the information you need. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farn00sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 371 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The nice thing about this hostel is that all the backpackers go here. Everybody is willing to help you by getting nice food, a good hostel on your next location and all that kind of stuff. The staff is very helpful. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

great location, just a few blocks to the river and a short bike ride to citadel, and there are a lot of restaurants and cafe around the area.
they have free wifi, free breakfast and free map. and they have a toilet and bath downstairs so if someone else is using the one in the room, the guest may use the one downstairs. (it's 10 beds to 1 bathroom, so the extra bathroom is pretty neat)
the room is kinda crowded, there's no space to move around, and not enough space to put your bags, which makes the room a lot more crowded. the bedroom ligts are dim, and not all the bedside lamps work. but they have a full-lenght mirror in the room, which is nice, especially for female travellers.
they have a bar downstairs, which is a great way to meet other travellers. and it's good that they close it at 11pm so the other guests would not be bothered by the noise (so if you're a pary animal who like to drink until morning, you'd have to go elsewhere after 11 for booze)
the staff are helpful. they answer tour questions, they give you what you need, but they lack the smile, warmth and sincerity that other hostels i stayed at provided. but they're not rude or anything like that, so i'd still recommend it. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecca_castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's the same company and the same boss who owns the hostel in Hanoi (Hanoi Backpacker's Hostel).
In Hanoi the aircon is automatically adjusted and too cold in the night, the wifi is bad, the break for breakfast is not roasted and most important of all - they charge you almost 10 dollars!
In Hue I stayed at the same hostel, cause I like to meet people, and it feels like they've improved everything that's bad in Hanoi. The wifi is freaking good (bad on the 3rd floor actually), the breakfast is better, you don't have to pay for key deposit, they have a toilet inside the room and the aircon is well adjusted. And most important of all, they charge you only 7 dollars here which is a pretty good price for free wifi, free breakfast and clean dorm rooms.

Hanoi could learn a lot by coming down to Hue and take a look!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 1st or the 2nd floor if you wanna have wifi in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasper-Hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good place to meet people for a drink. Clean dorms, with clean bath rooms. Price was a bit steep for a dorm bed in Vietnam (6 USD). Helpful staff, especially if you need to find a good mechanic. I have had to have something repaired on my moto almost everyday during my trip in Vietnam. In Hue I finally had someone give it a good fix, cheaply. With the help of the staff at the Backpackers.
Nice place in general. The wifi was pretty terribly though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice place to stay, but very crowded during tourist season.
They fee 9$/night/person.
Bar is really noisy at night.

Dorms ale very clean, you got clean sheets and very shiny, claustrophobic bathrooom.
Air-conditioning in dorms are far too powerful, but it may be caused by roommates. I caught a cold there.
When my girlfiend got ill, we have poblems with extending our stay. They are counting on people spending more money in hotel, I think.
Food is not bad, but it's also nothing special. Food prices was reasonable, but I definitely prefer half-less priced and uncomparably better local food from small local restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I only stayed in Hue one night, breaking up the journey from Hoi An to Hanoi. The hostel had good food, clean dorms and was clearly very popular. Could have probably found cheaper, but the atmosphere was good, people were all friendly. Not a bad location - close to some other bars and things for on a night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Hue Home Hotel
Hue Home Hotel
#29 of 125 in Hue
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#9 of 125 in Hue
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#8 of 139 in Hue
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
0 mi away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#3 of 139 in Hue
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing