We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean, very nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling or backpacking through Vietnam and calling into Hue. It is the brother of the one in Hanoi and thus has the same facilities etc. The bar is relatively cheap and the food is good. It is located in a good location just along side the river. If you booked a bus ticket from the one in Hanoi you will get dropped here in Hue. The dorms are of the same standard, nice big bed with a massive locker underneath and with air conditioning. The only down side was we were in a room with 4 beds in it which connected to another room with 6 beds in it and there was one bathroom between all 10 of us. However it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not go on any tours here so cannot recommend the tour service.

Room Tip: All rooms face the road with a balcony out front, be careful of the stairs on the way up they are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spicer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 370 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Decent enough hostel, which I would recommend to anyone backpacking/ travelling on a budget. It's clean, the beds are comfy and towels are provided. The rooms have good air con, but it is only switched on at night. The location is also good, very near the bus station, totally walkable even with luggage.

It's not got quite as much going on as its sister hostel in Hanoi, no free walking tours and Vietnamese lessons and whatnot, but that's probably down to Hue being a smaller, less busy place. The hostel also has fewer rooms so I would recommend booking.

One small problem; we did come back to our private room one day to find it had been left unlocked by the cleaners. Otherwise a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Alice Triple Room costs $20 dollars for 3 people, and is a private dorm room with its own bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrollercoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hostel is the brother hostel of Hanoi Backpackers so we got pre-booked and paid for our deposit easily from one to the next. The rooms were nice and clean and the drinks were well-priced and delicious. The social area was not as well set up as the Hanoi hostel but I liked the low table area and the convenience to the Royal Citadel.
The only problem was the flooding shower (hair blocking the plug) and the toilet literally in the centre of the dorm room so that everybody got to hear the details of your visits to the bathroom.
Otherwise nice place to stay with all the neccessities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melonmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night (originally should have been 4)

The good
Great location
Busy bar
Decent food

The bad
Air conditioning not powerful enough in dorm rooms.
Found Australian lady working there to be extremely ignorant

The ugly
Ant infested rooms, both on the dorm floor, and in the bathroom, which wad disgusting.


Overall would nit recommend this place. It is cheap but for a few extra dollars could have a much mire enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timconnolly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After having stayed at the well known Hanoi Backpackers on a few occasions I decided to pre book a few nights at the Hue Backpackers (same owners) before arriving in Hue. The bus arrived out the front of the hostel which was good. We arrived very early though but were offered free breakfast (Although very basic) that morning and a shower which was nice. The room was clean and fine and had a bathroom attached. The hostel was in a good location close to restaurants and bars etc. The staff were all so nice and really helped me make my decision to do the top gear motorbike tour to the next town (Hoi An) - highly recommend this trip! Anyway the vietnamese girls at the hostel were lovely i ended up going out for dinner and a drink with them and had a great time. Everything was fine about this hostel but I am now put off as the morning i was leaving the owner of the hostel was yelling at the girls at reception for some work related reason, he was so loud and swearing at them and I just thought it was highly inappropriate and not professional at all. I dont think anyone should be spoken to like that especially not in the workplace and in front of all the customers. I left that morning for the bike tour and I was glad to not have to stay another night - because of that incident not the actual hostel.
Tip - you can get a private room with private bathroom, air con and a pool close to the hostel for only $10 a night. People will approach you when you get off the bus.

Room Tip: All female dorm was sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missrach_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My brother and I stayed here in early July for one night. We found the staff very helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It is in a very central location. There is wifi in the foyer however if you stay higher there is no signal which may or may not bother you. All in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed for two nights in June 2012. Having been at the Ma May Hanoi Backpackers a few days earlier, I was surprised to see this one was a lot quieter. The standout features are still here - good, clean dorm rooms with A/C and secure lockers under the bunks. It's a much smaller place than the ones they run in Hanoi - just a couple of floors, no need for elevator or keycards (regular keys instead). The bar downstairs is smaller as well, but could be a good space, and it is open to the street. Unfortunately, not much was happening while I was there, but I'd blame that on it being low season and Hue being a less popular destination than Hanoi.
The location is perfect, the staff is great (even helping to clean out my wounds after a small motorbike accident), and it's clean and comfortable. For backpackers, particularly solo ones like myself, it's the place to stay in Hue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TargetTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Hue Home Hotel
Hue Home Hotel
#29 of 125 in Hue
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#9 of 125 in Hue
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#8 of 139 in Hue
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
0 mi away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#4 of 139 in Hue
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing