We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ant infested dorms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #26 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night (originally should have been 4)

The good
Great location
Busy bar
Decent food

The bad
Air conditioning not powerful enough in dorm rooms.
Found Australian lady working there to be extremely ignorant

The ugly
Ant infested rooms, both on the dorm floor, and in the bathroom, which wad disgusting.


Overall would nit recommend this place. It is cheap but for a few extra dollars could have a much mire enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timconnolly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 364 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

After having stayed at the well known Hanoi Backpackers on a few occasions I decided to pre book a few nights at the Hue Backpackers (same owners) before arriving in Hue. The bus arrived out the front of the hostel which was good. We arrived very early though but were offered free breakfast (Although very basic) that morning and a shower which was nice. The room was clean and fine and had a bathroom attached. The hostel was in a good location close to restaurants and bars etc. The staff were all so nice and really helped me make my decision to do the top gear motorbike tour to the next town (Hoi An) - highly recommend this trip! Anyway the vietnamese girls at the hostel were lovely i ended up going out for dinner and a drink with them and had a great time. Everything was fine about this hostel but I am now put off as the morning i was leaving the owner of the hostel was yelling at the girls at reception for some work related reason, he was so loud and swearing at them and I just thought it was highly inappropriate and not professional at all. I dont think anyone should be spoken to like that especially not in the workplace and in front of all the customers. I left that morning for the bike tour and I was glad to not have to stay another night - because of that incident not the actual hostel.
Tip - you can get a private room with private bathroom, air con and a pool close to the hostel for only $10 a night. People will approach you when you get off the bus.

Room Tip: All female dorm was sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missrach_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My brother and I stayed here in early July for one night. We found the staff very helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It is in a very central location. There is wifi in the foyer however if you stay higher there is no signal which may or may not bother you. All in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed for two nights in June 2012. Having been at the Ma May Hanoi Backpackers a few days earlier, I was surprised to see this one was a lot quieter. The standout features are still here - good, clean dorm rooms with A/C and secure lockers under the bunks. It's a much smaller place than the ones they run in Hanoi - just a couple of floors, no need for elevator or keycards (regular keys instead). The bar downstairs is smaller as well, but could be a good space, and it is open to the street. Unfortunately, not much was happening while I was there, but I'd blame that on it being low season and Hue being a less popular destination than Hanoi.
The location is perfect, the staff is great (even helping to clean out my wounds after a small motorbike accident), and it's clean and comfortable. For backpackers, particularly solo ones like myself, it's the place to stay in Hue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TargetTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for just a night. At only $6 per bed space, this place is for single travellers like me. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in. One thing I did not like about this hostel is that the bathroom and toilet were very small. Also, the wifi is only available in the lobby (first fooor).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueschist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

In an otherwise ok city, Hue backpackers seems to be the heart as sole of youth culture.

Great cool and calm place to lay your head with the rooms well separated from the somewhat intense happy hour(s). Central location and friendly staff make this place an easy choice and somewhere I wouldn't hesitate going back to.
Probably not the best place for families but that really goes without saying in a back packers!
Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Screech411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

i sated there only one night after travel by bus from Hanoi to Hue.very clean place for traveller .Goog staff,funny.Evrything good the only thing is not so good that you had to paid for the towel.

Room Tip: Quieter place ,good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chien066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
DMZ Hotel
DMZ Hotel
#50 of 123 in Hue
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#8 of 123 in Hue
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#1 of 128 in Hue
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Why Not Hostel
Why Not Hostel
#3 of 128 in Hue
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#13 of 128 in Hue
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing