We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Value, Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Ranked #50 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed October 3, 2010

All I can say about the Mercure Gerbera Hue is that its is excellent on all fronts. We were originally wanting to book Accor's "La Residence" hotel further along the river from the Mercure (which, by the way, is just the last word in gorgeousness) but they didn't do tripple rooms. We instead booked 2 rooms at the Mercure which was amazingly cheap for a hotel of that standard (about USD40.00 per room per night!). The hotel's photo's on the Accor website are pretty lame and don't do the hotel justice ... especially the pool area which is much bigger in real life than in the Accor photo. The rooms are very very modern, luxurious and spacious. I would avoid buying the breakfast option as the buffet is OK but average for the price. I would instead buy breakfast at one of the many restaraunts around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUekermann, General Manager at Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2010

Dear valued guest,

we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been passed to our team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Mercure Hue Gerbera Hotel.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, having chosen it on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and a modest price for what we were anticipating would be a good quality hotel.

We were not disappointed, The general standard, helpfulness of staff and facilities were very good. Pool was excellent and the free internet on the ground floor was a bit plus. Location is excellent. There are some cyclos across the street and the run to the Citadelle cost a mere 30,000 dong (about a pound). Traffic was a bit easier to cope with than in other major Vietnamese cities. Just walk forward slowly and deliberately and do not stop or try to retreat - the motor bikes will all avoid you!

We only ate in the restaurant once, when we arrived late on the first night. We had pasta type dishes washed down with beer and found the food rather uninspiring and overpriced. After that we ate out and there are no shortage of excellent alternative eating places.

Check out at 6.30am did not go smoothly. We had left it a bit tight to get to the airport and our taxi was waiting. We had one of the receptionists chasing after us to say housekeeping needed to check our room - presumably to see if we had stolen any towels or were lying when we said we had not used the mini bar. We asked how long this would take and were told 15 minutes. As we were on a tight schedule we said no way and left. This was an unfortunate note to leave on and really not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.

So to summarise, an excellent and inexpensive base for staying in Hue. Probably best not to eat in the hotel though. Whilst bearing this in mind, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUekermann, General Manager at Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Dear valued guest,

thanks for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your constructive comments related to the check out will help me to work together with the departments and to improve.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Very nice hotel, we got a great rate through the accor sale and i was very impressed with everything about the hotel. Location was excellent, along the river with excellent views from the sky bar. the pool while on the small side was refreshing and a welcome relief from the heat after a day spent touring the local sites. and it had a reasonably equiped gym. Our rate did not include breakfast but just around the corner were several restaurants which had good value breakfasts. we hired bikes from a shop around the corner for about 1 dollar a bike.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dearbeeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUekermann, General Manager at Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Dear valued guest,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your kind words have been passed to my team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again one day in in Mercure Hue Gerbera.

Best regards
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the place, the staff is very helpful, being in central Vietnam the English is so so, but the hotel is great, nice clean rooms, centrally located, nice shower and a great breakfast and if you book early you get a great deal

if you like to get a tour i would suggest you go to mandarin cafe and get it organised there as I think the hotel tours are a little overprized, but i guess that is the nature of the business

last but not least a great swimming pool a nice place to relax and is a great place to explore and visit ancient hue

Thanks again for the great stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

i and my travelmate have been staying here for the past few days, and we are having a great time to say the least. the restaurant here is very cosy and the location of the hotel is convenient to travel to different tourist destinations in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samuellopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for only 2 nights but managed to take advantage of almost all it had to offer.
The rooms are new, clean and fresh, very comfortable bed and bedding.
The bathrooms were also very nice, large with a big bathtub but the weather was so hot during our stay, laying in a warm bath did not appeal.
The rooms have AC which worked perfectly and free wiifii, everything we needed.
The dining room, we had 2 breakfasts and 2 lunches here, I was suffering from a bug and was playing it safe for a few days. The breakfast was A La Carte because the hotel was not full but anything that you would normally find at a buffet was available, just cooked fresh as ordered, certainly not a bad thing the way I was feeling.
We had our beloved Pho each morning, there was also a selection of pastries, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order with all of the usual sides, vietnamese coffee, I had also aquired a taste for this by now, more than enough.
I had a club sandwich for lunch both days because it was sooo nice and my stomach didn't seem to have a problem digesting it.
We swam in the pool each day and it was really nice. Plenty of beach chairs to relax on, fresh towels, staff in attendance, very good. There was a gym but we did not take advantage of this, we felt we were doing more than enough exercising just sightseeing.The spa was not up and running at the time of our stay and I am not sure when it will be, so I cannot comment on this.
The staff were very obliging throughout the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly.
The location is great, right across the road from the river. There are ATMs almost right next door, a travel agency a couple of doors away, if you want to organise tours when you get there, which we did.
Restaurants are close and the area is very safe to walk about in the evening. There is a little cafe type shop across the road offering laundry services, we also used this.
If I return to Hue, I will be staying here again.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gomozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Whenever I have the business trip to Hue, I always stay at Mercure Gerbera Hue. Where I feel most comfortable, I was treated warmly as "home", staff greeting me by name, which make me depress...
Service is excellence+++++
Value for money.
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuong_pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#26 of 122 in Hue
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Riverside Hue Hotel
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 122 in Hue
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 122 in Hue
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel

Address: 38 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: $40 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel is a 110 contemporary-room hotel, located conveniently in the center of the city with a superb location by the river, the hotel provides an awe-inspiring panoramic view of the city of Hue, the picturesque Perfume River and Trang Tien Bridge from the hotel’s guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing