We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely New Hotel, we could not find fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely New Hotel, we could not find fault”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for only 2 nights but managed to take advantage of almost all it had to offer.
The rooms are new, clean and fresh, very comfortable bed and bedding.
The bathrooms were also very nice, large with a big bathtub but the weather was so hot during our stay, laying in a warm bath did not appeal.
The rooms have AC which worked perfectly and free wiifii, everything we needed.
The dining room, we had 2 breakfasts and 2 lunches here, I was suffering from a bug and was playing it safe for a few days. The breakfast was A La Carte because the hotel was not full but anything that you would normally find at a buffet was available, just cooked fresh as ordered, certainly not a bad thing the way I was feeling.
We had our beloved Pho each morning, there was also a selection of pastries, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order with all of the usual sides, vietnamese coffee, I had also aquired a taste for this by now, more than enough.
I had a club sandwich for lunch both days because it was sooo nice and my stomach didn't seem to have a problem digesting it.
We swam in the pool each day and it was really nice. Plenty of beach chairs to relax on, fresh towels, staff in attendance, very good. There was a gym but we did not take advantage of this, we felt we were doing more than enough exercising just sightseeing.The spa was not up and running at the time of our stay and I am not sure when it will be, so I cannot comment on this.
The staff were very obliging throughout the hotel, nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly.
The location is great, right across the road from the river. There are ATMs almost right next door, a travel agency a couple of doors away, if you want to organise tours when you get there, which we did.
Restaurants are close and the area is very safe to walk about in the evening. There is a little cafe type shop across the road offering laundry services, we also used this.
If I return to Hue, I will be staying here again.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gomozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    202
    97
    16
    3
See reviews for
67
255
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Whenever I have the business trip to Hue, I always stay at Mercure Gerbera Hue. Where I feel most comfortable, I was treated warmly as "home", staff greeting me by name, which make me depress...
Service is excellence+++++
Value for money.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuong_pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

It's fair to say that this hotel is lacking some atmosphere; but that's only because occupancy is really low. We had one of only 30 occupied rooms - which was a real shame.

The hotel is all new and tidy; it's not top-end luxury but then your'e not paying top-end prices. The rooms are very clean and have good shower pressure; the A/C worked fine and kept our room very chilly despite 100c+ temperatures on the street. We had absolutely no complaints about the room. I heard a couple of guests complaining that the A/C in the upstairs corridors wasn't on - in these times where we should be considering the ecological impact we make - I didn't share their concerns!

The pool was on the smallish side but you'd need to be quite brave to toast yourself out there for too long!

The Skybar on the 11th floor was noce - but empty on every occasion we visited.

Front reception staff and bell-boys excellent and very friendly.

Didn't enjoy Hue so much but the hotel was tops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZippyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Great location, easy access to great restaurants, bars and laundry. The Hotel is new the staff are friendly, however at times it was hard to communicate clearly with the front desk staff. The gym was good and overlooks the pool. The rooms are very clean. We didn't have breakfast included and did not find this an issue as just around the corner was plenty of restaurants serving breakfast, cheap and good. We went on a motor bike day tour, it is a must do.... just be careful on what booking agent you book with, they charged us for one day and after two hours wanted to return us to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel is very new and hardly used. The location is great right on the river and right in the heart of the southbank.
The rooms are spacious, clean and really comfy beds. Can't comment about b/fast as we didnt have it inc, in our rate so ate elsewhere.
my only grip with this hotel is the dodgy bus they booked for us from Hue to Hoi An.
We paid $8USD each for what seemed like a local bus, no A/C and broken chairs...only thing missing was the chicken running around on the bus.
as for the hotel....excellent location, excellent staff and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Returned last week from Hue where we stayed at the Mercure Hotel. The room was nice, the location very good - just across from the river, however, this was our least favorite hotel in our 23 days in Vietnam. The AC never seemed to cool the room down and it was very hot (May). We moved from our room to two other rooms and the problem was the same in all rooms. The hotel is brand new and we believe that the AC units are probably undersized for the rooms. Breakfast did not come with the room and was either $8 or $9.00. The room rate was great, so the extra money for the breakfast would have been ok, but the breakfast was ala carte and did not seem appealing at all. The staff here was not as friendly as in smaller hotels that we had stayed in. Fruit and water bottles were not provided in the room as they were in every other hotel in VN. The price of this hotel was great - we only paid about $45, but we did not love our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgunbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Booked direct with Accor website on the previous day - price was c£50. Good reception with free cocktail - pleasant staff - nice room on 15th floor.

Good location in the heart of the South Bank restaurants and shops.

Bar on top floor overlooking river - nice outdoor pool.

Main thing was the hotel had only been open for 3-4 months and occupancy was very low. I was the only person at breakfast and as such the buffet was not in operation although the a la carte was excellent. Was also the only person in the bar in the early evening.

Excellent value at the moment - I guess it will get more expensive as popularity/occupancy increase and as we approach the high season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.0 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#28 of 120 in Hue
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#18 of 120 in Hue
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#25 of 120 in Hue
1,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#31 of 120 in Hue
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel

Property: Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Address: 38 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muong Thanh Hue Hotel (former name:Gerbera Hue Hotel) is a 108 contemporary-room hotel, located conveniently in the center of the city with a superb location by the river, the hotel provides an awe-inspiring panoramic view of the city of Hue, the picturesque Perfume River and Trang Tien Bridge from the hotel’s guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing