We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a Perfume River view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We're lucky to be given high floor with a panoramic view of the Perfume River and the distant Annamite mountain range. The room has a balcony to take great pictures of the distant mountain range and the changing color of hue during the various times of the day, and the clouds covering the distant mountains.
We were in the middle of low travel season, and perhaps it explains the saving of electricity in the common lobby and elevator.
We were pleased with the prompt attention to our request for assistance for the faulty safety deposit box prior checking out. Ms. Huong and the hotel manager must be commented.
Take the 1-hour rickshaw ride of the city, the route the ride across the river to the busy section of the city and the Citadel. It costs around US$2-3, but it really depend on your haggling skills.

Room Tip: Room 901 has full frontal view of Perfume River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emersonlou9285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Good hotel, well laid out and plenty of space. The rooms are of good size, functional and well laid out. The bathroom is separated with a glass window and has a blind that is effective. It wasn't particularly quiet when opening windows onto balcony, the street could be heard and the construction in the morning, however, once they were closed it was quiet.

The breakfast buffet was basic and lacked any initiative.

We only stopped off on a tour for two nights. It fitted the bill and they suggested a great massage place down the road at another hotel - the Cameillia Hue - which was one of the best massages I have ever had, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband and I booked for 2 nights and got upgrade to a room with the riverview. It is a very good hotel. We only learnt now that it is in a transition period through other TA postings. This explains a lot. Although the room, the lobby, the swimming pool, the bar are all very grand and easily surpass many hotels in first world country the services were not quite suitably done, as other reviewers pointed out.
However, the staffs were very helpful and did all they could to accommodate our needs. My thanks to all the staff members who helped us when my husband got struck down with an episode of gastroenteritis. We stayed another 2 nights when my husband recuperated and the staffs were happy to give us the same room with similar rate and very supportive in everything. I especially would like to praise Tien for her compassion and care. Definitely will be staying there next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hybrid6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We checked into this hotel only to find it was no longer in the Accor Group. Saying that, the front desk service was excellent and couldn't do enough to assist. They suggested external restaurants and booked them for us.
Due to the fact is was in a transition mode, there was a very limited menu in their restaurant and it wasn't that great however the breakfast was much better.
The rooms were bright and clean, very art deco.
Unfortunately the gym, sauna, massage and beauty services were all shut down.
Although there were a few problems I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here for two nights though wish we had stayed longer.

We had a river view room and it was massive (easily the biggest we stayed in in Vietnam) We were up on the 9th floor and the views were great. The hotel is in a great location a medium walk away from the Citadel and a very short walk away from most good restaurants.

However, though the service was always done with a smile it did feel like they were trying to force things onto you that probably weren't always the right option. I think they have an affliation to a local tour company and they would only recommend you to them. Also, though the sky bar does have great views the cost of drinks is double what you will pay down the road and you will likely be the only ones up there so to say the atmosphere is bad is an understatement.

But if these minor things are the only two things I can find to complain about I think it tells you that this is a very good hotel in my favourite city in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days. We had a large room overlooking the river - incredibly quiet. Good air-conditioning, tasteful decorations, large room with comfortable bed. Has a lovely pool - small but refreshing and great for the kids. Ate in the hotel the first night and had a delicious low-key meal on the terrace. Lots of places to eat in the vicinity. Bridge to the citadel about 5 minutes walk, boats for trips down the Perfume River across the road, bicycles for hire 100m to the right (east) of the hotel, tourist office (very helpful) over the road, loads of ATMs nearby. Staff friendly, non-intrusive, polite and friendly. A great find.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Mercure on our trip last year when it had not long been open. We found the hotel itself perfect with nice new and modern facilities and the pool was really nice to come back to after sight seeing in the blistering heat. The only fault we had last year was the food. The breakfast was not very nice and the hot food was cold as they didn't heat the warmers underneath the food to keep it warm. We put this down to teething problems and the fact that the staff may still be learning the ropes.

We thought they would have got their act together a year later. Not the case. This year we traveled with another couple and it was their first trip to Vietnam. They too liked the hotel and the value for money but the food was just not up to standard. We ate there the first evening as we arrived quite late in the afternoon. We regretted not making the effort of going out to dinner.

The gym was not open for use and the spa (massage) has gone which was a disappointment but not the end of the world. The Starlight bar is a really nice place to have a drink and look out over the river at night. The bridge looks amazing all lit up at night. The staff in the bar are lovely and can't do enough for you.

All in all, the Mercure is still definitely good value for money (especially if you are advantage plus members like us) and we would stay there again if we were to visit Hue again. But we would not include breakfast and eat elsewhere, unless the management improve the restaurant facilities in hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancsinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 124 in Hue
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Riverside Hue Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
1.2 mi away
Green Hotel Hue
Green Hotel Hue
#53 of 124 in Hue
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel

Address: 38 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 124 Hotels in Hue
Price Range: $42 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel is a 110 contemporary-room hotel, located conveniently in the center of the city with a superb location by the river, the hotel provides an awe-inspiring panoramic view of the city of Hue, the picturesque Perfume River and Trang Tien Bridge from the hotel’s guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing