We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Ranked #35 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms and good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here for two nights though wish we had stayed longer.

We had a river view room and it was massive (easily the biggest we stayed in in Vietnam) We were up on the 9th floor and the views were great. The hotel is in a great location a medium walk away from the Citadel and a very short walk away from most good restaurants.

However, though the service was always done with a smile it did feel like they were trying to force things onto you that probably weren't always the right option. I think they have an affliation to a local tour company and they would only recommend you to them. Also, though the sky bar does have great views the cost of drinks is double what you will pay down the road and you will likely be the only ones up there so to say the atmosphere is bad is an understatement.

But if these minor things are the only two things I can find to complain about I think it tells you that this is a very good hotel in my favourite city in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Get a river view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fellachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    199
    95
    15
    3
See reviews for
65
249
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days. We had a large room overlooking the river - incredibly quiet. Good air-conditioning, tasteful decorations, large room with comfortable bed. Has a lovely pool - small but refreshing and great for the kids. Ate in the hotel the first night and had a delicious low-key meal on the terrace. Lots of places to eat in the vicinity. Bridge to the citadel about 5 minutes walk, boats for trips down the Perfume River across the road, bicycles for hire 100m to the right (east) of the hotel, tourist office (very helpful) over the road, loads of ATMs nearby. Staff friendly, non-intrusive, polite and friendly. A great find.

Room Tip: Ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Mercure on our trip last year when it had not long been open. We found the hotel itself perfect with nice new and modern facilities and the pool was really nice to come back to after sight seeing in the blistering heat. The only fault we had last year was the food. The breakfast was not very nice and the hot food was cold as they didn't heat the warmers underneath the food to keep it warm. We put this down to teething problems and the fact that the staff may still be learning the ropes.

We thought they would have got their act together a year later. Not the case. This year we traveled with another couple and it was their first trip to Vietnam. They too liked the hotel and the value for money but the food was just not up to standard. We ate there the first evening as we arrived quite late in the afternoon. We regretted not making the effort of going out to dinner.

The gym was not open for use and the spa (massage) has gone which was a disappointment but not the end of the world. The Starlight bar is a really nice place to have a drink and look out over the river at night. The bridge looks amazing all lit up at night. The staff in the bar are lovely and can't do enough for you.

All in all, the Mercure is still definitely good value for money (especially if you are advantage plus members like us) and we would stay there again if we were to visit Hue again. But we would not include breakfast and eat elsewhere, unless the management improve the restaurant facilities in hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancsinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with family in two rooms. The hotel was of excellent standards for Vietnam. The costs of the room was very cheap, but this did not translate to a cheap hotel.

The standard of this hotel is to the standards of 4 star hotels around the world.

The only small issue that I had with this hotel was that the reception staff weren't the most helpful when it came to recommending places when it wasn't in line with the alliances with local businesses (restaurants etc). I had previously visited Hue a couple of years back and had found a garden (open air) restaurant by the river on the other side of the river which I had a really great time at. This time around, I couldn't quite remember the restaurant and had asked the staff and they were adamant that no such restaurant existed, but were more than happy to recommend the hotel restaurant. This was after the fact that I had spoken to them in rather fluent Vietnamese. We ended up going for a walk and found the restaurant.

No wi-fi internet in the rooms was also a small downside of the hotel, when all other hotels in Vietnam offered free wi-fi internet throughout the hotel.

However, overall this hotel was superb. I would definitely stay there again if visiting Hue again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasD0230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

A bit dated but very comfortable.
A great breakfast menu on the second floor.
pool is clean and staff helpful.
free internet available in Foyer.
Plently of nearby local restaurants to choose from if you do not want to dine in.
Overall a very pleasent place to stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toscaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Hue
Moonlight Hotel Hue
#21 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldora Hotel
Eldora Hotel
#13 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Midtown Hotel Hue
Midtown Hotel Hue
#27 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Riverside Hue Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cherish Hotel
Cherish Hotel
#18 of 123 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel

Property: Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Address: 38 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 123 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muong Thanh Hue Hotel (former name:Gerbera Hue Hotel) is a 108 contemporary-room hotel, located conveniently in the center of the city with a superb location by the river, the hotel provides an awe-inspiring panoramic view of the city of Hue, the picturesque Perfume River and Trang Tien Bridge from the hotel’s guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing