We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Cream!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boulangerie Francaise

La Boulangerie Francaise
Ranked #18 of 296 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ice Cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Delicious dark chocolate ice cream, a real treat in hot humid weather!

We only tried the ice cream so can't comment on the cakes, but the selection seemed limited. As for the breads and pastries the baguette looked authentic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    127
    28
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a joke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We always take the comments on tripadvisor serious and went to la boulangerie francaise for a coffee and cake. We thought the coffee was not good at all.
The cheesecake (american style the menu stated) was literally made with cheese and not with mascarpone. We thought that was really funny. The cakes however were ok. Maybe we were here on a bad day but rather recommend the local vietnam coffeeshops than la boulangerie francaise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeroenwolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,086 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“Great spot for coffee and pastry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a great place to have a coffee and a pastry. Or a light meal. It's not expensive.
We had a passion fruit juice, espresso (it had too much water but it was ok), pain au chocolat - banane and a gateau coco - banane. We enjoyed our snacks.
La Boulangerie Francaise trains underprivileged youngsters to become qualified bakers and pastry chefs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The real deal such a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I had the tomato flan which was excellent, very tasty with a nice short pastry. I also tried a pain au chocolate and a croissant. These tasted very good but I got there on the afternoon and I suspect they were past their prime so had lost the crispness that you might expect. Nevertheless this is an authentic cafe and they are used to take away requests

I took the treats back to my room to eat in ac comfort - a nice treat away from rice and noodles

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First place we found whilst trying to hitchike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

And what a delight! Banana pain au chocolat! And i cant remember the last time i ate a proper croissant been travelling so long! Lovely!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulangerie Francaise also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to La Boulangerie Francaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing