We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel
Ranked #20 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I am Japanese. I was picked up from the train station after an over night train from Nha Trang. The staff from the hotel was waiting for me just outside the station with my name on a sign. This hotel is clean, has full amenities like wirfi free internet. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 331 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

Today this hotel found out that it was my birthday, and bought me a cake, with my name and age on it. So far Veitnam has been a little hard work, with some people and hotels being less than honest. I'm very glad to report this is not the case here, it has been very friendly, and as far as I could tell, none of the normal monkey business. Plus it's the only hotel in the lower price range that had all main cable stations, BBC, CNN, CNBC, etc. as well as being very clean and friendly.
Sean Levison, Australia

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camile15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We got a very nice clean room with air conditioning, a fridge and a television for a very cheap price. the bathroom was great and the shower was very good. we are on a very tight budget and this was perfect. It's one of the nicest places we've stayed with no extra price than previous places. It was very central in the backpacker area and I couldn't have asked for more. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. We organised two trips with them which were amazing. We had one of the best days of our 4 months travels. They also helped us to book our trip to halong bay for cheaper than any other places in Han oi. I would definatly recomend it. Joe, England

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed at Hong Thien for two night and found it to be most pleasant. Our room cost $12 and was reasonably sized with a double bed and a single bed. It had AC, TV, fridge, wifi in the room, fan and balcony with good view. The room and the bathroom were both clean. When we first arrived on the overnight train, we were picked up by moto and we were immediately shown to our room and were able to freshen up before going to complete the paperwork of checking-in. Breakfast is available at a small cost, as is a laundry service. Location is good, a number of restaurants and bars are within 5 minutes walking distance. The staff were okay although at times seemed a tad too pushy to encourage us on a tour.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This is a great place to stay for travellers on any budget. The first thing you will notice is how friendly everyone is. The 2 girls who appear to run the hotel were possibly the friendliest people we have come across on our travels so far. The rooms were plenty big enough, clean, and had a few little extras like a balcony, fridge, tv. We would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who doesnt want to pay over the top prices but still recieve excellent service. Thank you to everyone at Hong thien hotel

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickclark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

this 1&i/2star hotel is 3 blocks from the huong river and in the centre of the tourist accommodation precint of hue.restaurants may be found within one block and all local tour buses pick up at front door..reception staff are helpful but be aware that your room may entail a narrow and dangerous stairway of up to 5 floors..what you get for US$12 is a comfortable,spotlessly clean room with western toilet and adequate hot water..my room on the 5th floor had a pleasant balcony overlooking the city with good ventilation and fans..i cannot remember if it had a/c...good value at that price.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The staff give you very personalized service and attend to your every whim like you were staying in a five star hotel. Clean and cool rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freebeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Thien Hotel 1
Hong Thien Hotel 1
#29 of 122 in Hue
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hue Happy Homestay
Hue Happy Homestay
#1 of 127 in Hue
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
FA Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moon & Sun Hostel
Moon & Sun Hostel
#9 of 127 in Hue
49 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pilgrimage Village
Pilgrimage Village
#11 of 122 in Hue
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel

Address: 46 Chu Van An, Hue, Vietnam (Formerly Hong Thien Hotel 2)
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location in the backpacker centre of Hue city, take you only 1 minute walking to the Huong river,10 minutes walking to the Dong Ba Market,20 minutes to the well-known Imperial Citadel. There are total 12 beautiful private and Dorm rooms with nice view and public balcony and large windows. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with satellite TV, Air-conditioner, mini bar, hot water, bath tub, internet ADSL, international call, WiFi free fast connect, parking free. The hotel also provides travel facilities such as City tour, DMZ tour, Dragon boat trip on Huong river, National Bach Ma Garden, Phong Nha cave tour and Daily bus from Hue to Da Nang, Hoi An, Nha Trang, Ho Chi Minh, Phong Nha cave, Ninh Binh, Ha Noi, Sapa, Ha Long Bay, Laos... & Motorbike, bicycle rental... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hong Thien Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing