We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, but absolutely nothing special”
Review of Halo Guesthouse

Halo Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halo Guesthouse
Ranked #62 of 136 Hue B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2009

stayed here for one night because of the very good review on travelfish. The hotel is indeed really cheap (we paid just 10 usd), so you should not expect that you get a lot in return. However, we were a bit dissapointed as the room (certainly the bathroom) was dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned for quite some time. The prime surplus of the Halo seems to be their motorbike tours (which everybody really seems to love), which they do push rather heavily. Maybe we would have liked the guesthouse better if we took one of their trips (which we didn't), but know we could only describe it as a cheap option, but certainly no 'gem' or anything like that.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2009

We were looking at other hotels as recommended by the guide book, but a very persistent man convinced us to have a look at Halo , after seeing the room we got a much nicer place for money than elsewhere on this alley .We were pleased with how quickly the A/C cooled down the room (much better than other places we stayed) and everything was clean and well.
We had a great motorbike tour booked thing a hotel.We were able to get helmets and the drives were very sefe. We got to see so much in the day !
I highly recommend the balcony room-we were in 201 and it was great.
They were also nice enough to let us shower in the room at 1PM on the day we checked out --> much appreciated after a long day in the hot weather before our fly .
we're going to recommend the Halo and their motorbike tour on the online to any friend of our that come here .If we make it back ,we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castelliscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We booked this on the basis that it was mentioned in the guide books and ranked very highly on tripadvisor.
On arrival they were supposed to collect us off the bus - but when they didnt' show we walked - it was only two blocks away. Seems we arrived earlier than expected so we let it go, no biggie.

She had mentioned there were several rooms, price tiered 8 10 and 12 USD. So she showed us a room for 8 and said even if we weren't happy we could use it to shower and change and she'd give us another room when the guests checked out _ bearing in mind it was 7am

We were happy enough with the room - two big beds, nice large bathroom - all very dated and plain but on first sight it was fine.

After a day of sight seeing we returned to our room and noticed the very very damp smell and feeling in the room - it wasn't pleasant. We went down to reception to see about moving but it was after 930pm.
I had a cold so we decided this was not the best call for us. At one point there was a pool of water on the floor from the damp. It was not nice.

Next morning we requested a new room with a window for some ventilation as the room was horrendous - she agreed politely and said it would be 10$ so we let is slide as she informed it was a nice room with sun and a window and good for my cold.
We went off for the day and our bags were ready in the new room when we got back... bigger room.. two windows, one nice large internal facing window to the stair well and the other pokey window out on to roof tops.
The walls were just as damp and dingy. There was a glass covered book shelf inset to the wall with a selection of teddy bear , tea sets, and other trinkets - horrendous and judging by the size of the cobwebs and cover of dust on items I don't think it was cleaned in years.

The hot shower was cold and when we mentioned it she said she would fix it. In the end we had to settle for running back across to our previous room for showers!

Also, we left in laundry which was returned promptly but a pair of my trousers was ripped - a square rip large enough to render them useless.
I showed them to her and she kindly informed me that they were old trousers and that they were shabby anyway, but she would stitch them and make the good!

When we checked out I questioned if we still needed to pay the increased price of 10$ for the second night on account of the no hot water and the inconvenience of the damp room and she smiled and said yes.

In the end - the service was good, they were always prompt and smiley and polite and on hand, they always "tried' to make amends but with little effect.
They were so nice we found ourselves walking away from situations agreeing to things we were less than happy with.

The place is decrepid though and having looked in other hotels on the same road even you can do MUCH better for your money.

We were very very dissapointed with it over all.

Hue however is magnificent

We'll post pictures as soon as to show we exaggerate not!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St3phani3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We are a family of four with two teenagers travelling around Vietnam. Halo was great because we could afford two rooms and both were spacious enough. We (as parents) lashed out on the $US15 room and were pleasantly surprised by the large balconey. The day we planned to go sightseeing the weather was iffy and the hotel owner arranged four scooter + drivers for us which made the trip great fun. We could stop as long as we liked at the sights (tombs) and plastic ponchoes were provided as part of the service. A great day for a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CleoCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

Really nice place, rooms are spacious mostly with balcony. 100% clean, bathroom with bathtub. Price 8-15 dollars, 15 dollar rooms have 2 twin beds. Very friendly and helpfull owner. Organized train pickup for free. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pissnelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Apfel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: privilégier les chambres sur le rue si vous désirez plus de confort. les autres chambres n'ont q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chadock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
2.5 mi away
Pilgrimage Village
Pilgrimage Village
#14 of 124 in Hue
2,121 reviews
1 mi away
Hue Serene Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Indochine Palace
Indochine Palace
#9 of 124 in Hue
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hue
2,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halo Guesthouse

Address: 10A/66 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Halo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halo Guesthouse Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing