We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Hue - It was like getting home”
Review of Amigo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amigo Hotel
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in Hue - It was like getting home”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this hotel online from Hanoi, we were backpacking so no expectations, but they just made our stay there! They picked us up at the train station, prepared a welcome meal for us in the morning, efficiently organized all trips, cooking class, booked tickets and always greeted us with a big smile. The rooms were big enough, clean and the hotel is very central. The days we spent there were exceptional, it was a home-like feeling. Owners and staff were just fantastic. I would totally come back and I hope I will!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakueSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    116
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
181
70
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Centrally located, Amigo Hotel is a real home away from home.
Down a short, rough unsealed, dead end street off Lei Loi Street, at first it looks uninviting, but what a pleasant surprise!

(In this little short street, there are 11 Hotels and Guest Houses so if you arrive unannounced I'm sure you won't have any trouble finding accommodation to suit.)

The people at Amigo's are lovely, helpful and most welcoming.

We had a deluxe double room which gave us a window and balcony and also windows in the bathroom which was nice.
All very clean and after travelling for 5 weeks it was lovely to find flowers in the room and also a clock!

They have a 'safe' downstairs but not in the rooms and they do a simple but nice breakfast.
There is no lift in the building, but we found the stairs were good exercise.
Free Wifi

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and walked to all places of interest.

DMZ Bar, and a host of restaurants, shops and bars are just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our group really enjoyed staying at the Amigo. The staff are very professional and friendly and it is an excellent low cost accommodation with great access. The staff transferred us from and too the airport and organised our tours. Breakfast and other meals are of a very high standard as is the affordable laundry service. Nothing was too much trouble for these wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not a terrible place to stay but distinctly average. We paid less for much better places elsewhere in Vietnam. The towels were threadbare and smelt musty with dirty stains, the room wasn't that clean and our lamp didn't work - trivial things but it all makes a difference. The staff were friendly enough but the receptionist quickly switched off her charm once we'd paid. She also sat us down at the computer in Reception, loaded up Tripadvisor and asked us to write a review then and there - a little bit cheeky as she rated the hotel 5/5 before we had a chance to object! The guy who worked there was very friendly but when we asked to rent a scooter, he gave us the worst bike of all time - it broke down on our trip to the tombs and we had to get a kind Vietnamese man to help us start the engine and then we couldn't stop in fear we wouldn't be able to start the engine again - needless to say our trip back to the hotel was quite dangerous. Again, I'm not saying it's the worst hotel of all time but we wouldn't stay there again and feel for the price, there are much better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We went on reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacy, well lit and spotlessly clean. The staff is very friendly, breakfast was good too. Very centrally located and great for the price. Highly recommend to anyone going to Hue!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good quality, modern, newish and very clean room. We booked a double room but was given a bigger room (triple room). I liked that the bathroom has a shower screen. Wifi worked well. Good location - away from the noise yet near to everything. Nice and courteous staff and owner. Ms Ai, the owner cook the breakfast personally it was delicious. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed 2 nights, end July.

Room Tip: No elevator, though we find it as an opportunity to exercise (climbing stairs), if you're travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a fantastic stay at Amigo. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The room was very comfortable and so clean. Breakfasts were great and the location excellent. Would love to go back again and again. Its in a quiet street so no road noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.0 mi away
Lam Bao Long Hotel
Lam Bao Long Hotel
#79 of 122 in Hue
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tran Ly
Tran Ly
#44 of 122 in Hue
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thai Binh Hotel 2
Thai Binh Hotel 2
#36 of 122 in Hue
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#7 of 122 in Hue
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Hotel

Property: Amigo Hotel
Address: 66/3 Le Loi Hue, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amigo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amigo Hotel is strategically located in the center of Hue, the 15 rooms hotel is well-equipped rooms with Cable TV, Air-Con, Mini-bar, Bath-tube (hot/cold shower), telephone, ADSL Wi-Fi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Amigo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amigo Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing