We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget brilliance”
Review of Tran Ly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tran Ly
Ranked #44 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget brilliance”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Cheap, cheerful, helpful staff and nice room. We arrived early and were welcomed to complimentary tea. When we arrived back to check in our bags had been brought up to our room (on the fourth floor). Room was clean and spacious. Cheap and cheerful for a one star its good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
57
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 1 night in a room without window, which was smelling a bit mouldy.

We changed the next day and that room was fine.

Construction work going on next door (what can yo do), staff was friendly, set breakfast was good quality.

Tour booking through the hotel seemed a little overpriced. We organised our "tomb -tour ++" with a metered taxi and paid $65.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethisplanet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
1,019 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,440 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This review is very late. I visited Hue City together with my nephew. We arrived at Hue Train Station and asked the tuktuk driver to take us to the city center. He dropped us at Tran Ly Hotel which is located along Le Loi Street and and near the river. We got a twin room without windows. The room was big enough for two beds. There was an ensuite toilet and bathroom which is also ok. The complimentary breakfast served at the dining area near the entrance was very modest. At the reception desk, we inquired about tour packages and booked a half day tour to the imperial tombs and Thien Mu Pagoda by motorbike. In the evening, I was invited by the two tour guys to drink bia hoi (the local beer) at the lobby so I went to the room to get the whiskey I bought from the duty free shop in Hanoi.

Tran Ly Hotel is a two star hotel, and with its central location, afforble price and decent facilities we feel we got good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. It comes with a balcony. The room at the higher floors provide a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived to a very friendly and helpful front desk guy. We got a pretty clean room, but it had no windows. The bathroom had a small window that cracked open for a view of a corrugated roof top. I'm not expecting view - just some natural light and some air.
Here's the real kicker - the hotel next door (DIRECTLY next door, shared wall) is undergoing serious construction and they start at 7am. Loud. VERY loud. Do not stay here if you want to sleep past 7am. If you want to be woken up by epic steel banging at 7am, in a windowless room, like some sort of prison torture, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very clean and well looked after hotel. Arrived a couple of days after Hue had been hit by a tyhpoon and had been flooded. Hotel had been cleaned that well there were no signs of flooding. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi worked well and there are also pc's in reception. Very near to DMZ bar where you can get good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK- South East
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is really good for the money, good size rooms and incredible service!

We had a quad room, although only 3 of us stayed in it as it worked out cheaper than a triple! Room was at the very top of the building so it was a good workout each time we returned! The room was clean, but cold and felt slightly damp but no major problem! Good wifi even at this level, fridge in room and air con should you want it!

The service is what makes this place, they can not literally do enough for you! From the moment we entered to the moment we left! Super friendly but not over the top or pushy! Their food there is brilliant, one of the tastiest Pho soups of Vietnam!

One point however, the bus company they use , as mentioned in other reviews, use old buses which get hot! Not the worst out there but there are better around!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The room here was decent enough, especially for the good price, although there was a slight damp issue in the room which caused a slight smell. However, this was made up for to some extent by the amazing staff - the main guy who works behind the reception couldn't have been more helpful, welcoming us, helping us out, ringing up restaurants to book for us. Really made the experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.3 mi away
Charming Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Nhu Phu Hotel
Nhu Phu Hotel
#60 of 122 in Hue
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thai Binh Hotel 2
Thai Binh Hotel 2
#37 of 122 in Hue
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#7 of 122 in Hue
1,140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lam Bao Long Hotel
Lam Bao Long Hotel
#79 of 122 in Hue
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canary Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tran Ly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tran Ly

Property: Tran Ly
Address: 78 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 122 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tran Ly 2*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tran Ly hotel! Tran Ly hotel is a new hotel in Hue, ideally located in the heart of the city, next to the beautiful Huong river. Tran Ly hotel is one of small hotels offering good services. Free:- The all inclusive price gets you breakfast, use of ADSL internet, wifi and free Hue city map. For your convenience we can arrange train station or bus station pick up. Travel facilities: - City tour, DMZ tour, Dragon boat trip on Huong river, National Bach Ma Garden...- Daily bus from Hue to Da Nang, Hoi An, Nha Trang, Ho Chi Minh, Ha Noi, Laos...- Motorbike, bicycle rental.- Train/air ticket booking. Located near: Tran Ly hotel is near to some famous places:- Huong river (next to Tran Ly hotel)- Trang Tien bridge (about 5 minutes by walking)- Imperial Citadel (about 5 minutes by taxi)- Dong Ba market (about 7 minute by walking)- Trang Tien plaza (about 6 minutes by walking).You can travel JUST by WALKING ;) After booking, please inform us of what means you use and your arrival time via our email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tran Ly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tran Ly Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing