We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 129 Hue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel of our trip”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We travelled for 4 weeks through Vietnam and that place was the best. The room was perfect as well as the service. The location is in the middle of the center in a small road and therefore very quiet. We also celebrated Tet with the owner and other guests in the hotel lobby.
That hotel is definitely one which I would book again.

Room Tip: The best room is the one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    49
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
119
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms were good for the price. The location was good just tucked away from the busy street. The breakfast was very good with an assortment of homemade jams. The best thing about this hotel however was the staff. They were so friendly and always stopped to talk and make sure you were ok. They offered to book trips or organise transport but weren't pushy like other hotels in Asia. When we arrived we were given a complimentary drink of fresh strawberries and when we left all the staff came over to say goodbye and give us each a gift. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I seem to be agreeing with everyone - don't be tempted by the other similar looking guesthouses in this small alley. Phong Lan is great value, well located, clean and comfortable guesthouse with incredibly (almost too) friendly staff. Breakfast was also good value too with proper coffee and great jam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_m857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Can only really add to the collective voice. The lovely family that run Phong Lan truly made Hue memorable for us. Super nice, not pushy with selling tours, helpful in booking moto and bicycles for us. Breakfast, as with others, the jams are superb! For us hearty Antipodeans, it was a little small, however we could just order more at more than reasonable prices. Moreover its the small touches - the drink on arrival, the gift upon leaving and feeling that the family are completely trustworthy and honest that make staying here a pleasure and why we would not hesitate to recommend Phong Lan to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This guesthouse is down a small alleyway close to the river and the backpacker street. The rooms are fairly basic but nicer than I had expected from the photo's. The main appeal of this place is the staff, the owners could not have been more friendly or helpful, the homemade jams and little gifts of flowers and beads were really touching, I almost felt embarrassed that the place was so cheap! One of our favourite stays of the trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhianMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We really liked this place. It's right at the end of an alley full of guesthouses. At night, it's very quiet.
For 300,000 dong (appr $15) per night we had a large, pleasant and light room with two double beds, two windows and a nice balcony. The room was very clean.

The family were very friendly. The mother is definitely the caring type: when I only ordered coffee for breakfast, she brought me some bread that she'd bought for her family. She would also treat us (and other guests) to fresh fruit. The homemade jams that she makes are delicious and a nice change from the sticky jam that you tend to get in Vietnam.

If we return to Hue, I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank veggie_op_reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked Phong Lan after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The owners were really friendly and helpful - they assisted us in organising a scooter for our two days in Hue and helped us book our onwards travel.

The room itself was lovely - we paid $16 for a double room with ensuite and a small balcony overlooking the lively backpacker street but we really didn't have any trouble with noise once the door was shut at night.

As is often the case in Asia the shower was set-up in a way that covers the entire bathroom in water but it was by no means the worse we experienced! Our only other small criticism is that the towels were quite thin (no problem as we had our own) and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable we've ever slept on but after a day exploring in the Hue heat it didn't really make a difference in us getting to sleep!

The highlight here really was the owners, they were just wonderful and even gave us a small parting gift when we left. We'd definitely stay here again if we're ever in Vietnam in the future and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.1 mi away
ORCHID HOTEL
ORCHID HOTEL
#8 of 121 in Hue
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#24 of 121 in Hue
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#39 of 121 in Hue
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
0.3 mi away
Hue Serene Shining Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse

Property: Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse
Address: Number 12 Lane 66 le Loi Street | Number 12, Lane 66 le Loi Street, Hue +84 54, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing