We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it can get if not a 4 star Hotel - so friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 119 Hue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“As good as it can get if not a 4 star Hotel - so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at Phon Lan for just one night but I would like to highly recommend a stay there.
The rooms are big and clean and do have AC/fridge/private bathroom and TV. We had a very nice balkony as well. Best thing about the hotel is the extremely friendly staff though! Being a bit ill I had the best treatment you could imagine - and it all came free and from the heart!
If you stay in Hue - go there and don't let others catch you from the street before you get there.
They don't like the street catching and I truly hope they will not need it after many happy traveler reports.
Just to avoid any misunderstanding. I am talking about Phon Lan Guest House. 12/66 Le Loi Street, Hue City. Less than 15 USD it was per night, per room.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice balkony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    49
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
119
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

phong lan guesthouse gave my friends and I the most unforgettable stay we had in vietnam when we stayed there for 9 days.
To say that the owners and staff are friendly and helpful would be an understatement. they are always on hand to help with any of our requests. they would offer to call taxi for us, provide local advice to us, lend us the use of their kitchen even when they needed it to serve meals to other guests, serve us fruits after our meals, bought us deserts during our last night of stay and many more kind acts.
In addition, it is well located and the rooms are very clean and tidy when we return to our rooms. As it is located in the alley, it is buffered from the main street, so it is absolutely quiet during the night. The wifi provided is also exceptionally fast.
I would certainly recommend phong lan guesthouse to anyone looking for a homely feel when in Hue!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeloadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed. We had a large room with a good sized balcony and A/C. The room was spotlessly clean and, being down an alley, was also very quiet at night.
The breakfast was very good (especially the Vietnamese breakfast) and the beer was even a reasonable price.
Although it is right in the backpacker/tourist belt it is tucked nicely away.
It is family run and they are all very friendly and not pushy.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Lookat the room first. Corner rooms are have plenty of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2XKiwisTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and really felt like we could could relax. It is at the end of a small alleyway so is really quiet and just far away enough from the tourist part of Hue to not be noisy (but still like 2 mins walk away). For some reason the price is wrong on here it is $10 a night and really good value for the money. We found this place by looking for Halo from the Lonely planet but we looked at the rooms and they smelt of damp so we came to this place and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. They clean the room everyday and are really nice to you without being overbearing.

Really if you are in Hue you should stay here if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Always look at the room first, they will show you the best one they have available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Phong Lan Hotel is a small family run hotel located at the end of a narrow alley right in the middle of the backpacker district. So it is central but quite. It is bran new, very clean and comfortable. Ha, her husband and daughters are so helpfull and nice ! The prices are more than reasonable. We paid 10$ for a room with 2 twinn beds, private bathroom with hot shower, balcony, etc.
Breakfast is included in pricier rooms (e.g. 15$ for one double bed and one single bed).
They can arrange tours for you but are not pushy at all about it.
Visit their hotel, you will not regret it !

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows but have 3 twin beds which is a good deal for groups of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineRousseau511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hue vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

my stay here in the halo hotel willm stay a beautiful memory.i recomendf this hotel to all travelers .the family who run it are wonderful hoses.an a very good cook ,the food mouth watering ,the best ive had so far in vietnam.sheer magic what more can i say just check it out .pease and love to you all great travells .tony from england.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyhendrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We loved this guest house. I stayed here recently for a couple of nights. We were booked into the Halo G/H next door but because we arrived off the train so early they gave us a room here. Ha and her aunt, also Ha were just so lovely and helpful. We were met at the station by a taxi and then met again at the end of the lane, guesthouse alley!
We (me and my 4 daughters) shared a room with 2 massive double beds. A/C, very clean room, adequate clean w/c/shower, tv, balcony, well priced. Laundry was cheap, food was good but cheaper if you look elsewhere. Ha wasn't pushy about tours, only helpful and always thinking about the comfort/safety of the children.
We would definitely stay here again if we ever manage to come back to Vietnam.

Room Tip: No lift so lower floors if you don't fancy stairs. Balcony was nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hue hotels
0.4 mi away
Jade Hotel
Jade Hotel
#7 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
HueNino Hotel
HueNino Hotel
#6 of 121 in Hue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saigon Morin
Hotel Saigon Morin
#23 of 121 in Hue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Perle - Hue
0.1 mi away
Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hue Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse

Property: Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse
Address: Number 12 Lane 66 le Loi Street | Number 12, Lane 66 le Loi Street, Hue +84 54, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse Hotel Hue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing