We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great supper food”
Review of Phuong Nam Cafe

Phuong Nam Cafe
Ranked #27 of 311 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great supper food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I think it's called Bun Giaou (the name of the dish). It's like a taco but Hue style... with chicken, bean sprouts and shrimp, generous serving too... all tucked thickly in a sort of flour type batter and curry to dip in on the side with mint leave and cucumber. My friend Mr. Ty took me there to try it out and it was great and as authentic as you can get in terms of real local food setting and taste.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacey_Marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    72
    25
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good cheap food and friendly service”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My brother-in-law and I had dinner here one night in August 2012. The food was reasonably priced and nice. The decor is very basic but clean. The owner spent a lot of time talking to us about the Vietnam war which was one of the most enlightening parts of our whole trip. I think he also does tours, so if returning to Hue I would definitely go again and consider going on a tour too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amardip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good company & excellent value”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great little restaurant. All very relaxed, basic and informal, but the food is great, the staff are very friendly and it's extremely good value. Interesting colection of customers too. Not the place to go if starched linen and silver service is your thing, but it would be hard to think of a better place to while away an evening watching the world go by, enjoying some excellent food and getting into conversation with your neighbours. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The source for mashed potatoes...and a million other things”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Expats know where to get good food, and Phuong Nam is justifiably popular. Excellent mashed potatoes, creatively blended with carrot and spring onion, a whole pile of them, cheap. grilled pork chops, excellent and creative salads, with pomelo and shrimp, or mango and shrimp, or four perfectly ripe avocado halved, filled with shrimp. So far, everything we've tried on the menu has been great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristiLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very extensive menu - non touristy”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Authentic restaurant with a great menu. Make sure you go to the right restaurant as the numbering in the road is a bit odd and other restaurants seem to have the same number, but it is clearly signed. Locals got talking to us about Vietnamese politics and it seemed like a sociable place to eat. Mango seafood salad was tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizzipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuong Nam Cafe also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Phuong Nam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing