We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant surprise!!”
Review of Mandarin Cafe

Mandarin Cafe
Ranked #18 of 311 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

as many Vietnamese restaurants, this one also lacks ambience, but the food makes up for it. We shared a few Vietnamese dishes, and as we had been in Vietnam for a while, we knew it was really good!
The owner is also a keen photographer, and happy to help with travel plans as well as give info to local sights. He was so kind and gave me a container to transport some prints that I had bought on my way there... this one is a must!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeloiseRxph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    328
    85
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent tourist advice”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This simple restaurant had many Western and Vietnamese dishes to order. My husband and I shared two Vietnamese dishes which were very good. The owner is very helpful in giving good tourist information and provides a pamphlet of local tourist sites with description and map.They also book tours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wang900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was nice”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great service, lots of smiles and very prompt. Greasy noodles and an under achieving burger don't make the food very memorable though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheeseDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and good food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

They offer lots of Vietnamese and western food. The Vietnamese food was all really good, western food was hit or miss. Prices are very reasonable. The staff is really friendly and the owner Mr. Cu will make a point to say hi if he's there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamBrummitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Food was very authentic and delicious. Great Pho and lovely to meet Mr Chu and see his photograph album. Best service too with friendly staff. We loved it so much we went back again and even though it was late at night and they were closing, they smiled and insisted we order and were so welcoming. Would definitely recommend and go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamins255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Cafe also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Mandarin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing