We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carambole

La Carambole
Ranked #33 of 296 Restaurants in Hue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Perfect introduction to Vietnam staff helpful and honest gave the waitress too large note and she gave it straight back explaing which one i needed to pay food great. Such good value

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunbatheKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    418
    260
    142
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This has a mix of French and Vietnamese food. It was very busy and as we were eating early were lucky to get a seat. The service was great, till it got very busy and all the girls were working so hard to keep up. We will be back for dinner again before we leave.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Stylish and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate 4 times at La Carambole during our recent visit to Hue, coming back because of the excellence of their Pho (Vietnamese meal in a soup) and spring rolls, friendly service, clean ambience and the good mixture of Vietnamese food and ,for our less adventurous friends, French cooking. Convenient for the town centre and shops and most hotels . It is deservedly popular so book for the evening- you don't need to at lunchtimes.

Its not scenic, but cool inside on a hot day and outside seating at night gives you a good view of the local night life..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leofric1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly overrated!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you want to go for French food, it could be ok here: the steak I ate was not bad, but my travel companion got a slight food poisoning from eating 'fresh' tuna!
If you want to go for Vietnamese food, don't go there at all! It's prepared without love and fantasy; it doesn't even taste like the real stuff. Better head one street up to Confetti.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Disapointing experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have read the recommondation of this restaurant, and we have to say that it was a disapointing meal, and absolut nothing special food, even we took some of the Hue specialities.

The staff was not very service oriented, as they simply was to busy, so the food was just slashed ón the table.

Remind me as it was like a 'cafeteria'

Not worth the money

Helpful?
Thank Per K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carambole also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to La Carambole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing