We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room,pool and location”
Review of May Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
May Hotel
Ranked #168 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 23, 2011

stayed here for 4 nights and found it a great hotel. place was very clean, great staff who would go out of their way and facilities. would recommend to anyone wanting good value hotel, breakfast was buffet and very good. swimming pool was huge and gym had plenty of working equipment.great massage over the road.
walking distance to all major attractions

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matmanf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

Great welcome. Very clean and tidy. Fantastic breakfast. Awesome swimming pool.
Really close to great food eating places and points of interest. Little 'corner' shop across the road. Had plenty of Tonic for our nightly gin. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingkiwi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My family and I stayed here at the end of Nov through to the 4th of December. The lack of reviews for this hotel had us a little intrigued, but we were very happy with the hotel on arrival. Looks very upmarket for a 3 star hotel, a very nice lobby and entrance. The staff are very nice, even if they do push their tours and day trips a little hard. The rooms were very nice, exceptionally clean, with a good bathroom and airconditioner. Only downer was that there was no wi-fi. They did have about 8 computers on the 1st floor for use. The rooftop pool was great, it would have been even better if the bars up there were in operation. The hotel had a very modern gym setup, which was very handy as other hotels we had visited in Vietnam either had no gym or very poor equipment. We booked our Cu Chi tunnels day trip and our overnight Mekong Delta trips through the hotel, and they were both exellent. Location is good, with plently of resturants closeby, including the Rex Hotel rooftop bar, which is a very popular spot to go in the late afternoon. There are plenty of western food options around aswell, with KFC and Pizza Hut both just around the corner. Ben Thanh Market is about a 10 minute walk, and is great for bargains. Other attractions such as the Reunification Palace and the Post Office are also within walking distance. If wanting a taxi, make sure you use the green Mai Linh taxis, they are the cheapest and most honest. Overall this hotel is a great option in HCMC, and you can stay here in absolute confidence.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NathanSmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed in room 806. Overall it was a nice place, friendly staff. It had a really nice pool but they havent capilised on its potential, its on roof top 14th floor (lift only goes 12th). They have a bar up there but never open. Found pool side tiles so slippery so be careful. I cant fault the rooms, really nice. Good internet wifi in rooms but for some reason facebook didnt work, no idea why.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WazzaTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We stayed at the place in October 2010 in a band of 8 people. The single biggest advantage of the hotel is its location - in downtown Saigon where all the restaurants, bars and luxury hotels are. The overall positive impression is helped by clean rooms and neat lobby, although on the negative side you can say that the staff is slowish (even if friendly). And check out the rooftop swimming pool!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kboulatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

As the title suggests this was blissful heaven when compared to other places I have stayed. The usual Four Star amenities were on tap. A full size roof top pool, slippers, dressing gowns, comp daily waters and a decent selection of TV channels. There is a LAN connection with free internet, but no wifi. However, Internet Sharing on your own computer can suffice as a router if you have more than one PC to run. Breakfast was of the usual Vietnamese fare and, if you asked nicely you could get an omelette from the kitchen. The only issue you might have with the hotel is the fact that it is a little out of the backpacker/tourist district. Although, in my opinion this was a benefit and meant that you were rarely targeted by pedlars or scammers, beggars or working girls.

The tourist district was a mere 10 minute walk from Thi Sach Street, the same with the market. Apocalypse Now, Saigon's number one nightclub, was at the end of the street, 1 minute away, ideal for those drunken stumbles home or a wallet refresher. And you weren't disturbed by the late night parties either.

The staff were friendly and understood most if not all requests. Housekeeping were quick, polite and thorough. The staff at the hotel even arranged a cut price airport transfer for us on our departure, initially wanting $50 for the trip, but I got them down to $7. The views of the city from the front of the hotel were brilliant, with the Bitexco Tower, showering the town with lasers and huge spot lights.

You have a number of places to eat within walking distance, such as Pho 2000, Sheridan's Irish Pub (with draught beer), Vasco's, KFC, Pizza Hut and an Indian Restaurant. There are also a number of Japanese eateries as well.

The sights worth seeing were within walking distance, such as Notre Dame Cathedral, The Reunification Palace, The War Remnants Museum and the Bitexco Tower. And there were also shopping malls within the Vincom Centre and the Saigon Mall.

Overall, I really could not fault the hotel, location or staff.

A well deserved thumbs up for the May Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandomGeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Rooms were clean and large enough (I think we had the best category) but there was a lot of street noise and the towels were threadbare and tiny. They didnt make up the third bed properly and we had to ask for that to be changed - which they did straight away.
The pool seemed dirty, not helped by the air con not being turned on and similarly, in the breakfast room, although there was air con, it was not working. (Breakfast dominated by large TV screen....) Presumably the majority of people who stay there dont feel the heat. A soul-less hotel, no personality although staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
#146 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
A&Em Signature Hotel
A&Em Signature Hotel
#226 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#131 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#103 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
#83 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#39 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Hotel

Address: 28-30 Thi Sach Street | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $66 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About May Hotel:May Hotel is one of the Top 3 Star hotels in Ho Chi Minh city with 113 spacious luxurious guest rooms, as was built in modern style with design mixed between traditional Europe and Asia. May Hotel will bring you relaxation as in your home, provides the ultimate accommodation and comfort and also take you home away from home through the honesty, hospitality and professional in service. Whether you’re a tourist or here on business, The May Hotel is a truly great place to stay.Location:Right in the heart of Ho Chi Minh city. It will bring Central Business District to your doorstep. And it just 20 minutes from Tan Son Nhat International Airport by Taxi.What you can do:It is located on one of the venue that can be within walking distance to all the main attractions as restaurants, bars, shopping & business centers, sightseeing venues & entertainment. The best convenience to explore the beauty of Opera House, Duc Ba Church, Ben Thanh Market, Vincom Central and Saigon River.What you will get:- Five luxurious room types: Superior, Deluxe, May Deluxe, Deluxe Twin, May Suite- Spacious high class Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi on the rooftop- Gym Room with modern equipments together with Sauna and Steam bath.- May Restaurant offers variety foods in breakfast buffet and a-la-carte menu.- Well trained staffs to maximizing the guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your May Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing