We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharging cable stolen”
Review of Ha Vy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ha Vy Hotel
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We chose this Hotel because of its good location. The rooms were clean and we had a good stay before our last day: When we came back from a trip, the chambermaid has cleaned our room up - as requested. But then I mentioned that my original iPhone charging cable was replaced by another one..and I did'nt work anymore. So dont go there, if you want to have a secure room!!! The hotel staff denied everything. Take also a look to the review from teavwl.

I would nobody recommend to go there!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here on recommendation from some friends, but had to leave after one night. We'll now have to hunt these 'friends' down and ask them what they were thinking!

Perhaps it was just our room but the place seemed a little run-down and dirty. At this point, I should say that we've been travelling around budget places of S.E Asia for months, so have seen all states of hotels and are no strangers to a bit of dirt. The bigger problem with this one though was the drain smell. I don't think it was just our room as the hotel reeked of perfume as we walked in, the cleaners are obviously trying to mask the bad smell - but it doesnt work unfortunately.

We went over the room to a much better place - Kim 2

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkBryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Owner is an awful, dishonest thief. Significant amounts of our valuables (money, ipod, even clothing) went missing from our bags that we had locked away and his in our room. We confronted the owner and he told us we were lying, and that he had personally observes the cleaning lady change our sheets, so it's obvious that they conspired or that he was lying altogether about observing the lady clean our room (you would think the owner had more important duties).


Ha vy is clean and comfy, but it is not worth the risk of losing your money, passport or any electronics that you leave behind in trust.

I would never, ever suggest staying at this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teavwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

i came back here because of the former owner. Shes really nice and then replaced by an arrogant bossy "know it all" manager!!!! They put me in the high floor without helping with my luggage, when i entered the room there are bottles of empty mineral water and some old clothes use for drying the floor. Then in the middle of my sleep the electricity was cut and i end up checking out and moving to a nicer hotel with accommodating owners and superb service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainrain16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights for $12/night. We were extremely pleased with the room, however the friendliness of the staff was great. The people during the day can not do enough to help you, which included running up and down stairs in their suits just to help you change a towel or what ever you may please. They are always great fun. The same cannot be said for the night shift person who argued with another guest when he should not have.

There was no hot water in room 303, however after attempts to fix it, and still failing, they moved us to a new room, and gave us 2 nights free aircon which was great.

The only thing to be careful of is the conversion rate when you leave. They tried charging us 21500, and when confronting them about it they looked on Vietcom bank and did 21021. Small difference but still adds up. Also washing is 20,000 /kg not $1 which means 21021. That said there is cheaper laundary nearby.

Overall very happy with the room quality and the service. Am heading back there to stay again in a week.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 04 are better value for money. for an extra dollar, you can get a room with another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

For $20 per room it's exactly what you get. The rooms are ok with the usual shower over toilet wet room. Location was probably the best part about staying here as it's close to restaurants & the backpacker area. They said breakfast was included but it was really only a baguette with an egg & when I told them I dont eat eggs there was no other options. A cheap place to stay in a central location in district 1 if that is what you are after.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Ha Vy hotel's location is very near the central back packer's area and at the same time walking distance to some of the hot spots of the city. We find the location helpful and we didnt have to spend cash in transportation/going around city. The staff were accommodating. The room is clean with all the basic needs included. I am glad to see that the rooms, beds and pillows are well kept given that the hotel has been running for quite some time. We had bed bugs experience from a previous trip and had never forgotten to check how old the hotel we are staying in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyGrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Thuan Duc
Thuan Duc
#217 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huy Hoang Hotel
Huy Hoang Hotel
#255 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Saigon Zoom Hotel
#212 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#104 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madam Cuc 184
Madam Cuc 184
#139 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thuy Tien Hotel
Thuy Tien Hotel
#352 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ha Vy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Vy Hotel

Address: 16-18 Do Quang Dau St., Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $13 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ha Vy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Ha Vy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing