We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Leasurely cruise down the Mekong River

This a much better way to get to Vung Tau, i traveled by road a few years back and thought that the... read more

Reviewed March 20, 2019
Suwatchara
,
Hua Hin, Thailand
Nice river trip at high speed as an alternative to bus !

The ferry terminal is very modern with waiting room and cofee shop. You have selected seats which... read more

Reviewed February 12, 2019
Mark O
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 65 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ho Chi Minh City
from $9.00
More Info
from $52.00
More Info
from $52.99
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
12
29
16
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
29
16
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vung tau saigon river hydrofoil boat vessel ferries engine scenery cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 65 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

We decided to give it a try after reading some of the negatives about the AC, boat was old or what so ever.
Don't bother those negatives anymore. We recently travel there on Feb 2017, and We enjoyed everything about it. The boat was clean. The seats were comfortable. The AC was very cold. It was on time. It was fast, and overall the service was wonderful! The captain greeted you before and after. This is a must try.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Hang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

There is a choice to take a bus or a ferry to Vung Tau.

My suggestion is to take the morning ferry to Vung Tau (between 8 - 9 am is fine) to be able to complete your activities on Vung Tau and then head back to HCMH by about 4 - 5pm. Make sure to book your return ticket as well unless you plan on staying overnight on the island.
The ferry, not the newest of speed ferries is quick and smooth. Unless a have another boat that passes and causes waves but the ride was smooth overall. 1 bottle of water is provided per person free of charge and snacks and coffee are available on board for a fee.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Mind3pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Took the ferry to Vung Tau. Very well priced,AUD $18 one way
The ferry is not a modern boat, but was comfortable inside, and it was a great way to see the scenery of the river.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017

As we weren't going to be doing the Cu Chi Tunnels we were looking for somewhere else to go after successfully seeing all the sights in Saigon on a mega walk the day before. The hydrofoil was something I wanted to do and show my son after telling him about them in Sydney Harbour. Well the hydrofoils here in Saigon are of course much different. We booked our return tickets for Vina Express at the Sunland Hotel (convenient close location for the hydrofoil) and waited at the dock the next morning. This weird battle scarred spaceship looking boat turned up. OK, I actually knew what it would look like, but not in the well-used condition it was in which you start questioning "are we going in that?". It was actually a Petro Express hydrofoil so it appears the tickets are interchangeable between companies. We had seats in the front section which I have been told is the best place to be in. The seats were comfortable but the curtains had seen better days and sort of blocked your views out the sun affected windows. A good tip if you want to take photos of the river life and ships is to go to the open air parts where you boarded the hydrofoil. The trip takes you past a plethora of parked ships, large container ships travelling up and down the river, fishing boats in the quieter parts and under a spectacular bridge before you get to the open sea near Vung Tau where there are more parked ships. Leave yourself enough time to see one of two sights in Vung Tau before the return trip if you only have a day to spare there. The hydrofoil ain't pretty but she's fun! The cost wasn't too bad either.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank frankkutsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

This really is a way to see some of the Mekong Delta and the progress being made away from Saigon. It takes about 1hr 20minute 90% down the river and then 10% out into open water to Vung Tau docking area... The hydrofoil themselves are getting a bit old and rumours of this service shutting down unless the operators upgrade.

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews