We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #34 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Duc Vuong is well situated, along the main backpackers hub - but at the quieter end of the road.

I had a very small room but it was fine for me - but I felt fairly expensive. The room was a bit smelly (sewage), but it was clean and compact, despite its size it had everything I needed.

Breakfast is included, but its basic (not even a bowl of cereal) and you do get invited to an free evening meal...which gives you chance to meet other guests, which was an interesting idea., where they welcome you to 'the family' - however, there was no friends and family rate applied to my final bill, even though I extended my stay, no discount was applied.

The staff were friendly - but it felt a little forced...but fine for the few seconds that you pass through reception.

They had a tour desk too (Tropic, I think) which were ok. Can't say I was overly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 627432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    731
    219
    56
    20
See reviews for
247
754
215
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

In a nutshell:
Service was amazing - the staff knew us by name after 2 days! They were always friendly, said hello and were happy to organise anything required.

The rooms - we stayed in a variety of rooms, ranging from the deluxe suite to the standard rooms. All the rooms were clean and comfortable (obviously the deluxe suite was a little more comfortable!) and airconditioned, which is a godsend in Ho Chi Minh.

Location - In the heart of the backpackers quarter, 10 - 15 minute walk to the centre of HCM. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants around.

We stayed here 3 or 4 separate during our trip as we found the staff and the hotel to be great value, with a free asian and/or western breakfast, and the option of a free home cooked dinner every night. Delicious!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiki_koala768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Unbelievably nice people run this fantastic hotel! Great location a stones throw from the very centre of the city. Free amazing buffet breakfast and free delicious dinner available. Rooms excellent and they provide you with anything and everything you'll need or your time in hcmc. Personally didn't find the people of Vietnam to be very friendly but the staff at duc vuong are the complete opposite. If I cone backto Vietnam there is only on place I would stay! What a wonderful family- thank you duc vuong!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G1becks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

My family stay 5th floor superior room 1 double bed and 1 single bed,
bed comfortable, room and toilet very clean and friendly staff.
Buffet breakfast with Vietnam milk coffee n Vietnam spring roll n western food
Valueable , will back this hotel for next visit

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yf558217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

We left a hotel in Ho Chi Minh City as it was awful (Indochine Hotel) and needed to find a new one for us and our 4 children in a hurry. We were recommended to this one and we were so happy with the accommodation. The location was excellent - in the heart of a lively area but one road back from the main road so not excessively noisy. The hotel staff were very friendly and the facilities were fine. The rooms were good and nicely decorated and the free breakfast was good. They also provided free dinner which I heard was good although we did not take them up on that. They have a number of computers which work fine, all for free and we really had no complaints. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahinetoaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel earlier this month for 5 nights in total. Great location (centre of backpacking district). Easy 10 minute walk to the market. Rooms are of a good size and very clean and most importantly very quiet. Staff overall are very friendly and obliging. Breakfast is adequate although it would be a good idea for the offerings to be hot instead of mostly cold to just warm. An effective toaster would also be welcome. On the down side I would advise guests to be cautious with their valuables, money etc. Use the very good room safe and NOT the hotel reception safe. I was unfortunate enough to lose a substantial amount of cash but because I had not checked it in properly I had no comeback when I came to collect it. Lesson learnt I guess. Because of this I probably would not stay there again,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

What a wonderful find.
My husband, myself and 15 year old son stayed here for 4 nights in December.
It has everything we needed – Great location – right in Back packer area and not too far to walk to things if you are into walking. We walked to the Central Saigon area and the markets. Plenty of places to eat surround it, but they have the most wonderful family dinners every night. These are free if you are staying there and the menu changes every night. Great if you are travelling on your own as you will have someone to dine with as everyone sits together at one table. We met some lovely people here. Breakfast is also included which is very good as well.
Staff- friendly, fun and very welcoming. We also used the tour agency at the hotel for a Chu Chi tunnel trip and to book bus tickets for our onwards travel, all worked out well.
Our triple family room was clean and air con very good. There is a roof top terrace to enjoy a drink in the early afternoon. Free water on all levels, hot water and tea and coffee in the rooms. Wifi in the rooms and also a couple of computers down stairs those were free as well. There is also a lift!
I would highly recommend this hotel, particularly for families or people travelling on their own.
would most certainly stay there again.
Well done to the Duc Vuong Hotel and their staff and management.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#31 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#77 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing