We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic middle-of-the-road accom in Ho Chi Minh for younger travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #36 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic middle-of-the-road accom in Ho Chi Minh for younger travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

For the price, location, and friendliness of staff; we loved Duc Vuong.

Arrived late into HCM too exhausted to explore the town, so the rooftop bar was a perfect introduction to the city, with great views and cheap drinks and free bar snacks. Just what we needed before collapsing for the night after a long journey. (Beer here is cheaper than at the convenience stores outside on the street - about 60cents US as of August 2013 - pretty amazing. Don’t expect great cocktails though. We got swampy, murky mojitos that we couldn’t finish.)

Location is great, especially for younger travellers or those seeking a vibrant night life, as in a backpacker district, and the hotel is on a busy street where each night little stools appear out of seemingly nowhere to crowd both side of the street for drinkers (literally, on the street - traffic has a hard time getting through the throng). There's a couple of 'colourful' bars on the strip to steer clear of, but Vietnam generally does a good job of keeping its sex industry more subtle than some other nearby Asian countries, so its hardly confronting at all, and you shouldn't get harassed.

It's an easy 10 min walk to the Ben Thanh market - easy once you get the hang of crossing the HCM roads that is. (Recommend stopping in at Fanny's ice-cream on the way) and taxis are so cheap across the city no problem catching them to other hot spots around town for 2-5 $US each way.

A few reviews have mentioned noise, but you're in Ho Chi Minh, with motorbike madness around you at all times of day and night... so yes, expect some residual noise to make its way through the walls and windows. Earplugs recommended for light sleepers. Having said that, some friend's rooms were further away from the street and pretty quiet so might be luck of the draw.

Staff were super friendly and breakfast each morning was great - huge variety of Vietnamese and Western options. Room was a decent size but bathroom could have been a touch cleaner - that didn't worry us at all in the slightest so more just a warning for those who expect immaculate facilities from mid-price accom. For everyone else, this place is a gem. Loved our time there and definitely would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    748
    222
    56
    21
See reviews for
253
766
219
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my mate stayed here for 4 nights, then travelled around Vietnam and came back, staying another one.

- It is in the perfect spot at the end of a backpacker strip.
- Surrounded by shops
- It's in the middle of everything
- The service staff were THE BEST we experienced in Vietnam
- They recommend a fantastic spa that offers free pickup
- We did a day tour of the city, organised through the motel.

Loved this place. Would stay again. So cheap by Australian standards.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4 different rooms, none of which we complained about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed first few days of our trip to Vietnam. The hotel was well placed for the hustle and bustle of the central tourist strip of bars and restaurants and within good walking distance of most HCMC attractions. Rooms were basic but functional, good AC, safe box, TV with few intertnational channels, complimentary water and popcorn, clean bathroom. we booked the standard double and got a very small window (not that we cared as we were out and about), which was spotless and had a good bathroom. be aware the bathroom has a very obvious vent out into the corridor, which can result in some noise. Try and get a room in the middle of the building avoiding floor 1,6,7, this will prevent noise from people in the foyer and the rooftop bar, which is popular early evening, disturbing your sleep.

The highlight was the very professional and helpful staff who helped us to organise trips around HCMC and the Mekong delta and stored our kit whilst we were on those trips.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 1,6,7, due to bar and foyer noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busywill85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The View restaurant is on the top of Duc Vuong hotel, what’s a safe and perfect place to stay –no street vendors allowed to come there- for the budget traveler, with a good amount of money. The View restaurant, bar is an excellent place to drink a beer for a very small amount, snacks and shots are available. A perfect view over the city on the 7th floor of this building gives a good idea how big the city is, and some of the tourist places is also to see from this floor. Give it a try and you will see the enjoyment.

Room Tip: This place is the best in town, safe, 24 hours securty and no street vendors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas Olivier p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Public Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most valuable comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.
It was a pleasure to hear that you found our location great and enjoyed our restaurant services. We place great importance on our guests experience and such beautiful words is very rewarding.
Please let us know if we may be of any further assistance and hope to welcome you back soon!
I am sending the best regards from Duc Vuong Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our first accommodation in Vietnam and I hope the rest live up to it. We asked for a quiet room which we got on the 1st floor, the upper floors do seem to get noisy some evenings.

We got an upgrade as well which was nice. The staff are really friendly and helpful, there is free internet, the breakfast is nice, the location is great so you can walk to most things.

So overall yes I'd recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: On the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking your valuable time to write about your stay at Duc Vuong Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and happy to hear we were able to enhance your first experience to Vietnam.To know that you have enjoyed both, staff services as well as our facilities is our reward to make us strive for perfection and continue to provide the well known Vietnamese hospitality. As you mentioned, our location is very central and walking distance to everything in the city center. Your praise to our entire team's friendliness and helpfulness has been shared with all.
We are always available to assist you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent two nights there with my girlfriend at the beginning of our trip to Vietnam and we were very impressed. The hotel is in a great location - there are lots of bars and restaurants nearby. And the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you want a window, make sure you check the room details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time and sending us your feedback.
We are proud of our location, products and services and happy to hear that your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations as this is always our goal. We will definitely pass the compliments to our colleagues. Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.
Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013


One of the more expensive hotels we have stayed in across our travels in vietnam. Looks lovely fancy and clean on arrival. Staff were not overly helpful. Our room smelled of sewerage, it was very noisy during the night we were woken several times by noisy people ( probably didnt help that our room was on level 7 right next to the door to the rooftop bar) the Buffet breakfast was okay lots of fatty fried foods, and mainly catered for Vietnamese which is fine.. It is vietnam after all! Breakfast did finish pretty early (930) which was fine for us as we don't usually have really late nights. We had far better breakfasts cooked for us at hostels which we paid more than half the price for.. Also When we asked them to book us a taxi to the airport it was much more expensive than if we had of just used a taxi off the street with the meter.. It was one of their 'drivers' .. an extremely rude aggressive man. Positives: an actual shower in the bathroom! Free little bottles of water and filtered water downstairs to refill, aircon in rooms and a fridge. Overall was okay, not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#35 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing